Cognitive Behavioural Therapy Books

Discussion in 'Non Fiction Self Help Book Readers Forum' started by Isaac, Aug 2, 2018.

1. Isaac

Isaac New Member

So I am a medical student, currently near my practicum. I have been looking for a topic to start focusing my self-study on for a while, but I could not decide on a specific field to focus on.

I landed on cognitive behavior therapy since a lot of my professors seemed to be fascinated by this very topic. First of all, I am glad I chose this topic since I do find it very interesting. I believe that one of the main factors that made me like this topic was the reference book I chose. I used Cognitive Behaviour Therapy: Basics and Beyond (2nd Edition) written by Judith S. Beck, and I must say that this book is very well written.

Not only is it extremely informative, but it also has a wealth of useful information on CBT that will help me understand the topic well, which will help me improve my practice in the future! What have you guys read?

2. Morris

Morris New Member

If you are looking for a good book on CBT, I would recommend that you read Cognitive Therapy and the Emotional Disorders written by Aaron T. Beck, who is considered to be the founder of CBT. I understand that medical books can become a little boring over time, but this book is very well written and tends to keep its readers engaged for the most part.

I like this book mainly because it contains most of the basic principles while updating the information that needed to be changed. Even after all these years, the best part is that the information in this book is not outdated, and remains relevant to this day! If you are looking to learn more about CBT, this would be one of the best books to help you achieve that task.

3. Clifton

Clifton New Member