Buk
american-girl-the-care-and-keeping-of-you-1.jpg

American Girl The Care and Keeping of You Body Book 1

4.1/5, 4.1 from 15 reviews
Author:
Valorie Schaefer, Josee Masse (Illustrator), Cara Natterson (Medical Consultant)
ISBN:
1609580834 (ISBN13: 9781609580834)
ASIN:
Buy this Book
american-girl-the-care-and-keeping-of-you-1.jpg

Recent Reviews

  1. laverne
    Charismatic book for teenagers
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Oct 7, 2018
    I must say the book is very comprehensive and it is written in such a way that girls can easily relate to the contents of the book and understand their bodies. The book touches upon almost all aspects of the body which a girl should take care of.

    There are chapters on taking care of hair, washing it, brushing it and everything that should be taken care of.

    I bought this book for my daughter but I read it before I gave it to her and I learnt about many things; you would be surprised to know that even as an adult, there are things about your body which you may not be aware of.

    I again read this book along with my daughter and it was interesting to see her reactions to many things that were mentioned in the book. There were things that she thought was gross but once she got over those feelings, she would go back to the book and I could see that she was opening up quite well to the discussions on her body and what she needs to expect from them.
  2. olive
    Diverse and Dynamic
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Oct 1, 2018
    I gifted this book to my daughter when she had turned 12. I didn’t know what her reaction would be but as days passed I could see that she was glad she had this book. She made it a point to read the book almost every day and we had healthy discussions too.

    My daughter also told me that she had discussions about what’s written in the book with her older friends and that helped her even more in understanding what’s written in the book in a wholesome manner.

    The author has written about various body shapes too and my daughter was relieved to know that she was not the only one with a particular body shape.

    So, in my opinion, the book has paved way for a new beginning as far as my daughter’s thoughts and attitude towards these things are concerned. She keeps referring to the book whenever she needs.
  3. sophie
    Dazzling pre teen book
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 27, 2018
    The book is all colorful, beautiful and the author has written it in such a way that girls can easily understand. I love the fact that it has the perfect amount of scientifically precise information about puberty and the physical and emotional changes a girl goes through in that age.

    My daughter turned a teen this year and I honestly had no clue how to talk about all this to her without making her feel uncomfortable. This book has come as a blessing to me.
  4. delia
    Motivating
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Sep 21, 2018
    I was looking out for ways to introduce my pre-teen daughter to the changes her body will go through in the next 3-4 years. I being a single father wanted to do it without the whole thing being awkward.

    I searched online for “ways to talk to your teenage daughter without making it awkward” and this book popped up in suggestions. I was extremely glad to have seen the book as it addresses all kinds of changes and issues a girl faces as a teenager.

    I ordered for a copy and when it arrived and I took a casual look, I was completely satisfied as the book had lucid text and was written in a simple, friendly and non-intimidating manner.

    You have a teenager daughter; this would be the perfect gift you can give her.
  5. silvia
    Needs improvement
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Sep 16, 2018
    There is absolutely no denial that this book contains solid and useful information but the author has completely forgotten about the pivotal role that a father plays in his daughter’s life. There is absolutely nothing about “fathers” in this book.

    Also, in a few places where boys are mentioned, they are pictured in a negative light. Such negative opinions can meddle with the thought process of a teenage girl when it comes to the different men in her life.

    I find the author to be a full-fledged feminist with a total disregard for all men, even the boys. After reading the book, I find it hard to accept that the author indirectly says, “A daughter can’t fall back on your father”.

    Moreover, I think the various aspects of nutrition written in this book is utter crap and bullshit. So, I don’t think the book deserves a good rating despite the good information it has.
  6. lora
    Informative and Insightful
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Sep 10, 2018
    I just finished reading the book today just to ensure that it is good enough before I gift one copy to my girls.

    I loved the fact that the book encourages girls to accept themselves as who they are and to know that different changes happen differently for different individuals. There was no one to tell me that when I was a teenager because of which I had issues with my self-esteem.

    The book has also excellently explained the changes that happen during puberty, how a girl should take care of herself from head to toe and there is some good advice on how to handle different issues that can crop up during teenage.
  7. rachael
    Simple and informative
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Sep 4, 2018
    My sister had bought this book for her daughter and she was showing it to me. I don’t understand why such books were not written while I was a teenager. It is so damn good and I think it would have really helped me when I faced tough times as a teenager.

    Kids these days do not need it as much as we did back in those days when talking about such things was considered a taboo.

    The book is written on a very positive note and has information and tips on personal hygiene, breast development, fitness, sleep, bra shopping, braces and much more.

    And it served as a perfect conversation starter and I could see my niece was getting comfortable discussing such things with me and her mother.
  8. mable
    Fascinating book
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 31, 2018
    I found this book to be fantastic. Not only are there sections on the major aspects of a girl’s puberty like breasts, bras and chums, the author has put efforts in covering other topics like underarms, acne, braces along with the right nutrition, the right amount of sleep required and also hair care.

    I loved the book all the more because the author has written it in a reassuring way so that the girls know there is absolutely nothing to be ashamed of while discussing such things.

    If you ask me, the book not only helps the teenagers, even the moms can learn a lot about different things; for example there were many things written in the dental hygiene and sunscreen section which I was not aware of.

    And I was happy to see that in no way, my 10 year old felt uncomfortable or threatened or awkward while reading this book or talking about it to me.
  9. marcella
    Spectacular and thought provoking
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Aug 27, 2018
    No matter how much I praise this book, I feel it still deserves more. My daughter is not into books and when I bought this for her, I was skeptical if she is even gonna read it.

