Buk
gluten-free-on-a-shoestring-book.jpg

Gluten Free on a Shoestring by Nicole Hunn

3.1/5, 3.1 from 11 reviews
Author:
Nicole Hunn
ASIN:
Buy this Book
Free on a Shoestring: 125 Easy Recipes for Eating Well on the Cheap
gluten-free-on-a-shoestring-book.jpg

Recent Reviews

  1. Julio
    Easy to follow the book
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Sep 28, 2018
    At the outright, I would like to admit that I have not gone through the entire book and have not tried all the recipes. But whatever I read, I am highly impressed. The recipes sound somewhat exotic but in reality are very simple to make. Some recipes also turned out to be great. So planning to go the whole hog and see how all the recipes would turn out. Bottom-line – excellent book and can be recommended to all those people who have dietary challenges.
  2. Cody
    A dull and drab book
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Sep 22, 2018
    I have gone through the book, and I think it is a good attempt to give families affected by dietary challenges some better alternatives. But where the book is lacking is that 125 recipes were a bit too much, and most of it did not have any photos, so I felt as if I was looking at some drab magazine. One more thing, I felt that the author was attaining a mocking tone when she talks about processors, pans, etc.

    I would not spend much money on this book.
  3. Lance
    too many steps for my liking
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Sep 15, 2018
    Gluten-free on a Shoestring is an average book. The book includes 125 recipes and hardly any pictures in it. A majority of the recipes have way too many steps in it, and I am afraid that if I miss out even a single step, the recipe would be a disaster. I have to say that some f the recipes sound great like spinach pie, etc. but the proof of the pudding is in eating it and I have not gathered enough courage to make the pudding. Maybe someday I would and then would update my review.
  4. Darren
    A boon for families affected by celiac disease
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Sep 9, 2018
    My niece was diagnosed as having wheat allergy a few months back, and my sister was going mad over wondering what to do. When I broached this subject in the office, a co-worker told me to check for Nicole Hunn’s Gluten-Free on a Shoestring. Since I did not want to spend money on something which I was not sure of, she gave me her copy as a loan. I started reading it and was very impressed by the way the author talks about various recipes and ingredients, and the recipes themselves were simple. I passed on the book to my sister who after reading it once, went ahead and bought her copy.

    Last week when I went to her house, she asked to have dinner and gave me some bread. The smile on her face was enough to let me know that the book is a super success. Yes, there can be few problems, but the joy that a person, having wheat allergy, gets while eats bread or scones is enough for my family and me.
  5. Tyrone
    An average book, but problems galore
    1/5, 1 out of 5, reviewed Sep 3, 2018
    I had got this cookbook as a gift from my colleagues when they heard that my son was diagnosed with celiac disease. I have not started cooking it yet, but have glanced over it. The overall feel of the book is good, but there are a few major problems with the book which I will describe below:

    The first problem that I have with this book is that it always asks for all-purpose gluten-free flour mix or Better Batter, but does not talk about how to make one. I think she forgot that the book talks about something called “shoestring budget.” A closer look at her blogs would show that Better Batter is one of her sponsors, so there you go….

    Nicole admits that many people who gluten issues should avoid dairy products also, but again most of her recipes include dairy products such as whole milk, butter, ricotta, sour cream, etc. To be fair on her part, she does mention swapping dairy substitutes with non-dairy substitutes. She also suggests that one can use low-fat milk, but no-fat milk is not okay. Now, this is puzzling because if she insists on low-fat milk but not ones with no-fat, then most of the milk substitutes would not work at all since they do not contain fat.

    Thirdly, I am having serious doubts if Hunn knows the meaning of frugal living. In the section where she talks about kitchen equipment, she mentions using pans by Le Creuset (it is bloody expensive), food processor for less than $150 (a fully functional and excellent processor can be bought for a one-third price), etc. She tilts towards being snobby when she says that her favorite pans are of this brand and it costs this much and favorite knife costs that much. Well, for a person who talks about preparing gluten free recipes on shoestring budget, the equipment and ingredients deliver the sucker punch.

