Buk
be-the-best-you-can-be-book.jpg

Be The Best You Can Be Book

4.1/5, 4.1 from 10 reviews
Author:
Michael B
ISBN:
1478122315 (ISBN13: 978-1478122319)
ASIN:
Buy this Book
be-the-best-you-can-be-book.jpg

Recent Reviews

  1. Garry
    Tugged my heartstrings
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Oct 8, 2018
    Michael’s book pulled my heartstrings. The book which talks about the journey of a man who fought back against polio is an eye-opener. What I liked the most about the book is that there was no preachiness. Mike talks about his life as if he was narrating a story to his friend. I recommend this book to everyone who wants some push in their life.
  2. Randolph
    Good book, but I liked “It’s not about Bike” better
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Oct 3, 2018
    Be the best you can be is a good book, and one can get inspired by it. I might be the odd one out, but I did not feel anything extraordinary about this book. Yes, Mike had a disease and fought against it and succeeded. I have got nothing against Mike. But I am sorry to say that I felt more inspired by “It’s Not About Bike” by Lance Armstrong. It might be because I have a loved one who struggled against testicular cancer and after reading this book, got the spark to fight back against the disease.
  3. Pete
    a great book
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 26, 2018
    Mike’s book is a great book. It talks about how one should not be cowed down by any curveball that life throws at us. The way he fought the disease and succeeded in life is an inspiration for everybody. This is a book which should be a handbook for everybody.
  4. Willis
    A Good Book
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Sep 18, 2018
    “Be the Best You Can Be” is an ordinary book which has been made extraordinary by Michael B. If he had not mentioned that he was suffering from polio then the book would have felt like any another book about a man who made it rich.

    Mike’s book does not pour pity on himself. The way he faced up to polio and became very successful in life is something that everybody should take note of. Mike has outshone people through his sheer determination and efforts to succeed in life. Well done Mike, you are our hero. Your message that anything is achievable and personal obstacles should not deter one comes across very clearly.
  5. Abraham
    Thank you, Mike, for the beautiful book
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Sep 14, 2018
    “Be the best you can be” talks about the journey of Michael B., a man afflicted with polio. While Mike speaks about his young life as a polio-afflicted person in the UK, I felt I could relate to him, back here in Australia. Even though I do not have polio, but I had a couple of relatives who were afflicted with this dreaded disease and I could relate to what they might have gone through. The way Mike speaks about movies, music, etc. I felt as if it was my friend next door who was talking.

    This book has inspired and motivated me to enjoy my life to the fullest while I can. I hope it does for others also because this is the sort of spark that one needs in their life. Thank you, Mike, for the beautiful book!!!!
  6. Kerry
    good book but needed a little help
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Sep 6, 2018
    I appreciate Michael B. for having the courage to tell his own story in a way he likes. But sometimes when you are trying to target a wider audience, bouncing off your ideas on somebody else is always a good idea. I think Mike needed to do it as it would have made his book more inspirational.

    That said, it is indeed a fantastic story and the fact that he touches upon Post-polio syndrome is appreciative since nobody seems to think or discuss it when they should be.
  7. Marion
    Optimistic and motivational book
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Aug 28, 2018
    “Be the best you can be” by Michael B. is a not an ordinary book. Instead, one should say that it is a book that is very optimistic and motivates you. What I was going through was nothing when compared to what Michael went through. The book though does not offer any life advice, which was a tad disappointing. All in all, this is a must-read book.
  8. Sergio
    A truly inspiring story
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 20, 2018
    When I was down in the dumps and getting sucked into a cesspool of depression, my friend suggested me to read this book. I was not in the mood to read anything but to keep him happy I took up the book. I must say it was the right decision. I had thought that the author would be talking about several medical jargons and how medical science had fought back against this dreaded disease.

    But I was pleasantly surprised. The book was entertaining and straightforward to read. I felt Mike was talking to me and telling his story. I read the book and reread it. I was inspired by this book and slowly found the courage to fight back against my depression. Thanks to the inspiring book, I am beginning to see the light at the end of the tunnel. Thank you, Mike for the lovely gift to the world!!!
  9. Kirk
    A short read, but very inspiring
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Aug 15, 2018
    Michael B.’s Be The Best You Can Be is not your usual book. The book is a quick read, may be too short for my liking. But then this is not your typical book. It is more like a friend who is narrating his fight against a deadly disease with us. The story flows like a river and takes you along with it. Michael B.’s suffering and staying positive despite the cruel joke life played on him is something that everybody should read. Simply put, it is inspiring. I loved the fact that he does not crib about the disease.

    Truth be told, if he had not explained the occasional near-death situations, then one would have never known that Mike had this terrible disease. The book is highly entertaining and recommended for everybody.
  10. Perry
    Read it; you will not regret it
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 8, 2018
    I highly recommend reading this book. Trust me; you would love it.

    You may ask why. It is a warm story that would tug one’s heart. As I was reading the book, I felt I was Mike’s constant companion, and he was narrating his story to me. Do not look for perfection in this book; you will not find it. The book is more of a conversation type. Once I started reading the book, I could not put the book down and ended up reading it twice or thrice. I hope nobody saw a teardrop falling when I finished reading the book.

Book Details

  1. If you are expecting a read that is full of anger, and blame and depression, then you will be disappointed. This book is an outline of the life of one survivor of this virus, and the legacy that remains after survival. It is hoped that it will encourage others with this, or other afflictions to see that there is always a life to be led. It may be far from the life you may have wished for, or indeed the life you might choose, but it is still a life, and hopefully with a sense of humour that shines through.

    This story has not reached its conclusion as yet, as there may well be hurdles to jump in the future, but for now this is the living history. This account is written in the victim's own words, as he lived it and as he viewed his life. It is a personal account.

    ...'On the first day the nurse asked "any pain?" to which I replied politely "no thank you".
    I really was not intending to make her laugh, I was half conscious I think at the time, and was just answering the question as I had heard it ..'

    Share Book

Loading...