Buk
21-Pounds-Days-Marthas-Vineyard-book.jpg

21 Pounds in 21 Days Martha's Vineyard Diet Detox

3/5, 3 from 13 reviews
Author:
Roni DeLuz, James Hester
ISBN:
0061176176 (ISBN13: 9780061176173)
ASIN:
Buy this Book
21-Pounds-Days-Marthas-Vineyard-book.jpg

Recent Reviews

  1. Nice Touch
    too much information is packed into one book
    2.5/5, 2.5 out of 5, reviewed Oct 10, 2018
    21 Pounds in 21 Days is a good book and offers some useful insights. But I felt that the author was trying to cram too much stuff into the book. Things could have been more organized. One has to go through pages before one could read the ingredients for the recipes and the directions. It would also have been much better if the author had focused on answering the “why’s” of a reader. For example, why should one drink green tea in the afternoon and how is it going to affect my stomach, etc.

    That said, the recipes for juices were great, and I intend to follow some of the recipes, not for detox but to have a change from my regular juices.
  2. Armando Broncas
    A valuable book in one’s library
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Oct 7, 2018
    21 Pounds in 21 Days by Roni DeLuz is a very informative book and an easy read. I have read many diet books, and most of them have some big scientific words and terms that puts me off. This book, though, has nothing of that sort. My primary intention to go through diet book is to see if I can add any new recipes to my diet. This book does have some interesting ones.

    After reading DeLuz’s book, I was able to get three significant points, which I think are very important for our overall health.

    • Most of the people have a large amount of PCBs, dioxins, and various other carcinogens. In fact, PCBs and dioxins are some of the most dangerous carcinogens which man has ever come across. These agents are known to be responsible for many types of cancer, as well as may play a role in ADHD and autism.
    • Overfarming has caused depletion on vital nutrients present in soil which has resulted in people being forced to take more food to meet the daily nutritional requirements.
    • Stevia is the best alternative to refined sugar and does not increase blood sugar levels. It also is useful in preventing hypertension (high blood pressure).
  3. Swag Swamped
    excellent book, but too much focus on enemas and colonics
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Oct 2, 2018
    DeLuz’s 21 Pounds in 21 Days contains a lot of fantastic information, some of which are real eye-openers. Once the information has been shared, the author launches herself into juice detoxing. The information provided is easy to read and does not contain any scientific jargons. The book also includes information regarding different vegetables as well as the actual schedule for a daily detox.

    However, the book gives undue importance to colonics and enemas. These are good but once in a while. These should act as an aid to cleansing, and not done on a regular basis. Even medically, regular enemas are not a good thing. Anything invasive opens up a person to all sorts of infections. Though these can be done by professionals, subjecting your body to regular enemas and colonics is something which I would not like to indulge in. Following proper methods and putting in the hard efforts should be the aim.

    Then again, these are personal choices and should not weigh on the minds of people who want to read this book.
  4. PH
    An average book
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Sep 28, 2018
    Diet books have always fascinated me. I always check for them on the internet and then go to my library and read them. This way I do not spend any money but get all the information, smart thinking you can say.

    I read 21 Pounds in 21 Days in the same manner. I went to my library, loaned this book and completed reading it in two days. What I liked about the book was the fact that the content, though dated, was excellent. According to this book, in order to lose your stubborn fat, all you need to do is drink lots of water, juice your vegetables and fruits and drink them for three weeks and voila you are a new person. Sounds good, but can only do for a week at the max, not more.

    The only problem was the weekly colonics and coffee enemas. Now getting coffee up your ass and cleansing your body is not something that I look forward to.

    You can call this a one-time read.
  5. Nightingale
    All the content can be found online
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Sep 25, 2018
    If you are planning to buy this book, then please don’t. Just loan this book from your library or even better go online and you will find some delicious recipes. I learned this the hard way. I got this book based on the recommendation of my friends and was dismayed to see that all the content mentioned in it was already available online and I need not have spent so much money on this book.
  6. NOAH
    A must read book
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 19, 2018
    21 Pounds in 21 Days by Roni Deluz is a must-read book. It contains so much wonderful information, many of which were real eye-openers. It talks about cleansing our body by flushing out the toxins that have been accumulated over a period by our reckless eating. I opted for a SuperFast and was amazed to see the results. Planning to go for Masterfast after Halloween (;) getting ready for Thanksgiving).
  7. aida
    has helped me to start liking veggies
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 11, 2018
    I loved reading Roni DeLuz’s 21 Pounds in 21 Days. I did not read it for the content or other information (skimmed through it), but for the recipes. I have always loved veggies, but for some reason, I was not able to do justice to them. Through this book, I was able to take in all my favorite veggies, which not only helped me to cleanse myself but also made me lose my weight.
  8. elisabeth
    Not prepared for staying off solid food for three weeks
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Sep 4, 2018
    To be frank, I got this book, not because of my love for diets, but because my colleague was singing paeans of it and she was losing weight and in a year had completely transformed herself. You get the gist why I went for this book.

