Buk
fit-for-life-diet-plan-by-harvey-diamond-book.jpg
Buk
fit-for-life-diet-plan-by-harvey-diamond-book.jpg
fit-for-life-diet-plan-by-harvey-diamond-book-2010.jpg

Fit For Life Diet Plan Book by harvey diamond

3/5, 3 from 13 reviews
Author:
Harvey Diamond & Marilyn Diamond
ISBN:
0446300152 (ISBN13: 9780446300155)
ASIN:
Buy this Book
fit-for-life-diet-plan-by-harvey-diamond-book.jpg fit-for-life-diet-plan-by-harvey-diamond-book-2010.jpg

Recent Reviews

  1. Lloyd
    Nopes, no use
    1/5, 1 out of 5, reviewed Sep 27, 2018
    Fit for Life By Harvey Diamond is a waste of time and money. The basic premise of this book is to eat raw food. Well, that is good for some days but the author does not talk about what would be the consequences is we follow the diet to the “T.” Yes, I have tried it, and it did not work for me. And No, I am not going to give it another try. I would stick to simple eating and daily exercises to stay fit.
  2. Bill
    Diet book that works for me
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 20, 2018
    This book is a godsend for me. I had tried many diet books, but none of them were giving me expected results. This book was a sort of last hope, and I am glad that it worked for me. Yes, eating vegetables and fruits would reduce weight, but it would also help the body to get rid of all the unwanted toxins from the body and make you feel very fresh and energetic.
  3. Ronnie
    Outdated
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Sep 16, 2018
    The book and the ideas presented in it are outdated. I got this book from a friend as I was looking out to try some new and interesting recipes, but this book was a big letdown. The book promotes raw veganism. Eating raw food is a good idea but in moderation. Our body has evolved, and if we stick to this plan, we might lose weight but end up with various other serious ailments.
  4. Jon
    good book, but still a skeptic
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Sep 11, 2018
    This book is good, but I am still a skeptic. There are too much fluff and many conclusions that would not stand the scrutiny of any scientific test. The theories postulated in the book is interesting and can act as a catalyst for looking at food in a new light. I have decided to change the way I eat food. Not taking in all the points, but only those which are implementable.
  5. Alex
    book looked gimmicky
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Sep 9, 2018
    A coworker gave this book to me with a suggestion to skim through the first few chapters as it was not quite informative. Intrigued, I read a few pages and Jesus, was he true. The chapters looked more of infomercials and not a diet book. For a major part, the author claims he has discovered the secret about healthy life but does not say it straight and simple. He meanders and takes up more pages in the book until he reveals his secrets - raw veganism.

    I do not mind it because it makes more sense to reduce the amount of meat etc. and increase the number of veggies and fruits. What I did not like is an overdependence on raw veganism. Any child will know that if you eat only vegetables and fruits, you will lose weight and there is no rocket science behind it. Eating more fresh veggies and fruits is also sound advice.

    The other problem with this book is that the evidence put forward is anecdotal, and either disapproved or scientifically unsound. To be fair to the author, he does put in a disclaimer, but it talks about the reference to God, but I do not think that these things have a place in a book which is talking about eating properly for healthy living. The author is also very dodgy about various studies he quotes. The one that stood out for me was the Pottenger's cats experiment and the extrapolation of the study to humans and stating that cooked food is not good for humans. Now, this is stretching things a bit too far.

    He also conveniently ignores about the importance of exercises and states walking is enough if more than 50% of your diet is raw….

    Though the book has a good premise, it is messed up with the presence of many evidences that have been trashed by the scientific community.
  6. Calvin
    interesting concept
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Sep 4, 2018
    I was never a big fan of diet books and was least interested in reading a diet book when my wife gave this book to me. Fit for Life has many interesting concepts. I felt some of the things mentioned were very odd and was perplexed when I first read that combining two food items or not combing them would result in better digestion. It made sense, but I was still not clear. But things started becoming clear as I read on. The book talked about acidic food and alkaline foods and how each requires a special environment for better digestion. So if you combine acidic food and alkaline food and eat it, then it would not be digested that easily. Reading this book transported me back to chemistry classes during childhood days. It now makes sense to me as to why I have a bloated and heavy feeling after I eat a meal of mashed potatoes and meat. It also demolishes the statement “eat more proteins.”

