Buk
100-days-of-real-food-recipes-cookbook.jpg

100 Days of Real Food Recipes Cookbook

3.8/5, 3.8 from 12 reviews
Author:
Lisa Leake
ISBN:
0062252550 (ISBN13: 9780062252555)
ASIN:
Buy this Book
How We Did It, What We Learned, and 100 Easy, Wholesome Recipes Your Family Will Love
100-days-of-real-food-recipes-cookbook.jpg

Recent Reviews

  1. Nathan
    A good guide to healthy and better fo
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 26, 2018
    I stumbled upon Lisa Leake’s book by chance. Once I started reading it, I was hooked to it. Every year I plan on dieting and eating healthy food as a part of my efforts to stay fit, but would always fail and end up gaining pounds. Lisa’s book was a godsend for me. Lisa’s book focuses on eliminating highly processed food, something which is a staple in my diet. Reading her book made me realize that whatever I have been eating until now was not even 10% healthy. The challenges and plan look awesome, but I have no intention of going through them.

    I would give her a five because of the way she has explained things. I also like the fact that she does not patronize and leaves it to the reader to choose what is best for them. Overall, the book feels a real deal, and I must add a fun way of looking at healthy food.
  2. Ted
    Lot of pompousness
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Sep 25, 2018
    In my opinion, The 100 days of real food recipes book is just an average book. The recipes are also basic. The author insists on using whole wheat flour which I feel was not warranted. Dare I say, the way the author has presented the book, I felt there was a lot of pompousness and arrogance. Moreover, there were some glaring spelling errors. Could have been a lot better.
  3. Nelson
    informally informative
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Sep 20, 2018
    This is a stunningly photographed, glossy cookbook which is informally informative. It is like some of your friends are sharing their recipes. If I may say, this is a not a cookbook, but a sharing of ideas and one can relate to it. It also helps in ripping off the mask of the processed food industry. Lisa Leake’s book talks about how can one makes choices when it comes to tasty food.

    Coming to the book itself, the recipes are great yet simple. One does not need to break a sweat in trying to understand what a particular ingredient means. I have tried quite a few recipes and have liked all of them.
  4. Karl
    Enjoyed reading this book
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 13, 2018
    This is a good book, and I enjoyed it a lot. I have also read Leake’s blog which is far more informative. Guess you cannot club everything into one book. Nevertheless, it is a great book. The recipes are simple and can be made without any fuss. I initially had some doubts when my wife mentioned that this book has recipes which had whole wheat flour as a key ingredient, but it turned out to be good. I also loved the challenge of eliminating processed food and preservatives.
  5. Clayton
    Simply love this book
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 10, 2018
    Good recipes, great challenges.

    The book is a treasure trove for those who intend to overhaul their diet entirely and want to get rid of processed food and try natural foods, but have no idea on how to go about it. I have already tried many recipes mentioned in the book and am pleasantly surprised that it turned out fantastic. The final seal of approval came from my family when their plates were clean after dinner, something which has been a challenged for me over the past few years.
  6. Kelly
    Logical reasoning but not suitable for all lifestyles
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Sep 4, 2018
    I felt that Lisa’s reasoning behind the book was logical. If you think about it, most of what has been mentioned in the book does make a sense. But it does not override some of my apprehensions. I must add that the apprehensions are solely based on my lifestyle and have nothing to do with the book. Some of the things mentioned in the book are far too simplistic and would not work for my family.
  7. Everett
    Not helpful for those who regularly cook at home
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Aug 27, 2018
    If you dine out a lot or buy already prepared food, then this book is for you. Those who regularly cook at home would find this book not very useful. Some of the sections in the book were a bore, to be frank. Her idea of using whole wheat flour was something which angered me the most. I have a gluten allergy, and that just took out a lot of recipes. Some of the recipe ingredients mentioned are also not affordable in this period of tight budgets.

    Though few recipes were great, I still think it is a highly overrated book. I am disappointed that I purchased this book for recipes…
  8. Lonnie
    Gentle reminder on what goes inside the food
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Aug 22, 2018
    Lisa Leake’s book is a gentle reminder to everyone to read the ingredients on food packets that we nonchalantly buy. The book’s food challenge is a good one. If one has patience, then one can remove harmful components step by step without altering the palate.

