Staff
a-funeral-for-my-fat-Sharee-Samuels.jpg

A Funeral for My Fat by Sharee Samuels

3.8/5, 3.8 from 10 reviews
Author:
Sharee Samuels
ISBN:
1510704922 ISBN-13: 978-1510704923
ASIN:
Buy from Amazon
My Journey to Lay 100 Pounds to Rest
a-funeral-for-my-fat-Sharee-Samuels.jpg

Recent Reviews

  1. marine
    Loved this book
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Jul 20, 2019
    This is my favorite quote from the book – “Rock bottom is not a permanent place unless you decide you want to stay there.”

    The first time I came across this author was when she was not even an author of a book; that dates back to a few years when she started writing on Tumblr and ever since I have been following her fitness and weight loss journey.

    The author has the capability to inspire through her works, with her realistic plans and her practical and doable advices. This book could be a real life changer if you decide that you are gonna follow it.
  2. Arch
    Above average for sure
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Jun 13, 2019
    I have observed that every time I read a book on diet, there is something or the other that acts as a take away and I am bound to include it in my daily life. And the same goes with this book too.

    The book talks about the inspiring story of the author where she managed to lose more than 100 pounds of unwanted excess weight and even though it took 5 years for her scale this Mt. Weight loss, she didn’t give up on her weight loss journey and was completely dedicated towards losing weight.

    And I must definitely appreciate her for the courage that she showed in talking about her stretch marks and loose skin post she lost her weight. I don’t think I would opt for any kind of surgical procedure like how she did, but I feel happy that she spoke about it in her book.
  3. Vivian007
    Reminds us the right thing
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Jun 2, 2019
    I admire this girl in totality. She is everything that one needs to be especially while trying to lose weight. She is motivating, genuine and one can relate to her in many a ways.

    The book motivated me to go into a healthier mode, change the small daily habits that ends up creating problematic bodies even before we touch our 40s.

    She is the living example of slow and steady wind the race. At times, I found the info on the book to be plain, simple and repetitive and something that is common sense and what most of us would already know but later I realized that it is equally important to have a constant reminder of things that we already know so that we are on the right track and even when we are a little off the track, this reminder can bring us back to the right place.
  4. Justcrazy
    An inspirational weight loss story
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Apr 10, 2019
    The author Sharee Samuels has written this book in an attempt to walk you through her own weight loss journey. She has herself figured out how to eat the right kind of food that can help nourish one’s body and even figure out the right kind of exercise – the one that would actually work and what more, she gives you very sound advices that would guide you on how to implement them.

    I had no plans of losing weight because my weight falls in the right BMI. But I definitely wanted to make healthier choices. So, even if your intention is not to lose weight, it is still going to be an enjoyable read.
  5. FartMan
    I don’t believe this book
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Mar 1, 2019
    I was never a follower of this lady on social media and frankly I had never heard of her before I saw this book. I took a chance when I decided to give it a read despite my hectic schedule as I had some kind of faith that it would help me tread a healthy path. But when I was done with the book, all my faith were shattered to pieces.

    I didn’t enjoy the read at all and I definitely doubt the credibility of this book the way in which the author has written about various facts and her experiences too. Everything written in the book makes me wonder if what she has written is actually true, if at all it can bring about some positive changes in one’s life and out of all that is there, what exactly is applicable and relatable to our life.

    I am sure there must be a better book out there that can do a better job than this particular one.
  6. Special
    Motivating!!
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Jan 13, 2019
    I am not really fond of reading and I don’t read often too. But this time I decided to because I wanted something that would fuel motivation in me so that even I could start off with my weight loss journey. And after going through five books for the same, I can confidently say that this is it. It is perfect, if fact!

    This lady, Sharee Samuels understands an individual’s struggle to lose weight because she has been through the same set of struggles at one point in her life and I think that is the only reason the book has some sort of personal touch to it.

    A person who is not too keen about all this stuff will also find it to be interesting and totally relatable (I say this out of personal experience of my son).

    The lady’s writing style is such that she manages to keep you engaged and also gives you the time to reflect on where it is feasible for you to make a start. Regardless of what different people told me, it was this book that helped me understand what works best for me and when I followed the same, it yielded me good results too.
  7. Donna
    She rocks! I love her
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Nov 28, 2018
    Since the year 2013, I have been following Sharee Samuels and her weight loss journey in Tumblr. And since I have been a keen follower of hers for the past 5-6 years, and I have watched her every move and every step that lead to her success, it is really close to my heart.

    So, when I got to know about this book being released, I was way too excited to grab the very first copy and not do anything else till I read it from start to finish.

    The book is completely worth a read and I especially like the self-help sections.
  8. kezza
    A very interactive book
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Oct 20, 2018
    The book since is the author’s weight loss journey has a very personal touch to it and it is written in such a simple and down to earth manner that almost anybody who is going through the same situation in their life can relate to it and take her guidance without having to think twice about it.

    I most certainly like that she makes it clear how every individual’s journey is different and why one must never compare their journey with that of the others because that’s not the right way to do it. The book made me ponder and reflect on what I was doing with my life and I am certain that it will help others do the same too.
  9. Miller100
    I like it
    3.5/5, 3.5 out of 5, reviewed Oct 13, 2018
    It is very inspiring to see how the author as a young college student had the will power and dedication to give a funeral to her fat. I do appreciate her for she actually did what she aimed for without coming up with any excuses.

    I am sure she must have faced more than a few roadblocks during her weight loss but what makes me admire her is she turned those challenges into opportunities and managed to lose more than 100 pounds.

    This is a real inspiring book, especially if you are an obese teenager and if at all I ever have the chance to meet this author, I am gonna give her a big hug and congratulate her on her victory.
  10. gareth09
    Remarkable weight loss journey
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Oct 12, 2018
    Had I been in her shoes, I would have given up a long time ago and made peace with my weight woes. But the same is not the case with Sharee.

    She most certainly proved to be a constant source of inspiration to all with her book, “Funeral for my Fat” where she has managed to empower people with her kind voice and authenticity.

    I would say this book is a must have for people who want to lose weight and it is a must must must have for those who feel overwhelmed with their weight and are looking for some sound guidance to transition their life into a healthier one.

    I have been following this girl since the beginning of her weight loss journey and the fact that she managed to lose so much weight and went from being hefty to healthy, swept me off my feet. I think all of us should draw inspiration from her and start off on our journey to find the healthiest version of ourselves.

    So, if you need help seeing light at the end of the tunnel, you now know which book to lay your hands on…..

Book Summary

  1. Why a funeral? Because death is permanent; when something dies, it’s not coming back.

    Sharee Samuels was seventeen and 256 pounds when she hit her rock bottom. But with incredible determination and an unflaggingly positive attitude, she went on to lose more than one hundred pounds over the course of five years. When she began documenting her journey on Tumblr, she never expected to become such a powerful voice for health, fitness, and self-love, but her blog, called Funeral for My Fat, soon morphed into an inspirational guide for hundreds of thousands of individuals looking for support and advice on their own fitness journeys.

    Here Sharee tells her story. Integral to her success has been her burgeoning passion for teaching group fitness classes, including Zumba, as well as her commitment to eating vegan. However, she firmly believes that it is important for everybody to follow their own paths and find what works for them while treating themselves and their bodies with care and respect.

    If you have a journey ahead of you, Sharee has a story worth reading.

    Share Book

Loading...