Buk
against-all-grain-cookbook.jpg

Against All Grain Cookbook by Danielle Walker

3.8/5, 3.8 from 12 reviews
Author:
Danielle Walker
ISBN:
1936608367 (ISBN13: 9781936608362)
ASIN:
Buy this Book
against-all-grain-cookbook.jpg

Recent Reviews

  1. fern
    This book made my dream come true
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Sep 30, 2018
    I had to shed a few pounds of excess weight and I decided to go on a Paleo diet as a part of my weight loss regime. I had a tough time while getting onto the diet and I always craved for something or the other that was unhealthy. I followed the diet without cheating on it for 10 days or more and then I could no more do it.

    I was done eating all those tasteless things and many a times I was even tempted to quit. That’s what drove me to search online about different ways to make the diet tasty so that I could relish the food I was eating.

    That’s when I read this book; I knew it was the one for me. I bought it immediately as an e-book and started going through the recipes mentioned. I was extremely happy to see alternative Paleo friendly versions of ketchup, mayo and barbecue sauce.

    The recipes mentioned are completely Paleo friendly devoid the use of gluten, dairy or sugar in them. The author has already done her research and all people like me need to do is, follow the recipes in order to enjoy being on Paleo diet.
  2. Katelyn
    Alright!
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Sep 20, 2018
    What I like the most about this cookbook is every recipe has a picture to go with it; beautiful ones in fact. But I cant get rid of one thing and that’s cheese unless there is a cheesy substitute for it.

    Takeaway – I am not going to go on Paleo diet after reading this book.
  3. Reva
    Helpful
    4.5/5, 4.5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 17, 2018
    Well, this is my first ever cookbook; all thanks to Paleo diet! I bought the hard copy because that’s how I like it. This book throws light not just on the recipes but also in the basics of being on a Paleo diet. I already had dairy out of my life, so this process of getting into the groove of following a diet was much more easier in my case.

    I loved the book in totality. I have tried out more than 10 recipes from the book and I must say they are delicious, as good as the ones that are made from not so diet friendly raw materials.

    So, you have this Paleo waffles, cauliflower rice as a substitute to the normal rice, sweet potato fries etc. I never thought going on a diet could be so much fun.
  4. Deidre
    Not impressive
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Sep 12, 2018
    I personally felt this cook book has its own pros and cons. The positives are appetizing pictures, amazing new ideas for Paleo and other diets on similar lines. The recipes are great and unique.

    But I felt it could have been written in a better, clear and concise manner.

    I found the index to be terrible and I felt cheated when I went through a recipe and made up my mind to try it out but as I started following the directions, it came as an unpleasant surprise to me that I need to have an ice cream maker in order to make the particular recipe.

    This is not the only case where a special equipment was required to make a recipe. It would be much better if any requirements of special gadgets are mentioned right at the top of the page or with the “Things Required” so that one does not waste his time making the recipe half way through and get to know about it.

    Plus reading a recipe from this book consumes a lot of your precious time and you may miss something as instructions are not to the point. Also, following these recipes throughout are not at all budget friendly and can burn a hole in your pockets.

    The author should have kept all these factors in mind before publishing this book.
  5. Gena
    Good one
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Sep 6, 2018
    I wanted to explore a few recipes that was free of all kinds of grain, sugar and dairy while effectively including good quality vegetables, fruits and meat. But I could give up on them without a substitute. I say this because every time I tried, I went back to eating chocolates, desserts and cakes.

    I am not attempting to lose weight by going on a Paleo diet but I am scared of the kind of junk we eat these days, so I decided I have to make this into my lifestyle.

    This book allowed me to achieve my goals and I didn’t have to give up on anything I love eating. Trying out recipes from this book was great fun.
  6. Briana
    A must have
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Sep 2, 2018
    Paleo friendly smoked salmon, eggs benedict and vanilla macarons are my favourite from the cookbook and I love making them every time. I cant believe that I am on a diet and I can enjoy having waffles and macarons without feeling guilty.

    The author has done the most wonderful thing on earth by writing and sharing recipes related to Paleo diet. I would highly recommend this book to those who are struggling to follow a Paleo diet and to those who would want to go one or just wanna adapt a healthy lifestyle.
  7. James
    Fantastic
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Aug 27, 2018
    This cook book is absolutely fantastic. Even though it is a diet cook book, absolutely nothing has been compromised when it comes to the taste factor. It helped me lose that stubborn fat I had been trying to get rid of for ages and I thoroughly enjoyed the whole process of being on a diet.