    Now the part that I did not like about the book. Some of the techniques mentioned in the book are tough to implement, and I have apprehension that I might not be able to follow the plan to the "T." That said, I am following some principles given in the book, and I am noticing the changes in my body and an increased amount of energy.

    In short, a good book with some interesting recipes that is a bit difficult to follow, but certainly worth a try.
  7. Tom
    used as reference material, but never prepared it for me
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Aug 28, 2018
    About ten years ago, I used this book as reference material for developing a catering menu for a show, and the food was a roaring success. Last year, I was asked to cater for a medical event, and I used this book again as reference material. The food was a success. It surprised me because despite being a very old book, it still holds up against the deluge of diet books that have hit the market.

    But I must admit that I have never prepared the menus given in the book for my personal use. Do not ask why, because I have no idea. Maybe I should give it a try.
  8. Jay
    Well-written book but not sure about effectiveness
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Aug 20, 2018
    Fit for Life by Harvey Diamond is a well-written book. The style is not so preachy and one can say it is a good read. The only thing that stops me from giving it a four or five star is the fact that I am not sure if the things told in it are that effective. I have not tried out all the tips. But I like the idea of including a sample menu in the book. In short, a good read but not quite there for me.
  9. Oscar
    Not my cup of tea
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Aug 15, 2018
    I took this book as an interlibrary loan after hearing many positive reviews from my friends, co-workers, family members, etc. I am glad I did not waste any money on this book. It offered nothing new…everything mentioned was dated, and scientists have rejected most of the things mentioned in it. It might work well for some, but for me, it just did not click. I felt this was another addition to the fad diet books that are flooding the market.
  10. Clifford
    Interesting book, but do not blindly follow it
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Aug 12, 2018
    Fit for life is a useful and exciting book. It strongly refutes some of the popular nutrition myths. This book is beneficial to all food types, and even non-vegetarians can benefit from reading this book. However, I would suggest all to not read it and blindly believe the tips mentioned in it. And check with your doctor before you start on a diet lest you end up with some other ailments after undergoing the diet.
  11. Theodore
    Book loaded with great tips
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 6, 2018
    This book is loaded with lots of excellent suggestions. The book is a good read. It might be old (well nearly three decades old), but in my opinion, the health recommendations mentioned in it are still handy. Even though I do not agree with everything said in it, it still has some excellent points.
  12. Micheal
    Good idea, but very hard to implement
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Aug 2, 2018
    Fit for Life by Harvey and Marilyn Diamond is a good book and offers some real gems and a fantastic weight loss method. However, it is tough to implement, and most of the theories have been thrashed by the scientific community. Personally, I got sick after undergoing this diet. So in a sense, lost a lot of weight but became more prone to ailments.
  13. Francisco
    Excellent Book, gave a good insight into how we should we eat
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jul 27, 2018
    My story on how I got this book is fascinating. I was reading a book which I bought after a coworker told me about it when she came to know that I am looking for books that suggested ideas about lifestyle changes as well as colon health. I started reading that book and came across a reference about this book. I made a note about “Fit for Life” and forgot about it. While spring cleaning my house, I came across the piece of paper where I had written the name of this book.

    After procrastinating for quite some time, I went ahead and bit the bullet. I bought the book and am I glad. This book is perfect for a person having a lot of digestive issues. It talks about which food is good for your guts. I was eating healthy food but was not combining the ingredients properly. As I continued reading the book, I started consciously implementing the program mentioned and immediately noticed increased energy and loss of inches from waistline after a month or so. Yes, preparing the menus mentioned is a tedious task, but I never prepared the menu, just followed the simple things mentioned in the book which took less time. An excellent read would recommend this book to everyone.

Book Summary

  1. Nutrition specialists Harvey and Marilyn Diamond prove that it's not only what we eat, but also when and how that keep us trim and healthy. America's #1 health and diet book.
    Buk · Jul 22, 2018 · Updated Sep 28, 2018

    Share Book

Loading...