    But what took me by surprise was she opened the book as soon as I gave it to her and by lunch she was almost done reading the entire book. I couldn’t believe my eyes because she is someone who makes a big fuss to open any book and there she was, finished reading an entire book.

    Out of curiosity, I asked her what kept her interested in the book and she said she was keen on reading it because of the colorful text and the amazing illustrations. She also said that she was able to maintain her interest because the information was written in a simple language and divided into short paragraphs.

    When she was finished I borrowed the book from her in the evening and found what she said was absolutely true. I also found the book not to be judgmental at all. She has written it in such a way where she has provided teenagers with all the options they have and left it totally up to them to choose what they need to do.

    It also promotes a healthy attitude towards people of all body shapes and does not idealize something called as the “perfect figure”. I had a very “feel good” feeling after I read the book and I think every teenage girl should definitely take a look at it.
  10. krystal
    A comforting book for girls
    3.5/5, 3.5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 21, 2018
    I saw this in a book store yesterday and I bought it so that I could give it to my daughter who is turning 8 in a few days. Since I had time, I decided to read it once myself before I give it to her.

    I like it as I feel the book will be able to provide a solid foundation in which a strong building can be built on but there are a certain aspects that have not been covered completely and that could be confusing for the girls. Mothers will have to ensure to have a discussion with their daughters about those things so that they have a complete knowledge about it.

    The book talks about diversity but the illustrator doesn’t seem to have done the job well. For example, some girls are shown tall, a few others short, some of them slim and a few chubby but all of them have the same basic silhouettes which I don’t quite agree with and they don’t depict diversity at all.

    I am pleased with the book in general and I will let my daughter read it too.
  11. mona
    Realistic in all sense!
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 17, 2018
    Since a few weeks, the thought of how to approach my pre-teen daughter to discuss about puberty that may soon onset was haunting me. I had absolutely no clue where I should begin and how should I articulate my ideas so that she would be interested in listening to me.

    That’s when I saw a Facebook post by my friend’s daughter who is 18 about this book, the care and keeping of you. She had mentioned how amazingly out of the world the book has been and how it helped her sort out her issues.

    I immediately headed out to a book store nearby and bought a copy. I read it first just to make sure that it was appropriate for my 11 year old to read it by herself and for sure it was. I gave it to her over the weekend and she read it all by herself and once she was finished, she came up to me with so many questions and I was more than happy to answer them.

    I am in awe of this book and its author and I simply love the way the concepts are written and the illustrations to go along are simply beautiful.
  12. doreen
    Improved the mother-daughter bond
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Aug 13, 2018
    I love this book because it helped me bond really well with my daughter. I got this for her and she wanted me to read it with her. So, I joined in and I think this is the best mother daughter thing that we have ever done together.

    She was quite excited and kept browsing from one section to the next. And as a mother I feel happy because this book has helped her set her expectations right. She reads it whenever she has some free time and asks me to be with her through the reading so that she can clarify all her doubts with me.

    So, now we have these not at all awkward and frank discussions about various aspects related to puberty at home.

    If you have a daughter, you must definitely have this book.
  13. rosemarie
    A must have for all girls
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Aug 8, 2018
    This book was recommend by a friend of mine who also happens to be a doctor when I expressed my concerns of having a daughter who would soon enter puberty. The book is so positive about things and it motivates girls to have a good personal hygiene and look after and groom themselves well.

    The book is a bible of things that a girl should know by the time she is 10 so that she is well equipped with the appropriate knowledge that will in turn help her handle various situations that she comes across in an effective manner.

    Also, in my opinion the book will not only teach them good things about how to keep themselves but also help them be a good human being.
  14. Angelo
    A positive and reinforcing book
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Jul 31, 2018
    The tone in which the author has written this book is objective and with that she has clearly shown it to the girls that growing up is a part and parcel of life and there is nothing to be ashamed or frightened about it.

    The topics covered in the book are totally related to puberty like periods, bras, emotions, the hormonal changes etc. without going into other intimate subjects.

    I think this is an awesome book for your pre-pubescent daughter and a mother should ensure that her daughter has a personal copy of this book.
  15. Shannon
    Indeed a remarkable book for teenage girls as well as their mothers!
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Jul 25, 2018
    My daughter had her first periods when she was 9 and she did not know anything about it; so that was making her really uncomfortable to talk about the whole thing.

    I could see that she was getting quite upset and embarrassed about the whole thing and at times, really frightened and confused too. I tried talking to her about it and reassuring her but nothing seemed to work.

    When I spoke to one my colleagues about it, she suggested that I buy this book for my daughter and let her read it so that she understand all that’s happening is quite natural and normal.

    I ordered it online and addressed it to her. She was really interested when she got the copy and started reading it immediately. Slowly, I could see the changes it had brought about on her.

    From a confused girl, she was slowly becoming happy and cheerful. And then a few days later she came up to me and thanked me for buying this book for her. I was glad that she liked it and more than that I was happy to see that she was no more morose.

    She slowly started opening up and discuss about various things that were written in the book. I encouraged her to ask me as many questions as she wanted to.

    Finally, I was happy to see that she had gotten completely comfortable with puberty and the changes that come along with it. All credits to this awesome book.

Book Summary

  1. Best-selling body book for girls just got even better! With all-new illustrations and updated content for girls ages 8 and up, it features tips, how-tos, and facts from the experts. You'll find answers to questions about your changing body, from hair care to healthy eating, bad breath to bras, periods to pimples, and everything in between.
    Buk · Jul 12, 2018 · Updated Oct 4, 2018

    Share Book

Loading...