Staff
diet-for-a-small-planet.jpg

Diet for a Small Planet by Frances Moore Lappe

3.9/5, 3.9 from 12 reviews
Author:
Frances Moore Lappe, Marika Hahn (Illustration)
ISBN:
0345373669 (ISBN13: 9780345373663)
ASIN:
Buy from Amazon
diet-for-a-small-planet.jpg

Recent Reviews

  1. Wade
    A good read
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Oct 8, 2018
    I read this book a few years back but I thought it was not able to make any lasting impression on my mind. But a few days back when I looked back in time, it a year after reading this book, that I turned into a vegan and now I wonder if it had more of an influence that I thought it had.

    I would definitely suggest reading this book at least once in your life time. Trust me, it is definitely going to have a great impact on your minds. It might even transform your life but if that doesn’t happen at least a tiny part in you would have changed for the better.
  2. Virgil
    Inspiring
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Oct 1, 2018
    I happened to come across this book just because I was gifted a copy and I happened to read this book because I used to travel a lot and one day it so happened that it was this book that I put inside my bag.

    The outer cover doesn’t show that the contents of the book are so deep. If you ask me, it is the most important book I have ever read on nutrition and politics. If you do not happen to get the connection, then it is time that you read the book to know for yourself.
  3. Kent
    Eye opener
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Sep 26, 2018
    Till I read this book, I did not know that meat production was much more expensive and tough on the planet when compared to grain production. I always thought it was the other way round because in my opinion, you had meat all over the place and the only thing you needed to do was pick and choose.

    This book was an eye opener in the sense it makes an individual think about his food choices and makes him consciously choose that kind of food opting for which we wouldn’t be harming the planet.

    The book is profound and it actually makes us think how we want our future generations to think about us!
  4. Sergio
    Importance of eating good without meat
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Sep 13, 2018
    I had seen my mom reading this book a few years back and after that she turned into a complete vegetarian. I was stupid enough to think then that my mom had turned into a boring human being and she was forcing it upon me and my sister too to opt for vegetarianism.

    But now as a grown up, I do understand what my mom was trying to do and I love the book that I once hated because it took away my favorite beef burgers from me. I realize the book is all about the personal and social importance of eating healthy, simple and meatless meals.

    I loved the recipes too that are given in the book, they are a revelation! And now I am completely head over heels with the idea of eating for a small planet. It is beautiful if you look at it in a way.
  5. Rene
    There are better books on food nutrition out there!
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Sep 5, 2018
    This is my honest review about the book. It was a fun read but after reading other books of the same genre like The Omnivore’s Dilemma, I felt this one could have been written in a much more interesting style. Both the books contain almost the same information and only difference is Omnivore’s Dilemma is written in an interesting way when compared to diet for a small planet.

    I found it to be more engaging compared to this one and it held my interest throughout. Plus the author has also shared her finding about modern democracy and its relationship to the food we eat on a daily basis, which is alright but I think it was so important in her standpoint that it got highly repetitive in the book.

    So, I don’t think this book is a wholesome one when it comes to providing information about vegetarianism.
  6. Terrence
    Tells you how to eat appropriately
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Aug 24, 2018
    I would like to give the complete credits of becoming a vegetarian and loving to stay as one to this book.

    I was gifted a copy of this book by my mom who had totally left meat after she read this book. I think she wanted me to do the same in order to eat appropriately for a small planet and this book did its work!

    I made my decision and I put in some efforts and tried out recipes from this cookbook. And it far exceeded my expectations in terms of taste.

    It has some great info on nutritional information and its practicality.
  7. Marion
    Apt even in today’s date
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 22, 2018
    I agree that there might be books similar to this one in the current times. But back when it was released, the book was one of its kind. It had brought about an entirely different perspective of thinking about food and nutrition.

    In my case, it encouraged and motivated me to look and think more deeply about the food we eat on a daily basis. I realized that our food contains a lot more in it than the evident elements that we are exposed to.

    I read this during my college days and to this point, it is something that brought about a turning point in my life.
  8. Perry
    Covers all aspects related to food nutrition
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Aug 16, 2018
    Things have changed a lot these days and the current generation is way smarter than the previous one and has realized and easily accepted that eating food low on food chain or basic in evolution is good not only for planet but it is highly beneficial on an individual level too.

    But when I started off with this concept, I was not sure at all about how to eat vegetarian food without compromising on nutrition. I honestly had hardly any clue about how to compensate for the nutrition that I got from eating various kinds of meat.

    And in that dilemma if I should start off with something new or stick to my old ways, I found this book and it helped me ward of the second thoughts on opting to be a vegetarian.

    It is a classic read and covers all important aspects related to vegetarianism.
  9. CLINT
    One of the best books ever read
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Aug 10, 2018
    I read the book for the first time a few years back when I had planned to go vegetarian. It was one of the best books of those times especially for ones who wanted to change their ways of eating.

    It was excellent for those times but I recently read the updated version and I feel there are much better books now. And this one looks a little out dated in front of them.
  10. NICOLAS
    Comprehensive and filled with knowledge
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Jul 31, 2018
    This book has swept me off my feet because it is exactly what I wanted to know about food politics and it is written in the most comprehensive manner possible.

    It has included various important aspects and it gives a fair idea about the intricacies of the food system that we follow currently.

    The author deserves a good credit because she has left no stone unturned and she makes all the important connections that is important for us to understand the food system that we have.

    The author has explained with relevant examples how the food system that we follow currently is leading to questionable food products, hunger, environmental degradation and overproduction leading to misutilization of resources.

    I have read other books that is about the same thing and I can clearly see that the author of this book has made all the important connections between farming, food production systems and global capitalism which many others have overlooked.
  11. DALLAS
    Accurate store house of information about food system
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Jul 24, 2018
    What I liked the most about this book its been almost 30 years that it was written and the ideas written in the book are true and accurate in the current day scenario as well.

    I feel amazed to know that the experts knew about all this since the 70s and nothing has changed till date. And the book has been an eye opener to me and made me see how entrenched our food policies.

    Also, the author doesn’t eat meat nor does he encourage eating meat and explains how inefficient and energy wastage is eating meat. I did not know that it was bad for environment and causes global poverty but it does not focus much animal rights. It is all about why it is bad for the human kind.

    The recipes are also highly effective in eliminating meat from your diet because it has so many lip smacking vegetarian recipes.
  12. TAYLOR
    Loved her principles and philosophy
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Jul 18, 2018
    The author’s theory of change is something I was impressed about and she has 5 principles that total up the philosophy behind her food activism which are as below:

    1) In the same way as development must be redefined to include the concept of power, so should freedom. And it is equally important to have freedom and enjoy security in the form of food so that the available resources can be preserved for future generations as well.

    2) All the concepts of economic and political democracy are inseparable.

    3) Scarcity is not the cause of hunger and solution can found only if one addresses the issue of power. Any kind of development must move and look forward to genuine democracy.

    4) Democracy is not a static model that can be achieved in one go and it essence is eternal struggle.

    5) Within every society, efforts should be made to redistribute power and ordinary people should realize their role in making political and economic decisions in their society.

    It is a must read for every responsible human being on this planet so that they realize the importance of resources that we have at our disposal.

Book Summary

  1. With the new emphasis on environmentalism in the 1990's, Lappe stresses how her philosophy remains valid, and how food remains the central issue through which to understand world politics.
    Staff · Jul 9, 2018 · Updated Oct 8, 2018

    Share Book

Loading...