Buk
Feeling-Good-the-New-Mood-Therapy.jpg

Feeling Good The New Mood Therapy by David Burns

3.1/5, 3.1 from 12 reviews
Author:
Dr David D. Burns
ISBN:
0380810336 (ISBN13: 9780380810338)
ASIN:
Buy this Book
Feeling-Good-the-New-Mood-Therapy.jpg

Recent Reviews

  1. Allan
    best psychology book
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Oct 3, 2018
    Feeling Good is the best psychology book ever written. I know it is an exaggeration, but I am just expressing my feelings. This book helped me in understanding what my primary problem was and how can one best address it. The icing on the cake was the section where the names of different medications that could be useful in treating depression were mentioned. It was very helpful.
  2. Guy
    Not able to make any sense with this book
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Sep 28, 2018
    I suffer from frequent panic attacks and was searching for a good self-help book that could help me address this problem. I was recommended “Feeling Good” by a co-worker who stated that this is the best book. I started reading this but soon kept it down as I was unable to make any sense about the stuff written in the book. The only chapter that I felt was good enough for me was where it talks about influencing one’s mood. I skipped the rest of the book.
  3. Jimmie
    An average book
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Sep 22, 2018
    When compared to various self-help books available in the market for depression and anxiety, this book is an average read. This book was okay till two-thirds section after which I felt it was a waste of time and pages. That said, this book is good for those who want to know about different medications that are available to treat depression. For others, they can pass this book.
  4. Felix
    Repetitive and tough to relate to
    1/5, 1 out of 5, reviewed Sep 18, 2018
    I felt Feeling Good was a tough nut to crack. There were many sections in the book where I thought I was lost as many of the sentences did not make any sense to me. They were too wordy for my liking. Moreover, I could not make an instant connect with the statements. The final nail in the coffin was the repetitive nature of the book. At best, a one-time read.
  5. Armando
    Not impressed with this book
    1/5, 1 out of 5, reviewed Sep 13, 2018
    Feeling Good by Dr. David Burns did not impress me a wee bit. It is a waste of time and money. The book deals with Cognitive Behavioral Therapy which one can do on their own. It is a very shallow book, which is surprising because some of the other books by Dr. David Burns were great. I think the doctor wants us to believe that a human being is a very simple being and it is easy to relate to the statements made by a person. Alas, this is not true. All in all, a boring read.
  6. Dwight
    Much ado about nothing
    1/5, 1 out of 5, reviewed Sep 9, 2018
    This book is much ado about nothing. Dr. David Burns through his writings comes across as a pompous ass who thinks only he knows what is best for people having depression and anxiety. He is very dismissive about biological therapies that can help in the fight against depression. I am happy that I took this book on a loan and did not spend money on buying this garbage.
  7. Dwayne
    A good book, that alas, did not work for me
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Sep 2, 2018
    Feeling Good is one of the best books that have come in the market, especially when it comes to dealing with depression. My therapist loved this book very much, and she recommended it to me. The book was very good at the initial stages, but I lost track once I reached the middle sections. Maybe it was the repetitive nature or some preachiness, but I felt bored and did not feel like completing the book.
  8. Max
    a good book
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Aug 26, 2018
    It will be an understatement if I say that this is a nice book. This book has helped me in identifying why I had a certain type of feeling and thoughts. Most importantly, the book contains some excellent strategies that could help to train our minds in a manner which would positively impact our self-esteem and help in developing a positive outlook. I am thankful to my boss for recommending this wonderful book to me.

    I am giving four stars to this book for one issue. At some places, the author starts getting preachy and becomes dismissive of differently-abled people. I feel it is ethically wrong to use certain phrases which can make a differently-abled person more depressed. The doc has to remember that they did not become like that out of their own liking. If he can take care of these issues, then this book can truly become great.
  9. Hugh
    An average book
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Aug 20, 2018
    I got Dr. David Burns “Feeling Good” from my library after hearing so many good reviews about it from my friends. However, I have to say that I am a little disappointed with this book. The main reason why I am disappointed is the fact that nearly one-third portion of the book is about medication and suicides, which may be good for some, but for me, it was wasting pages. Secondly, I felt the book started repeating itself after some sections, especially the exercises and some examples were very long.

    These are my reason, but this book might turn out to be a savior for others.
  10. Jackie
    Good Book but fewer specifics for anxiety issues
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Aug 15, 2018
    Forgive me for comparing Feeling Good by Dr. David Burns with When Panic Attacks by the same author. “Feeling Good” has some excellent information, but for me “When Panic Attacks” was the best book, and it was more helpful also. I am the person who suffers from panic attacks. If I want to look at the brighter side, I can say that I do not have depression. For me, my anxiety is more debilitating than any other thing and “When Panic Attacks” has turned out to be a godsend for me. “When Panic Attacks” has more specific when it comes to dealing with anxiety issues than “Feeling Good.”

    That said, “Feeling Good” is a good book especially for those who have to deal with depression and anxiety issues. The book also talks about antidepressants, which can be helpful for those who are taking these or keen to take these.

    Unfortunately, “Feeling Good” is not my cup of tea.
  11. Alejandro
    A must-read
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 11, 2018
    Dr. David Burns’ Feeling Good is a must-read for people having issues with anxiety and depression. This excellent book focuses on the basics of CBT (cognitive behavioral therapy). However, one small issue with the book was the section that covered pharmacology of depression. The section was interesting, but I felt it was of not much use when compared to other sections in the book which focused on behavioral modifications.

    This book also contains some gems. One of my favorite gems from this book is when Burns says that things like common sense are not easy to manage for a person having mental health illness. He has hit the nail on the head. This would make more sense to those who know people having mental health illness. One needs constant vigilance to combat the cognitive distortions which a person might have. Positive talks can help to unclog the brain of any negative thoughts, and this book acts as a booster shot.
  12. Arturo
    INCREDIBLE BOOK
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 4, 2018
    Feeling Good by Dr. David Burns is one of the most INCREDIBLE books that I have read in my life! The book has been my savior and enabled me to get a new perspective on things that happen in my life! In fact, I have read this book around three times and have not got bored of it. I am planning to reread it after some days. Why did I read it so many times? The simple reason is, it has helped me understand many things that were happening in my life. Reading it for the first time, I felt there was too much useful information and reading it just once would be doing injustice to this book.

    Mental illness in general, as well as depression, and anxiety are, unfortunately, still considered a taboo among people, and there is a need to educate people about it. The best way to educate people is, I believe, through this wonderful book. In fact, this book should be a must read for all those people who are suffering from depression and anxiety.

    I recommend this lovely book to those who are fighting against depression and anxiety as well as to all others who want to improve their relationship with people and feel good about themselves. It worked for me, and I am sure it would work for others as well.

Book Details

  1. The good news is that anxiety, guilt, pessimism, procrastination, low self-esteem, and other "black holes" of depression can be cured without drugs. In Feeling Good, eminent psychiatrist, David D. Burns, M.D., outlines the remarkable, scientifically proven techniques that will immediately lift your spirits and help you develop a positive outlook on life. Now, in this updated edition, Dr. Burns adds an All-New Consumer′s Guide To Anti-depressant Drugs as well as a new introduction to help answer your questions about the many options available for treating depression.

    - Recognise what causes your mood swings
    - Nip negative feelings in the bud
    - Deal with guilt
    - Handle hostility and criticism
    - Overcome addiction to love and approval
    - Build self-esteem
    - Feel good everyday

    Share Book

Loading...