Staff
21-Day-Weight-Loss-Kickstart-Dramatically-book.jpg

21 Day Weight Loss Kickstart by Neal Barnard

3.7/5, 3.7 from 10 reviews
Author:
Neal D. Barnard
ISBN:
0446583820 (ISBN13: 978-0446583824)
ASIN:
Buy from Amazon
21 day weight loss kickstart meal plan includes recipes and diet for a great makover.
21-Day-Weight-Loss-Kickstart-Dramatically-book.jpg

Recent Reviews

  1. Jonathon
    Lost weight because of this book
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Oct 22, 2018
    I bought this book a few years back when I was making desperate efforts to lose some weight but none of it was working. Seeing me frustrated all the time, this book was strongly recommended to me by my wife’s sister. And now I would strongly recommend it to anyone who eats and I would go on to say it is a must have for those who are a lot concerned about their overall health and nutrition.

    The results that this book gives me makes me agree with it a one hundred percent. I followed the diet given in this book and the excess pounds that I had gained melted away smoothly like butter. It is very easy to follow and what I loved about it is, it does not test your will power.

    Once you are off the diet, you will notice that you no longer crave for unhealthy or junk foods and your body lets you eat only that is required. I lost a lot of weight and I did not gain it back even when I switched back to my normal eating plan with a bit of cheat diets here and there.
  2. Pete
    Very good diet
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Oct 20, 2018
    The diet mentioned in this book aims in reducing the overall fat intake because as seen from various evidences, the author believes that by keeping the fat or oil usage to the minimum, one greatly improves the overall functioning of insulin and helps it suck more amount of sugars into the cells.

    This in turn increases a person’s metabolism thereby leading to faster weight loss. Additionally, it can also reduce the roller coaster rides of high blood glucose inside your body.

    I was not completely convinced when I decided to buy this book. And I never wanted to follow it for more than 21 days. But as I progressed to the second week, I started noticing changes in my weight and my overall health too. I was big time diabetic and with the progress I have made, I feel might achieve being labelled as “not diabetic” in the near future.
  3. Garry
    Excellent book on weight loss
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Oct 17, 2018
    There are excellent books I have read on weight loss but this one is much better than all those weight loss books. I think the reason why I liked this book the most is the author has a different perspective than the others and the things he lays emphasis on is somewhat different from the other authors.

    For newcomers, he suggests going on this diet for 21 days simply to get the feel of it and then decide what needs to be done next. I find this to be an excellent approach because no matter how much someone suggests or say that something has worked for them, one doesn’t get convinced unless they see the results themselves. He believes that newcomers would accept it as a lifestyle change till they see the results themselves and that is why he has the 21 days plan for those who are trying it out for the first time.

    I know about it because once upon a time I was a newcomer too and I didn’t have huge expectations when I started off but after 21 days, when I saw the diet bringing a sea change to my body and my overall health, I decided to stick to it and never part with it.

    So, after I would definitely recommend this book and urge everyone to read it and follow it at least for the first 21 days. When you do that and see amazing results, then you are bound to follow it for a lifetime.
  4. Randolph
    Fantastic
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Oct 12, 2018
    When I bought this book, I didn’t have the slightest of clues that I would follow it so religiously and that happened because I gave it a chance and I could see some really amazing results.

    My blood pressure and cholesterol levels were high before I started off on this diet and after 21 days of being a Guinea pig for myself, I could see that my blood pressure had come down and my cholesterol levels had decreased too and I had lost a considerable amount of weight that I put on eating all the junk available in New York.

    The diet is all positives and in my case apart from what is mentioned above, it made me feel energetic, helped improve my sleep quality, reduced my snoring and since I am a diabetic, it brought down my blood sugar levels that were once really high.

    I continued with this diet and converted it into my lifestyle and when I visited my doctor 3-4 months later for a usual check-up. He was happy and amazed to see the improvement in my condition and he reduced the number of medications he had once prescribed.
  5. MARCOS
    Adopted this diet as my lifestyle
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Sep 14, 2018
    There were many different kinds of diets that I followed to lose some stubborn fat from my body. When everything I knew and I had tried, failed miserably, I decided to consult a doctor and take his opinion on the same.

    The doctor recommended me to follow Paleo diet and I agreed to do so and was very much excited about it. I bought all those things that I would be required to eat while being on a Paleo diet and started off on it 2 days later. I followed it earnestly for about 2 months but neither me nor my doctor could see any kind of difference in my weight. But my doctor urged that I continue with the diet till I start noticing some change in myself.

    But after investing 2 long months in the diet and with no considerable results, I decided to call it quits and accept myself the way I am.

    That is when my mom told me about this and it caught my interest. I bought it the very same day and started following it. Within 3 weeks, I could feel that I was becoming a better person health wise.

    Since then, there hasn’t been any looking back and now my body has got so used to the diet that it has become a part and parcel of my life.
  6. Archie
    Would never recommend this book to anyone
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Sep 3, 2018
    Honestly, I am not at all convinced with what the doctor has written in this book because he wants us to avoid fats completely and personally, I do not believe it is the right way to do it.

