Buk
fight-like-a-girl-clementine-ford.jpg

Fight Like a Girl Book by Clementine Ford

4/5, 4 from 9 reviews
Author:
Clementine Ford
ISBN:
1760292362 (ISBN13: 9781760292362)
ASIN:
Buy this Book
fight-like-a-girl-clementine-ford.jpg

Recent Reviews

  1. CARY
    Rawwww!!!!
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Oct 2, 2018
    I feel this is such an important book, not just for women but for men too. You have a daughter, give it to her and if you have a son, you must definitely give it to him and make him read it too.

    The book is so good that it has compelled a person like me who does not recommend books to others to high recommend this particular one to almost every one I know.

    This book has the power to move, inspire and fore you up. As you read the book, you get these strong urges to scream and convey those thoughts across to everyone you know because the author has written it in such a raw and enraging manner.

    I think this book is a mirror to the truths of the condition of women in current society and one must definitely read it.
  2. Shannon
    A good manifesto for change
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Sep 25, 2018
    This lady has laid the foundation stone of feminism for the next generation and has aptly conveyed what every young woman needs. The piece is raw, powerful and totally unapologetic and the author’s view of feminism has something strong to say to us all.

    I loved the book because it is totally unapologetic to the idea of being a feminist. There are no guilt trips at all. And the author has left no room to make people comfortable about feminism and why should she right!!

    I didn’t find the author to be academically very well informed about things but as she says in the book, feminism is not just for the learned and well informed people; it is for everyone, even for the men.

    It is one very powerful manifesto for change.
  3. Dana
    Big time fan
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 16, 2018
    I am clearly a Clem fan and I could not recommend this book anymore. I don’t know where she gets all that energy from to stand up for all the women around her despite the amount of abuse she has to endure because of it.

    I am a feminist and I am not ashamed to admit it at all. But as much as I love being one, I cant disagree on the fact that it gets too tiring and exhausting at times. You get fed up trying to explain things to people and show them things from a women’s perspective.

    But this lady has tremendous energy inside her to go on and on about it and I know for sure that no one can pull her down.

    I read this book and while I was reading it I know each and every word written there is true in the current scenario but I also feel angry because I know no one wants to hear about it. No one gives a damn about how it is for a woman!

    The book definitely ignited anger in me and it didn’t let my spirits die to speak up about what I feel when I hear something derogatory about women.
  4. Tracy
    No harm in reading it
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Sep 6, 2018
    I definitely appreciate the ideas and facts mentioned in the book but what did not like at all about the book was the author’s style of writing.

    It is all over the place and that makes a person lose focus on what he is reading and the point never gets conveyed across. I also felt a lot of ideas instead of being put into one particular chapter could have split into different ones so that each idea gets its own due importance.

    It would be unfair if I don’t admit that there were so many ideas in the book that moved my mind and made me look at the issues in a different angle and there were many good quotes too that touched my heart but unfortunately the repetition of things again and again and crazy writing style that the author followed literally drove me nuts and made it an ordeal to finish the book.
  5. Angel
    Must read for all women out there
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Aug 31, 2018
    It is not the first time that I am reading a piece written by Ford. I have read her columns previously and to be honest I was never a great fan of her writing.

    Certain things are already obvious and she was just ranting them again on a daily basis. But all said and done, one must accept the fact that she is one of those important voices in the feminist community.

    So, I thought I should read this book. In the book too, I struggled through the initial chapters because she was going over and over about what she had already written and what I already knew.

    But as the chapters progressed she had put together her narrative piece and when I began reading that part, all that she had mentioned before started making more sense to me. My mind opened up to unlearn the old things and learn something new. It was the essays that she had written which clarified so things and moved all my mind blocks.

    Now I am more open to listening to such issues. I am more than willing to learn about them and respect them. One should read this, and never miss out on the narrative part because that gives you a lot of thinking to do.
  6. Leslie
    Not upto the mark
    3.5/5, 3.5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 22, 2018
    I love the author, Clementine Ford but I think that love shouldn’t come in between reviewing the book she has written which according to me deserves only 3.5 stars.

