Buk
Governing-Global-Health-Runs-World-book.jpg

Governing Global Health: Who Runs the World & Why by Chelsea Clinton

2.8/5, 2.8 from 11 reviews
Author:
Chelsea Clinton, Devi Sridhar
ISBN:
0190253274 (ISBN13: 978-0190253271)
ASIN:
Buy this Book
Governing-Global-Health-Runs-World-book.jpg

Recent Reviews

  1. Alba
    Full of Acronyms and Jargon
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Oct 24, 2018
    Governing Global Health: Who Runs the World and Why is a book which is full of acronyms and some other mumbo jumbo….things which would not make any sense to an average reader. Truth be told, I learned a lot of acronyms after reading this book than I have learned in my whole life.
  2. Coolguy
    A good attempt that does not work
    1.5/5, 1.5 out of 5, reviewed Oct 20, 2018
    Chelsea and Devi Sridhar have made a good attempt at trying to present a picture of how things run in the global health organizations. It is an honest attempt, but I feel it was too much of theory and facts and other stuff. It does not inspire anybody to go ahead and grab a copy. They needed to put some anecdotes some speeches by eminent personalities in the world of global health, something which would have broken the monotony.
  3. Celina
    Unmitigated disaster
    1/5, 1 out of 5, reviewed Oct 10, 2018
    I was at my dentist’s office, waiting for my appointment when I chanced upon this book. Talk about coincidence. I was in terrible pain, and after reading this book, I was not able to feel anything in my head. My brain had frozen, and I thought I would be declared brain dead.

    In the nick of time, the doctor’s assistant calls out my name and I snapped out of my brain freeze. After checking out my teeth, I was suggested root canal treatment and told that I would need general anesthesia. I pleaded with them not to use anesthesia, but allow me to reread the book. I assured them I wouldn’t feel any pain.

    Waiting for my root canal treatment to see if the book works better than Novocain.
  4. Non Sane
    The title is misleading
    1/5, 1 out of 5, reviewed Oct 3, 2018
    When I saw this book at my local library, I thought it would be about some super-secret government stuff or even zombies or some health epidemic that the government wanted to hush up. But sadly, this book contains none of this stuff. It purely talks about how bigwigs in global health work and blah blah and blah.

    The only thing that I could gauge from this book is that Chelsea is a lousy writer and she desperately needs to avail the services of a ghostwriter.
  5. Crumb
    Book is not for everybody
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 28, 2018
    Chelsea’s Governing Global Health: Who Runs the World and Why is not for those people who live on Twitter. It is for those people who like reading complex ideas and multi-syllabic words. This book is an excellent resource material for all those who want to be aware of the world around them, specifically related to issues and various challenges in global health. I have to say this book is a timely one.
  6. Sgt. Traveler
    More research needed
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Sep 22, 2018
    Governing Global Health: Who Runs the World and Why talks about organizations that are involved in providing healthcare services. Though an honest attempt, I do not fully agree with the doomsday scenario that has been presented in the book. Yes, there are issues which need to be sorted out, but everything is not doomed. I think the authors would have done better if they had done more research.
  7. Porsha
    an attempt to evaluate the biggies in global health
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 19, 2018
    This wonderful book tries to provide a comprehensive evaluation of some of the biggies in global health governance like the World Bank, World Health Organization, Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, etc.

    Before I started reading this book, I had a very vague idea about global health, and the role played by these biggies. One may think that this does not connect to us or influence us, but they are wrong. The world is now a global village, and any health epidemic or illness can impact us directly or indirectly. After going through the book, I was able to understand the functioning of global health organizations and how they set their priorities, functioning of PPP (public-private partnerships) and the various challenges they face in ensuring a healthier world.

    I appreciate the fact that Chelsea and Devi Sridhar have given this subject the due respect and tried to present facts and not force their opinion on us.

    This is not a book for regular guys, but for those who are interested in reading topics that affect us at the macro level. Worth spending time on this book.
  8. angelia
    Boring Stuff
    1/5, 1 out of 5, reviewed Sep 15, 2018
    Have you ever seen a thesis paper? Well, it contains facts, the author asks some probing questions, presents more facts and then end the paper by saying “more work is needed.”

