Buk
Get-Your-Mind-Into-Life-book.jpg

Get Out of Your Mind and Into Your Life ebook

3.2/5, 3.2 from 13 reviews
Author:
by Steven C. Hayes (Author), Spencer Smith (Author)
ISBN:
1572244259 (ISBN13: 978-1572244252)
ASIN:
Buy this Book
The New Acceptance and Commitment Therapy (A New Harbinger Self-Help Workbook).
Get-Your-Mind-Into-Life-book.jpg

Recent Reviews

  1. nataaliacorrea
    Not worth the time and effort
    1.5/5, 1.5 out of 5, reviewed Oct 30, 2018
    How would you feel if you get kicked on your rear after undergoing surgery on your buttocks? Well, I got the same feeling when a person gave me this book while I was battling depression. The book is a joke on the ACT. Its exercises are very childish. The reasons for hating this book are many - a dry writing style, too many examples (which themselves are stupid) and an ill-defined content.

    I read nearly three-fourths of the book and then just junked it. Even if you are down in the dumps, please avoid reading this book. It is not worth the time and effort.
  2. Choclate Oxygen
    Wrongly titled
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Oct 25, 2018
    Steven Hayes’ “Get Out of Your Head and Into Your Life” is not your regular book. In fact, it is not a book---it is a bloody damn workbook. Steve should have named his book, “A workbook on ACT….” or something like that. It does state at the top in tiny prints that it is a workbook, but it should be in the title, in bold prints. You can read this with a physical book, but in the online version it is not at all clear.

    I have to admit, I wanted to get an informational book, but I ended up getting a workbook. I will give it back and get a new book.
  3. DaBomb
    A book for bookworms
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Oct 18, 2018
    I love reading a self-help book, just for the fun of it. I had heard rave reviews about Steven Hayes’ book (a different one), so when this book came into my library, I decided to loan it. It was the biggest mistake of my life. I tried hard to understand what was written in the book. A few things made sense, but a majority of them went over my head. Mind you, the concept is excellent, and I have no issues with that. My only gripe is the way it has been written. The questions were a big bore. I was thrilled when the due date for submitting the book came up. This book is good for bookworms, not for people like me.
  4. Biker
    Changed my life
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Oct 12, 2018
    Get Out Of Your Head and Into Your Life has changed my life. A few years back, I was in a state of depression from a failed marriage and loss of job. I had turned suicidal and was looking for ways in which I could end my life. My situation was so bad that I could not afford medicines, forget about a psychotherapist. Finally, my friend (who has since become my wife) took me to one of the topnotch psychotherapists in the town for a single session. Since I was not in a position to afford his fees, he suggested me to read this book and to call if any help was required.

    With the book in hand and support of my friend, I started the long and arduous journey back to reclaim my life, and in the end, I did it. It has been nearly four years since I have been free of depression and my life has taken a turn for the good. With a loving wife and a stable job, I am looking forward to continuing on my journey. This book enabled to me get untangled from the various cobwebs that were present in my head and helped me destroy the negative thinking that had engulfed me. Thank you, Steven Hayes, for this beautiful gift.
  5. Circus Brain
    An honest attempt but it seems lacking the allure
    2.5/5, 2.5 out of 5, reviewed Oct 8, 2018
    Get Out Of Your Head and Into Your Life by Steven C. Hayes is an honest attempt. It essentially is cognitive behavioral therapy having a different label. This book was dry and pedantic, which is a no-no for a self-help book. Yes, the book does contain a few useful exercises, but even that becomes a bore after some time.

    Truth be told, this book seems to lack the allure and aura of a self-help book. I won’t recommend this book to my friends or family or even colleagues who are experiencing some crisis and need help to get back on the feet emotionally. There are much better books out there than this.
  6. Tulip Bed
    too wordy and vague content
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Oct 5, 2018
    The ACT is a good theory, and one can get many benefits from it, but there is an issue in the way in which ACT has been presented in this book. I have to say that the book was too wordy for my liking. The content was also somewhat vague and ill-defined. It is not necessary that all books on mindfulness and self-help should be wordy. This writing style destroys the very aim of writing this book – make a person understand his problem and work on them.

    Another thing that irked me a lot was the presence of questionnaires, in fact too many of them. Whenever I was doing these questionnaires, I was wondering aloud, “Why the hell is it here in the first place?” The examples provided were also ridiculous and pointless.

    You can read much better books on the ACT by other authors that are available out there in the market.
  7. Masterpiece Eyes
    Took a lot of effort to complete the book
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Sep 30, 2018
    This book set the record for the most time taken by me to complete a book. It took me eight painful months to finish the book. The main reason was the tedious nature of many sections. I read it, could not make any sense of it and then had to reread it, repeating this cycle a few times for most of the sections. The writing style was dull and drab, and at some places did not make any sense. This book relies heavily on exercises, which can get to you after some time. But not all things were terrible in this book. I liked the section on mindfulness.