    I would give this book a four-star rating just because many recipes are not gluten-free. Lisa advocates whole wheat flour, but I am not sure if everyone would agree to it. One thing is for sure, it has made me think about what goes inside me, and the number of processed food in my cart has been reduced to a great extent.
  9. Cecil
    Wanted to try out new recipes
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 18, 2018
    I got 100 Days of Real Food solely for trying out something new. I have read many cookbooks and have tried many recipes, but they all started feeling the same. My friend suggested this book, and I am thankful to her. Though I do not intend to take up any challenges, I sure would like to try out all the recipes.
  10. Cory
    Not everybody’s cup of tea
    2.5/5, 2.5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 10, 2018
    If you are in this predicament---you have to prepare a surprise meal for your family but have no clue about how to prepare it or what does the ingredients look like, then this book is for you. Also if your family believes in eating outside most days of the week, then this book is for you and your family.

    I would like to review the book in two parts…first I will list out the pros of the book:

    100 Days of Real Food Recipes gives basic information about the food you eat. It mentions why highly processed food is bad for you and why one should opt for whole foods. The author provides several recipes, and most of them could even become a favorite of kids (and make them less fussy eaters).

    Now the cons of the book:

    Though the recipes are great and simple, I feel it is not everybody’s cup of tea. It is particularly hard for those who have some type of food allergy or those whose family members might have a food allergy, any dietary challenges, etc. This book is also not useful for those who have been trying to decipher what goes into preparing the food that you get from the supermarket.

    Besides the above cons, my main grouse with the book is that I did not learn anything new from it. Maybe it’s just me and others have benefitted a great deal. Second, the text could have been sharper if it went through the hands of a professional editor. Lisa should have known that there is a lot of difference in all together and altogether and book surely needed some more commas.

    But overall a useful book containing a lot of information for a person who wants to undergo a dietary overhaul. Sad that it did not work for me.
  11. Leslie
    Liked blog, liked book
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Aug 7, 2018
    I've been going through Leake’s blog over quite some time now, maybe a year or so. So when I got my hands on the book, I was thrilled. I have gone through it a few times, and I am pleased that it was worth the money. But frankly, I find her blog more interesting. Her blog offers great tips and focuses on families eating real food at home. The plan and challenges are also great, but I feel it can be modified a bit. Lisa Leake’s practical recipes can help rediscover the magic of eating real food at home. God bless you!!!!
  12. Sam
    Good recipes, worth a try
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Aug 1, 2018
    Lisa Leake’s book is a good read. However, have to admit that I just went through the recipes and skimmed over the “information” provided by her. I have two kids, and both loving cooking and MasterChef is their favorite program. My son heard about this book, and we checked it out from the library and was surprised by the fact though recipes were simple, they were delicious. There were also recipes that suited every palate. Our favorite section was the one where she talked about packed lunches.

    Some recipes were however no up to the mark, but that is the only blemish with this book. No matter your food style, you would find some interesting recipes which could tickle your taste buds.

Book Summary

  1. Simple, family-friendly recipes and practical advice to help you ditch processed food and eat better every day!

    Thanks to Michael Pollan's In Defense of Food, Lisa Leake was given the wake-up call of her life when she realized that many of the foods she was feeding her family were actually "foodlike substances." So she, her husband, and their two young girls completely overhauled their diets by pledging to go 100 days without eating highly processed or refined foods—a challenge she opened to readers on her blog. What she thought would be a short-term experiment turned out to have a huge impact on her personally. After wading through their fair share of challenges, experiencing unexpected improvements in health, and gaining a preference for fresh, wholesome meals, the Leakes happily adopted their commitment to real food as their "new normal."

    Now Lisa shares her family's story, offering insights and cost-conscious recipes everyone can use to enjoy wholesome natural food prepared with easily found ingredients such as whole grains, fruits and vegetables, seafood, locally raised meats, whole-milk dairy products, nuts, natural sweeteners, and more.

    Filled with step-by-step instructions, this hands-on cookbook and guide includes:


    Advice for navigating the grocery store and making smart real food purchases Tips for reading ingredient labels 100 quick-and-easy recipes for such favorites as Homemade Chicken Nuggets, Whole Wheat Pasta with Kale Pesto Cream Sauce, Cheesy Broccoli Casserole, The Best Pulled Pork in the Slow Cooker, and Cinnamon-Glazed Popcorn Meal plans and suggestions for kid-pleasing school lunches, parties, and snacks A 10-day mini-starter program, and much more.

    100 Days of Real Food
    offers all the support, encouragement, and guidance you'll need to make these incredibly important and timely life changes.
    Buk · Jul 18, 2018 · Updated Jul 26, 2018

    Share Book

Loading...