    I know that many people have benefited from this kind of a diet and have lost weight too and I am pretty sure that the doctor who has written the book might be following the diet himself because he seems all fit and fine for his age.

    But when I read the book, it suddenly took me back to the 90s where people had become health conscious out the blue and the whole thing had turned into a craze sort of a thing and people had even started neglecting their health in order to stay slim and not eat.

    But with recent research, it has come to light that it is definitely not the right way of doing it. And one should never jeopardize their health in an attempt to look slim.

    So, I would never recommend one to read this book or follow the diet that is mentioned in the book.
  7. Alton
    Best book for Vegan beginners
    4.5/5, 4.5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 29, 2018
    Two years back, I had decided to go vegan and was searching for sources that could help me eat healthy and wholesome while staying vegan.

    That is exactly when the curious cat in me discovered this book which immensely talked about vegan diets. I was so glad to have my hands on this book and I slowly and steadily started incorporating things written in this book to my daily life.

    I was a novice who hardly had any clue about veganism and this book helped me completely understand my choices and I was glad to know that I had done the right thing.

    A month after being on this kind of a diet, I noticed that apart from feeling all fresh and energetic, I had lost some amount of weight too. As the days went on, the book helped me have a deeper insight on positive effects of eating a plant based diet and also tinkered those aspects of my diet where nutrition levels were lacking.

    It is the best book for those who want to go vegan and do not know what to do…
  8. Preston
    Don't listen to this quack
    1/5, 1 out of 5, reviewed Aug 21, 2018
    I was intrigued by the things written on the cover page of the book; its highlights were lower cholesterol, boost metabolism and improve your health.

    Such phrases were bound to catch my attention because I am a fitness freak and along with that I am trying my level best to help my husband improve his cholesterol levels.

    As I read more and more into the book, it struck me that the book was nothing more than a few pages of writing that promoted being on a plant based diet. I thought of stopping to read it right there but there was some curiosity left in me and I ended up reading the whole book.

    The author has a good style of writing but I seriously cannot understand how he expects people to not have fat or oil at all in their daily diet, to give up on animal based food completely and live a normal life. I would go crazy in a matter of a few months if I had to do that forever. No one can live on 20g of daily fat intake; and that is definitely not healthy in the first place.

    Then there are times when he asks you to keep your sodium levels to the minimum but at other times, he contradicts himself and says one can have processed stuff loaded with salt.

    I am definitely not taking a chance listening to a quack.
  9. Rudy
    Good information
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Aug 13, 2018
    I found the facts and ideas in the book to be well organized and very well written in a way any normal human being can understand it easily.

    The book is divided into three parts. The first part talks about various benefits of going on a vegan diet for health as well as weight loss and to help cure a lot of other diseases, especially the lifestyle ones. It gives you a fair idea about how to go about with your diet from start to finish.

    The next part offers you an in depth knowledge on the subject and gives you a lot of information on things like glycemic index, environmental and physical benefits of going on a plant based diet.

    The last section comprises of menus that one can follow in a week, a glossary of foods that one can eat, the mouth water recipes to make the diet interesting and exciting and the cooking techniques that one can adopt during the program.

    One who wishes to see a drastic change in themselves definitely should buy this book and make an effort to read it and follow it too.
  10. Kelvin
    It helps big time
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Aug 1, 2018
    Is this the question you have on your mind – Does the book help in weight loss? If so, the answer is absolutely YES! And if you are thinking how I would know that then let me tell you, I know it because I made efforts to follow it and yield good results. So, if I can do it, so can you.

    Before I went on the program, I was overweight and had a higher BMI but within 21 days, I managed to lose seven pounds and weigh just the way I did when I was in my early twenties. I never expected my weight to get back to normal after three pregnancies but to my amazement, it did with the help of this book.

    Moreover, I did not have cravings, my energy levels increased, my skin started having this lovely glow and my entire equation with food had drastically changed.

    It was a life changer in my case and I would definitely recommend it to everyone I know.

Book Summary

  1. For years, Dr. Neal D. Barnard has been at the forefront of cutting-edge research on what it really takes to lose weight and restore the body to optimal health. Now, with his proven, successful program, in just three short weeks you'll get fast results-drop pounds, lower cholesterol and blood pressure, improve blood sugar, and more. With Dr. Barnard's advice on how to easily start a plant-based diet, you'll learn the secrets to reprogramming your body quickly:

    Appetite reduction: Strategically choose the right foods to naturally and easily tame your appetite.

    Metabolism boost
    : Adjust eating patterns to burn calories faster for about three hours after each meal.

    Cardio protection: Discover the powerful foods that can help reduce cholesterol nearly as much as drugs do in just weeks. Whether you are one of the millions who are anxious to get a jumpstart on weight loss or who already know about the benefits of a plant-based diet but have no idea how or where to start, this book is the kickstart you've been waiting for. Complete with more than sixty recipes, daily meal plans for the 21-day program, tips for grocery shopping, and more, this book will teach you how to make the best food choices and get your body on the fast track to better health.

    Share Book

Loading...