    That said, one should read the works of Thich Nhat Hanh if they want to understand mind in a better manner. I am least likely to recommend this book to any of my friends or family going through emotional turmoil.
  8. CoolBlueJ
    An insightful book
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 27, 2018
    One of the wonderful book from the stables of Steven Hayes. This insightful book stands way above others when it comes to a self-help book. I am saying this because I used this book with the help of an ACT therapist. I did it for a purpose, and my goal was achieved with the help of this book. That said, you can also use it individually without any guidance, and it sure would do wonders to you also. One thing that I would stress is that the reader should aim for completing the activities since it is essential that you have a discussion with others about your thoughts, impressions, and activities.

    A highly recommended book.
  9. Drama Creator
    A fine introduction, but then peters out
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Sep 21, 2018
    I must admit that I have read many self-help books and hated almost all of them. They made me feel as if I am not worthy of my life. This book was part of my review, and so I had to read it very grudgingly.

    The book starts very nicely with a fine introduction, but then it starts petering out. Most of the stuff written did not make any sense to me. I have come across much better content in other psychology books which had mindfulness as the central concept.

    Steven C. Hayes’ book is presented in a workbook style, with readers being invited to understand the issues facing them, accept it and finding what exactly they expect out of their life. If one is committed to what they want to achieve in life, then they can easily overcome the rough times and plan for a better future.

    If you are looking at this style for addressing your issues, then this is the book for you. It offers various activities that can firmly put your life back on track. Sadly for me, this is not how I look at things. I also felt this book was very repetitive.
  10. Trucker
    A new approach towards facing issues in life
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Sep 14, 2018
    Get Out Of Your Head and Into Your Life offers a fresh approach to life. It makes us live in our mind, which means that we should not suppress emotions. We should feel them, try to learn from them, but not allow them to take hold of our life. Now that is something which I have not come across anywhere, and I have read a fair share of self-help books as part of my fight against depression.
  11. Smoothly
    Could not complete it, got bored to death
    1/5, 1 out of 5, reviewed Sep 8, 2018
    Acceptance and Commitment Therapy (ACT) is the newest kid on the block when it comes to research- and evidence-based therapy. The therapy draws its inspiration from Buddhism. The main concept in ACT is embracing mindfulness and committing oneself to live life fully. ACT also forces us to face our problem head-on and work on resolving them.

    So what it is wrong with the book?

    Well, nearly everything. There are some points which do make sense, but the author has a liking for metaphors. If you remove these metaphors from the book, then what is left is jumbled words and nothing else. It took me nearly 40 days to finish half of the book. After that, I could not go ahead and returned it.
  12. Cheer will
    A practical book
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 4, 2018
    Down in dumps and not sure where to go and what to do? Don’t have money to visit a psychologist. Need some self-help? Then this is the book for you. Trust me when I say this, this is the best practical self-help book out there right now. You can find many self-help books out in the market, but these would make you feel happy for a short period. On the other hand, Hayes’ book forces you to work on your problems and enables you to move ahead in life leaving all the negative thoughts and energy behind.
  13. cupcakes rock
    A Wonderful Book
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 28, 2018
    Get Out Of Your Head and Into Your Life is a wonderful book. The book provides a clear and detailed explanation of how the human mind’s linguistic activity is the main factor responsible for human suffering. It also shows the way to reprogram one’s thoughts that would help in removing unnecessary suffering. This book contains numerous exercises that are intended to help identify and free oneself from negative behavioral patterns, replacing them with helpful patterns.

Book Summary

  1. Acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT) is a new, scientifically based psychotherapy that takes a fresh look at why we suffer and even what it means to be mentally healthy. What if pain were a normal, unavoidable part of the human condition, but avoiding or trying to control painful experience were the cause of suffering and long-term problems that can devastate your quality of life? The ACT process hinges on this distinction between pain and suffering. As you work through this book, you’ll learn to let go of your struggle against pain, assess your values, and then commit to acting in ways that further those values.

    ACT is not about fighting your pain; it’s about developing a willingness to embrace every experience life has to offer. It’s not about resisting your emotions; it’s about feeling them completely and yet not turning your choices over to them. ACT offers you a path out of suffering by helping you choose to live your life based on what matters to you most. If you’re struggling with anxiety, depression, or problem anger, this book can help―clinical trials suggest that ACT is very effective for a whole range of psychological problems. But this is more than a self-help book for a specific complaint―it is a revolutionary approach to living a richer and more rewarding life.

    • Learn why the very nature of human language can cause suffering
    • Escape the trap of avoidance
    • Foster willingness to accept painful experience
    • Practice mindfulness skills to achieve presence in the moment
    • Discover the things you really value most
    • Commit to living a vital, meaningful life
    This book has been awarded The Association for Behavioral and Cognitive Therapies Self-Help Seal of Merit ― an award bestowed on outstanding self-help books that are consistent with cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) principles and that incorporate scientifically tested strategies for overcoming mental health difficulties. Used alone or in conjunction with therapy, our books offer powerful tools readers can use to jump-start changes in their lives.

    Share Book

Loading...