    If you want to see a paperback version of thesis papers, then Governing Global Health: Who Runs the World and Why is the book for you. It seemed like an amalgamation of the authors’ doctorate papers filled with numerous facts; credit to them, they mentioned the researchers in the preface. Also, do not go by the title, there is no secret stuff or conspiracy theory discussed here. Chelsea Clinton only tries to ask biased questions which could hint at collusion between various agencies. The only conspiracy theory (if you can say so) that you could find in the book is when authors hint that the global economy could be under the control of those people who control global health.

    I read this book twice or thrice thinking that I might have missed the point here or there since the book was not making sense to me. Well, I was wrong. I did not miss anything.

    This book is a sheer waste of money. Put your hard-earned money to much better use than buying this book. One interesting thing I noted in the book was that there was no mention of the Clinton Foundation. I think it is because they are tightfisted when it comes to spending money on global health causes. Now you know why I gave this book one star.
  9. joni
    Still trying to understand why Chelsea wrote this book
    1/5, 1 out of 5, reviewed Sep 6, 2018
    I was "gifted" this book during a function in my office. Wanting to look pleased and hide the disappointment of getting a book as a gift, I smiled and gulped my disappointment down. The next Saturday, having nothing to do and getting bored, I tried to read the book. The first three pages were interesting, but after that, it started going downhill. I read the book and reread it and then reread after a gap of 10 days. I did not do this because I loved the book, but because I could not understand a single word that was written in it.

    I think the authors tried to pull a fast one but failed terribly in their attempt. I mean this book is nothing but an effort to put in a single place all the programs run by Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, WHO and Worldbank.

    Moral of the story: Chelsea Clinton is a pathetic writer, and one should not buy any book written by her.
  10. BERT
    An excellent overview
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 29, 2018
    Governing Global Health: Who Runs the World and Why is a book that should be read by all those who are in the field of healthcare. The book is not your regular flowery stuff. It is an attempt to see the world health through eyes of academicians – How various systems works, its pros, cons, success rates, failure rates, etc.
  11. jenna
    A good attempt
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 24, 2018
    Hats off to the authors for an excellent attempt. This book might not be everybody’s cup of tea. The book talks about governance in major health organizations globally. Though the subjects were very few, I felt the data which has been provided could be extrapolated onto a bigger data set. It would be a lot better if the authors publish an updated version of this book on a regular basis. Once again, a good attempt.

Book Summary

  1. The past few decades have seen a massive increase in the number of international organizations focusing on global health. Campaigns to eradicate or stem the spread of AIDS, SARS, malaria, and Ebola attest to the increasing importance of globally-oriented health organizations. These organizations may be national, regional, international, or even non-state organizations-like Medicins Sans Frontieres. One of the more important recent trends in global health governance, though, has been the rise of public-private partnerships (PPPs) where private non-governmental organizations, for-profit enterprises, and various other social entrepreneurs work hand-in-hand with governments to combat specific maladies. A primary driver for this development is the widespread belief that by joining together, PPPs will attack health problems and fund shared efforts more effectively than other systems.

    As Chelsea Clinton and Devi Sridhar show in Governing Global Health, these partnerships are not only important for combating infectious diseases; they also provide models for developing solutions to a host of other serious global health challenges and questions beyond health. But what do we actually know about the accountability and effectiveness of PPPs in relation to the traditional multilaterals? According to Clinton and Sridhar, we have known very little because scholars have not accumulated enough data or developed effective ways to assess them-until now. In their analysis, they uncovered both strength and weaknesses of the model. Using principal-agent theory in which governments are the principals directing international agents of various type, they take a closer look at two major PPPs-the Global Fund to Fight HIV/AIDS, TB and Malaria and the GAVI Alliance-and two major more traditional international organizations-the World Health Organization and the World Bank.

    An even-handed and thorough empirical analysis of one of the most pressing topics in world affairs, Governing Global Health will reshape our understanding of how organizations can more effectively prevent the spread of communicable diseases like AIDS and reduce pervasive chronic health problems like malnutrition.

    Share Book

Loading...