Staff
a-course-in-weight-loss-book.jpg

A Course in Weight Loss by Marianne Williamson

3.9/5, 3.9 from 9 reviews
Author:
Marianne Williamson
ISBN:
1401921531 (ISBN13: 978-1401921538)
ASIN:
Buy from Amazon
21 Spiritual Lessons for Surrendering Your Weight Forever
a-course-in-weight-loss-book.jpg

Recent Reviews

  1. Bryan
    Had a change of heart
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Oct 19, 2018
    I don’t know what I was thinking when I bought this book because I am a non-believer and no where near being spiritual. Well, even I do not know what made me think of reading this book because it was the exact opposite of what I am.

    I think the very first time I came across the contents of the book was when I was reading a magazine which had a few excerpts from this book and it was really nice and different from the usual stuff. It talked about letting go of things that harm you and embrace those things that will make you healthier.

    But when I started reading the book bit by bit, I found that it is nothing that I imagined the book to be and I regret buying it and taking my precious time out to read the all the non-sense written in the book.

    On the other hand, if you are looking for something that can make you laugh, then this could get a 5 star rating from me but it definitely does not help anyone with weight loss.
  2. Norman
    Do not judge a book by its cover
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Sep 27, 2018
    I picked up this book from an airport while I was travelling to Paris because this seemed the best of the lot but I did not expect to it to be interesting or anything.

    As I started reading it, the contents of the book proved me wrong. It turned out to be really interesting and inspired me a lot to lose my excess weight.

    And anyone who believes in spirituality in general and not necessarily an organized religion but has some kind of faith in God will benefit a lot from this book. It reminded me about the connection between our mind and body and how much it could help in one’s weight loss process if he connects to god. The book is also helpful in awakening your subconscious mind that can in turn heal your inner fears that could hinder with your weight loss progress.
  3. Manuel
    Nice book
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Sep 18, 2018
    The book is really nice and what I like the most about it is the manner in which the author has put things across. I love the style in which she explains things, makes her point and also elaborates clearly on the significance of doing it.

    She is a power house of encouragement and motivates her readers to try the various healing methods elucidated by her in the book but with a soft tender tone; not even once will you feel that she is trying to dominate or say things in a pushy manner.

    Even if you followed her guidance but it did not turn out to be successful because you couldn’t do it properly, she doesn’t give you that guilt trip. She still has hopes for you.

    I wish every author was like her. I love her!
  4. Nathan
    Life transformer
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Sep 8, 2018
    Somewhere heart of hearts, I never wanted this book to be likeable. In fact, I was never interested in reading such books that would take a foodie like me away from food but my overeating had crossed all limits and people around me wanted me to have a control over it so that I wouldn’t turn into a baby elephant.

    So, upon other’s persuasion, I started reading this book and even without being aware of it, I opened my mind and tried out new things, I kept apart some time for exercises, I made better food choices and stop unhealthy bingeing and what took me by a pleasant surprise was I did all this without having to struggle or fight against my cravings.

    Thank you so much Marriane Willaimson
  5. WILFRED
    Definitely a must have
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Aug 31, 2018
    I would call this book a must have for every single human being on earth, particularly those who have problems with their weight. The author has thought of an entirely different approach to helping people lose weight.

    In total, there are 21 different spiritual lessons that will effectively help you lose your weight. Moreover, the book also teaches you how to maintain your ideal weight once you have lost those excess pounds.

    When I worked in the direction the book guided me, certain things changed forever; I no longer had cravings for unhealthy food because I realized about the underlying dangers that it comes with eating it and more than that I have a high regard for my body now and I no longer treat it as a dump yard for junk food.

    It has brought about a significant change in the way I think about why, how, when and what to eat and that has transformed my body externally and more so internally.
  6. DOYLE
    Madly in love with this book
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 28, 2018
    It is an awesome book in all possible ways and never ever before have I fallen so head over heels in love with a book the way I did with this one.

    Let me tell you my story in short – I have been trying really hard to deal with my weight ever since I was a teenager and I have been thinking hard and harder in order to find my purpose in life ever since I was 30 but failed miserably doing both of them. Now, 10 years later, it was this book that helped me realize those dreams of mine that I had seen as a teen and as a 30 year old.

    With the help of this book, I did years and years of clean up that was long overdue and when I did that and made space for newer and good things in life, I was able to organize my life in a better fashion and make the most of it.
  7. FRANKIE
    Made impossible possible
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Aug 25, 2018
    I tried my level best to change my body from chubby to sexy but despite the efforts I put in, I could not lose that puppy fat and become lean and elegant like other girls. I had totally given up and even stopped trying but remained upset most of the time because of this.

    A few years later when my weight issues became dormant on my mind, my sister discovered this book and gifted it to me. The flame inside my heart to lose weight was re-kindled again but somehow I did not have high hopes because I didn’t want to be disappointed again. On the other hand, something made my sister believe that this book was definitely gonna work for me and because of the same reason she started motivating me in a way she never did before.

    I prepared myself mentally for starting the work and also to be strong in case I fail again and somewhere in between all those pages, I realized that I carried with me a lot of emotional baggage that was stopping me from losing weight.

    And I finally lost weight and in the process discovered a new focus and meaning to my life.
  8. SANTIAGO
    You may require it someday
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Aug 18, 2018
    It is always good to have a copy of this book; it may not be something you want today but as life goes on, you may require it. When I bought the book, I was not ready to handle it and after a rough reading, it soon sat back in a corner of my bookshelf.

    Years later, when I was in a complete chaos, I got reminded of the book and I started reading it more carefully and patiently. And I asked myself why I had not read it so intently when I first bought the book.

    The part of the book which talked about the miracle of healing was what helped me the most in dealing with my current situation and tactfully handle it. It is not just me who can see is able to know the difference; my husband, my kids and others around me are able to were able to see the difference it brought about in me. My husband said he got back the girl he had married which he thought was lost forever.

    I read it again and the second time I did, I kept a small diary by my side and took down those thoughts which I felt would help me move forward in times of trials.
  9. patrica
    Not for me
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Aug 15, 2018
    I think for the ideals I believe in, I picked out the wrong book and maybe that is why it couldn’t help me much. I wasn’t quite sure of this book when its subtitle said, “21 Spiritual Lessons” but I decided to take a chance and bought it.

    I did like the holistic approach the author had to combat compulsive overeating but even that is not of much use to people like me who suffer from COE.

    Since I am an atheist, the God part of it could not influence me much but I felt the book could be very helpful to those who sincerely believe that God has the miraculous powers to heal you of anything that you ail from be it mentally, physically or emotionally.

    But if you are a person like me who absolutely has no connect with God, then you might end up wondering why you picked this book up in the first place just like how I am doing now.

    I see COE as a disease, as a serious thing that I am suffering from which definitely cannot be treated this way

Book Summary

  1. A Course in Weight Loss addresses the true causal root of your weight-loss issues: a place within you where you have forgotten your divine perfection. This forgetfulness has confused not only your mind but also your body, making you reach for that which cannot sustain you . . . and reject that which does. As your mind reclaims its spiritual intelligence, your body will reclaim its natural intelligence as well.

    The 21 lessons in this book will take you on a deep, sacred journey. One step at a time, you will learn to shift your relationship with yourself—and your body—from one of fear to one of love. And you will begin to integrate the various parts of yourself—mind, body, and spirit—to become, once again, and in all ways, the beautiful and peaceful person you were created to be.

    As Williamson writes: “When it comes to your enjoyment of eating, your best days are not behind you but ahead of you!” So get ready to begin a new relationship with food . . . and with yourself.

    Share Book

Loading...