    I have not started to try the recipes yet, but I have my doubts whether all of them or at least a few of them would turn out to be as good as the author describes in her book.
  6. Mathew
    A dull and drab book
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Aug 28, 2018
    Nicole Hunn’s tips on how to save money while preparing gluten-free food are excellent. The only problem is that it does not talk about “not” buying commercial flour mixes that are gluten-free. The second issue is nearly every recipe has all-purpose GF flour," and weirdly enough she does not name any brand, so it left up to us to break our head over it. Moreover, recipes that include flour also need xanthan gum, which knocks out any chance of using any other alternatives. The third and the biggest problem is the dull and drab look of the book. It needs more pictures. Period. Good pictures of food made from the recipes of this book could help to elevate this book to the next level. More than this book, I think one should watch her blog which has pictures and various alternative flour mixes which can be prepared by you.
  7. Jamie
    Good book, but more work needed
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Aug 22, 2018
    Nicole Hunn’s book is good to a certain extent. The recipes are simple to make, and she gives brand names of various ingredients, which is a boon. But it does not retain your attention span. For me to try some recipes, I should know how it would look. At present, it looks like some manual, which incidentally would have more drawing and pictures than the book itself.
  8. Darryl
    Still a skeptic
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Aug 17, 2018
    I felt that Nicole Hunn’s Gluten-Free on a Shoestring is not something which one should die for. The recipes are average, and I do not know why she used all purpose GF flour for nearly every recipe. I tried some recipes, and they were a mixed bag. Some tasted good, but others did not come out as planned. So in short, an average book with average recipes. And the book could have certainly added more photos.
  9. Erik
    Could have included more photos
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Aug 11, 2018
    Nicole Hunn’s Gluten-Free on a Shoestring is a good book with some excellent recipes. The only thing that stopped me from buying this book was the dreary nature of the book. It just didn’t have enough pictures. You are talking about a cookbook, so visual representation is a must. I always like to see how the dish would look like before I think of preparing it. If they add more photos in the next edition, I am going to buy one.
  10. Neil
    Great recipes
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 7, 2018
    Gluten-free on a Shoestring is a wonderful book. It contains some excellent recipes which would be a boon for people with celiac disease. The recipes would not break your bank. If you want to enjoy a guilt-free food without worrying about dietary challenges or money, then this is the book for you. Missed out the most important part….the author has included brand names of pots, pans as well as ingredients. So now we need not search Google every time we come across a new name.
  11. Jessie
    Great book for families looking for tasty gluten-free food
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jul 28, 2018
    Gluten-free on a Shoestring is what the doctor ordered for families affected by celiac disease. My daughter loves bread, and once she was diagnosed as having celiac disease, her life, as well as our life, turned upside down. She longed for bread and seeing her sad and grumpy; we also lost our longing for bread. I tried quite a few gluten free books, but they were either very complicated or gross. Most cookbooks represented what the nutritionists thought was best. It was not only boring but relied on gelatin (powdered) and many recipes needed a professional setup.

    Well, this book is different. It is a simple and useful book. It does not contain any expensive ingredients or weird admixtures, and no complicated steps. Hunn’s book turned out to be the answer that we were looking for. And for the recipes – I pulled out a crusty and flavorful loaf of gluten-free bread and the way my daughter gorged on it, brought tears to my husband’s as well as my eyes. God Bless you, Nicole Hunn!!!!

Book Summary

  1. Gluten-free cooking has never been this easy—or affordable!
    Tired of spending three times as much (or more) on gluten-free prepared foods? If you’re ready to slash the cost of your grocery bill, you’ve come to the right place. In Gluten-Free on a Shoestring, savvy mom Nicole Hunn shows how every gluten-free family can eat well without breaking the bank. Inside this comprehensive cookbook, you’ll find 125 delicious and inexpensive gluten-free recipes for savory dinners, favorite desserts, comfort foods, and more, plus Nicole’s top money-saving secrets.

    Recipes include: Apple-Cinnamon Toaster Pastries • Focaccia • Spinach Dip • Ricotta Gnocchi • Chicken Pot Pie • Szechuan Meatballs • Tortilla Soup •Baked Eggplant Parmesan• Never-Fail White Sandwich Bread • Banana Cream Pie with Graham Cracker Crust • Blueberry Muffins • Cinnamon Rolls • Perfect Chocolate Birthday Cake

    With advice on the best values and where to find them, meal planning strategies, and pantry-stocking tips, Gluten-Free on a Shoestring is your essential guide. Never fall victim to the overpriced, pre-packaged gluten-free aisle again. Roll on by—happier, healthier, and wealthier.
    Buk · Jul 20, 2018 · Updated Oct 1, 2018

    Share Book

Loading...