Buk
How-to-be-a-woman-Caitlin-Moran.jpg

How to be a Woman by Caitlin Moran

2.8/5, 2.8 from 11 reviews
Author:
Caitlin Moran
ISBN:
0091940737 (ISBN13: 9780091940737)
ASIN:
Buy this Book
How-to-be-a-woman-Caitlin-Moran.jpg

Recent Reviews

  1. Bennie
    Book made me cringe
    1/5, 1 out of 5, reviewed Oct 8, 2018
    I hated “How to be a woman” by Caitlin Moran. I do not like memoirs, and this book is touted as one. This book focuses on cheap stuff. I do not bloody care what Moran has to say but she seems to have an opinion on everything, and it is not a good thing. One can look clever till they open their mouth. This is the feeling which I get when I read some of the sections in the book. If there was a book that was written by someone like Hillary Clinton, then I might have been interested. Even if I disagree with her opinions, at least she would be basing her opinions on some solid ground. It might surely make me think again.

    Well, that is not the case with this book. It just made me cringe.
  2. Ira
    Strong Opinions in a funny book
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Sep 30, 2018
    How to be a woman by Caitlin Moran is a touted as a funny book, and it is a funny book. There are no two ways about it. She does not stay off any “taboo” topics and talks about everything under the sun, - abortions, having babies, periods, boyfriends, etc. I enjoyed this book. My only grouse is some of the strong opinions that she takes on some sticky topics. That is a good thing, but it does not mean that all those who oppose her viewpoint are idiots. Just ignore that fact, and her book is a bestseller, if not already.
  3. Jean
    Not impressed by the book
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Sep 23, 2018
    I got “How to be a woman” from the library and glad that I did so. The book is funny, but it is not funny to poke fun at others through some inappropriate words. I felt there was subtle racism in the tone. The anecdotes are humorous, but then the author takes the moral high road and starts talking as if her way is the feminist way and that those who do not agree can go to hell.
  4. Rickey
    Moran does it again
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 20, 2018
    Caitlin Moran does it again. I am a fan of her writings in the Times. Yes, it can be a bit loud to many but for me it is okay. Coming to this book, Moran was able to merge incidences in her life with relatable stories about the way a woman would feel and how they face life. She was able to tell hilariously, the journey of a woman from cradle to infant to teenager to boyfriends to marriage to having babies, etc.

    She tells us heavens will not fall if we feel somewhat rubbish and act somewhat rubbish.
  5. Salvador
    Torn between giving excellent and average review
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Sep 16, 2018
    I have never been so confused when giving a review for a book. I have read many books in all genres and in almost all the books, I have had a clear idea about what should be my review by the time I kept down the book. Caitlin Moran’s “How to be a Woman” was a tough nut to crack. There were many places where I was rolling on the floor unable to hold my laughter. There were instances when I was telling myself “this is ME…..”

    Yet there were few instances where I disagreed vehemently with Moran’s views. The disagreements were personal, and others might not feel the same.

    Well, as I said above, I was unable to review this book and have decided to go with an average rating, mainly because the disagreements tended to weigh a little more heavily on my mind.
  6. Marshall
    A down-to-earth approach on Feminism
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Sep 11, 2018
    I have read this book and must say was blown away by how the author was able to combine serious issues with humor and present her case. Her book is funny. Period. Moran also offers a realistic take on feminism. The way the word feminism is being thrown around is something which should make us feel ashamed. But that is for another book.

    This book is a laugh riot and one needs to read this with an open mind. Rest assured, you would not be disappointed.
  7. Andy
    One of the worst books I have read
    1/5, 1 out of 5, reviewed Sep 5, 2018
    Caitlin Moran’s book tries to use humor and attempts to make a point, which by the way, I could not get. She talks about herself and how she was raised and various other things, but somebody should tell her that her book is a disaster. I have read a few books which I felt were the worst, but this book beats them all. Useless book. Best place for it is in the trash bin.
  8. Virgil
    Disappointed
    1/5, 1 out of 5, reviewed Aug 30, 2018
    I read “How To Be A Woman” and am very disappointed. I had read the previous writings of Caitlin and was never a fan of her shitty writing, too many punctuations and capitalized letters. It is not the way to write a book. Why can't she get this into her head?

    Reading this book has made me realize that her writing can be worse. Moran comes across as an irritating writer. More than annoying, I feel she thinks herself as a highly important person, so we are fed on how her upbringing was, which after some time becomes very tiresome. She believes that whatever is written in this book is a feminist fact.

    Well sorry, my lady that is not feminism. I would say her book is a tight slap on those ladies who are working tirelessly to raise the stature of women in the society.
  9. Julian
    Good book which does not take the high road
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Aug 23, 2018
    This book is for all those who take life headlong and can find humor in everything. This book is ideal for those women who can read this and laugh your ass off. This is my first of Caitlin Moran, and I must say, I am highly impressed by the way she has put forward her opinions and how she has been able to get some laughs for it.

    Be warned; this book is not a handbook of feminism or suitable for any intellectual analysis. It is just an anecdotal reflection of Moran's views and her experiences. Yes, there were few places where I did not agree with her, but then these are minor issues.

    Well those of you who are planning to read this book for knowing how feminism has evolved, then you would surely be disappointed.
  10. Sidney
    I am confused as to what the author wanted to tell
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Aug 15, 2018
    Reading Moran’s “How to be a Woman” has left me confused. I am not sure what the author was trying to say. Yes, humor is good and humorously describing some incidences is good. But in this book, the author tried to draw laughs by casual racism and trying to use humor when common sense was needed. At best, one should call it her memoirs. Here is one example of the confused state of mind of Moran. In one chapter she talks about how it is great to bear a child, but immediately after that, she talks about how it is okay not to have a baby. I would say this is a very frustrating book and one can take a pass with this book. One can spend time in a much better manner than reading this stupid book.
  11. Jamie
    An excellent way of looking at people
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 7, 2018
    Caitlin Moran’s book “How To Be a Woman” is a wonderful way of looking at women. Though most of the content present in the book is similar to many other books, what impressed me the most was the number of “OMG” moments. The book is replete with incidences where one thinks that they would also feel the same way. I will not spoil the book by divulging more secrets. Go ahead and grab your copy now.

Book Details

  1. Though they have the vote and the Pill and haven't been burned as witches since 1727, life isn't exactly a stroll down the catwalk for modern women. They are beset by uncertainties and questions: Why are they supposed to get Brazilians? Why do bras hurt? Why the incessant talk about babies? And do men secretly hate them? Caitlin Moran interweaves provocative observations on women's lives with laugh-out-loud funny scenes from her own, from adolescence to her development as a writer, wife, and mother.

    Share Book

Loading...