    It is not that the book is not worth reading; it is definitely a good read and I enjoyed reading it too; I wouldn’t lie about that but I don’t think it had some kind of novelty to it. I totally agree with a lot of things that are written in the book but at the same time the continuous fulmination did put me off as well.

    The book is fragmented in some ways but it is simple and I could relate to what she has written about self-hatred and how it eats you away. This book exactly describes what is there in a woman’s heart.

    If you are expecting to know something scientifically based on gender studies, then this one shouldn’t be your pick. But I would say it is a very nice introduction to feminism for those who are not yet acquainted with it.
  7. Kelly
    GREAT BOOK WITH STRONG IDEAS
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 15, 2018
    No matter what people say, I am totally in awe of this woman and how she takes a stand for everything she thinks is right. She is not afraid of who she is and doesn’t mind offending men at all. I want my daughter to grow up to be like her.

    Coming to the book, she has addressed various subjects and issues revolving around women in frank yet beautiful manner and I found her book to be an expanded version of her columns. It is indeed a study of ordeals that a modern woman has to go through in her day to day life.
  8. Jessie
    Transformed my life
    4.5/5, 4.5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 7, 2018
    As a 28 year old, I wish I had known of this book while I was a teenager looking around for some answers. If I had laid my hands on this book earlier, I know for sure that I would not have vested my energies in submitting myself to the various pressures of a society that is patriarchal.

    The way our society looks at things make me furious and this book tells me that I have every right to get angry. There is absolutely nothing wrong in being outrageous to a society that objectifies women and forces them to bloody deal with harassment and sexism very single day of their lives. She tells us that there is no room for submission to such things and I stand by what she says.

    This book could be a woman’s support system when she feels guilty at being angry towards the state of affairs with respect to feminism around her.

    If you are angry, know that you are not alone; there are many other women out there too!
  9. Cory
    Totally appreciate it
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Jul 28, 2018
    This wonderful lady, Clementine Ford has come up with a heartfelt and fervent publication for the feminists of the modern day world. This book is many shades at the same time. I could feel the anger, the sadness, the sarcasms and the fun all at the same time.

    And the reason behind my utmost appreciation of the book is I can totally associate my personal situations to those mentioned in the book. And I feel so relieved that I was not angry for no good reason.

    It covers a wide array of topics ranging from fatness to eating disorders and body shaming to domestic violence and sexual assault, to auto-eroticism and abortion.

    There was absolutely nothing in the book that a woman like me could not relate to. A few things I could relate to those incidents that happened in my life whereas a few others things to what I had seen other ladies going through.

    A good and a must read especially for teenagers, both boys and girls!

Book Summary

  1. Personal and fearless - a call to arms for feminists new, old and as yet unrealised by one of our most outspoken feminist writers.

    'With wit, insight and glorious, righteous rage, Clementine Ford lays out all the ways in which girls and women are hurt and held back, and unapologetically demands that the world do better. A passionate and urgently needed call to arms, Fight Like A Girl insists on our right to be angry, to be heard and to fight. It'll change lives.' Emily Maguire, author of An Isolated Incident

    A friend recently told me that the things I write are powerful for her because they have the effect of making her feel angry instead of just empty. I want to do this for all women and young girls - to take the emptiness and numbness they feel about being a girl in this world and turn it into rage and power. I want to teach all of them how to FIGHT LIKE A GIRL. Clementine Ford

    Online sensation, fearless feminist heroine and scourge of trolls and misogynists everywhere, Clementine Ford is a beacon of hope and inspiration to thousands of Australian women and girls. Her incendiary debut Fight Like A Girl is an essential manifesto for feminists new, old and soon-to-be, and exposes just how unequal the world continues to be for women. Crucially, it is a call to arms for all women to rediscover the fury that has been suppressed by a society that still considers feminism a threat.

    Fight Like A Girl will make you laugh, cry and scream. But above all it will make you demand and fight for a world in which women have real equality and not merely the illusion of it.
    Buk · Jul 16, 2018 · Updated Oct 3, 2018

    Share Book

Loading...