    It has been almost 6 months that I am trying to stick to this diet and apart from weight loss, it has helped me deal with chronic cold and sinus infection, fatigue and joint pain.

    I do eat grains and other junk maybe once a month but adopting this healthy lifestyle has brought about a huge change inside my body. I feel younger not just from the outside but also from the inside.

    I wish I had come across this book earlier when I was struggling with many issues of mine because of an improper diet.
  8. Alyce
    Hats off to the author
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 15, 2018
    Danielle Walker found herself in the midst of a major struggle in her life because of a painful disease. I thought I would give this book a try after I watched her on one of the Television shows. And when my copy arrived, I was totally impressed by the way she had come up with these recipes.

    Each and every recipe is class apart. I love the way a simple next door girl like her has fought against all odds and come up with such beautiful and lip smacking recipes. I admire her will power.
  9. Lakeisha
    Fantastico
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 10, 2018
    Yesterday evening I had gone over to my friend’s place to pick her up and while she was getting ready I was pacing through her mini library. That’s when the book’s cover caught my attention and I had a look at the recipes. They seem so interesting. I could have borrowed the book but I want my personal copy.

    I am so damn excited to try all the recipes in that book and dance my way to a healthy lifestyle.
  10. Chasity
    Well written book
    3.5/5, 3.5 out of 5, reviewed Jul 30, 2018
    I had no intentions of going against the grain. But there was this sale on Amazon and I thought it was the perfect time to pick up a book of this kind. I must say it is very well written and informative too. The author even reasons out why and how she substituted the ingredients and in what way the substitution would benefit us.
  11. Susanna
    Amazing recipes
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Jul 21, 2018
    This book is the sole reason I am on a diet. I was going on a diet for the first time in my life because of which I honestly had zero knowledge about anything concerned to diet.

    I consider myself fortunate enough to have come across this book. The recipes are too good and completely out of the world. And it makes use of those ingredients that one would commonly use in the kitchen.

    I tried quite a few recipes from this book and till now I loved each one. I thought dieting meant eating salads or not eating at all. I had no clue about something like this.

    So, if you ask me, this book has been a revelation. I love eating waffles and I felt the Paleo version of waffles is so much better than the ones with gluten in them.

    The book is the one and only reason for a changed, better and healthier me.
  12. Petter Uncle
    Could have been better
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Jul 16, 2018
    There is nothing wrong with the book but it makes use of a lot of coconut derived products. It is something that I cannot even think of doing because I completely resent the taste of coconut. Desiccated coconut, virgin coconut oil, coconut cream; I simply cannot put them in my mouth. I wish the author had thought of people like me and come up with a substitute for already existing substitutes.

    But on the other hand, the book contains recipes that are not only very good but also completely free from grain, dairy and sugars.

Book Summary

  1. Having battled an autoimmune disease the modern-medicine way for many years, Danielle Walker took matters into her own hands and set out to regain her health through the medicine of food. After four years of turning her kitchen into a laboratory for revamping her culinary point of view, Danielle mastered the art of grain- and dairy-free cooking—and improved her well-being, virtually eliminating all her ailments.

    A self-trained chef, Danielle is the new face of grain-free cooking, tempting foodies of all stripes with her accessible recipes for vibrant Paleo food. Paying homage to the dishes she loved in her pre-Paleo life, she has ingeniously recreated all her favorites without grains or dairy in her first cookbook.

    Complementing her innovative recipes with elegant photography, Danielle takes you on a culinary Paleo journey that includes everything from quick breakfasts to sinful desserts, with a long list of hearty entrees in-between. And because Danielle knows she's not the only one with a finicky toddler at home, she has included a special section filled with healthy recipes that kids will be eager to eat and moms will be just as eager to serve.

    These recipes are sure to leave you feeling satisfied and exhilarated, rather than discouraged and deprived. Danielle proves that omitting grains, gluten, dairy, and refined sugar doesn't correlate with sacrificing taste; in fact, just the opposite. This book will show you that you can go against the grain in the culinary world and enter a paradise of gourmet foods with exciting flavors
    Buk · Jul 10, 2018 · Updated Sep 26, 2018

    Share Book

Loading...