    I started reading 21 Pounds in 21 Days and initially was impressed by various facts mentioned in the book. But once I saw the recipes, I got a shock of my life. The author advocates going on a liquid diet for nearly three weeks!!!!! For a hardcore meat lover like me, it was like signing a death warrant.

    I can stay off solid food for a day or two, and it is a good thing as it allows me to get rid of unwanted toxins, but staying on a liquid diet for 21 days is too daunting for me.
  9. bettie
    Can see the results quickly
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Aug 31, 2018
    This book has impressed me. In any diet book, I only look at the recipes, see the difficulty levels and use it only if I feel that this would give me results. For 21 Pounds in 21 Days, I followed the same process. I tried the mini-fast (though I am not a first-timer) and was thoroughly impressed by it. I lost nearly three pounds. However, I did not read the book entirely and after the detox ate some food which upset my stomach. I am now planning to take all precautions and then go for the SuperFast and finally MasterFast.
  10. ina
    Liquid diet for 21 days, not something I can bear
    1/5, 1 out of 5, reviewed Aug 25, 2018
    The name of the book is very catchy…21 Pounds in 21 Days---it might make you believe that the book is not a diet book but detox…well, you are wrong. The book is about diet. What else would you call it if you have to be on a liquid food for nearly three weeks?

    DeLuz talks about juicing vegetables and taking them as a part of the cleansing process. Well it is good, and one should do it occasionally, but doing it for whole 21 days, now that is something which I would avoid. The food intake after this 21 days also has to very gradual….lest you risk yourself having anaphylaxis!

    The book is not a complete waste. There is some excellent content written about today’s food and how it impacts our health. I think that was the only saving grace for the book.
  11. kelsey
    A good book but too many fillers
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Aug 22, 2018
    Roni DeLuz’s 21 Pounds in 21 Days is an okay book. The plans under detox section are bearable, and the information in the book is somewhat more precise and concise when compared to other books in the same genre. The highlight of 21 Pounds in 21 Days was the recipes for laxative teas. On the whole, a readable book.

    The reason for low rating – Well, the book contains fillers. You need to touch about 80 pages, and you get the whole book, no need for the remaining pages. The remaining pages act like fillers to complete the book. A one-time read.

    Am I planning to implement those recipes? NO, I do not think so.
  12. corinne
    I am not convinced this is a diet book
    1/5, 1 out of 5, reviewed Aug 16, 2018
    This book has too many stories for my comfort. If the content written in the book is good enough, there is no need to advertise the book on every goddamn page. Even with the detox section, the author talks of how life-altering experience it was for her…..I feel she got confused about whether she wanted to go for a diet book or a motivational book interspersed with few recipes. In her confusion, she ends up messing up the book entirely.

    Content-wise, the book is repeating the same old story. It has got nothing new to offer. I have some medical background so know for a fact that one can lose weight by lowering the calorie intake and not by detoxing. Juicing fruits and vegetables are good and help to attain a glow on your skin, but treating them as the primary weapon again the battle of the bugle is uncalled for.

    A good book but messed up by the author’s overreliance on stories.
  13. ALONZO
    This book works
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 11, 2018
    21 Pounds in 21 Days is the book to go for if you are planning to go on a diet. The book focuses on every aspect needed for losing that stubborn fat – how to balance your nutritional intake, different types of fasts, exercises as well as detoxification. I did the weekend fast and immediately started noticing changes in my body. I am now planning to go the whole hog. Hope I am as lucky as previously.

Book Summary

  1. 21 Pounds in 21 Days hit us like a breath of fresh air….Everything you need to get clean and lean is right here!”
    Woman’s World

    The revolutionary Martha’s Vineyard Diet Detox is here! The New York Times bestseller, 21 Pounds in 21 Days by Roni DeLuz, RN, ND, founder and director of The Martha’s Vineyard Holistic Retreat, and James Hester is a safe and effective cleansing detox that gets your body back on the wellness track in just three short weeks. Enjoy vibrant health and maximum weight loss with Roni DeLuz’s clear, step-by-step detox plans—and you can even choose one of three different programs: the “MiniFast” weekend detox for first-timers, or the “SuperFast” or “MasterFast” plans for more committed detoxers.

    Share Book

Loading...