Buk
How-Stop-Worrying-Start-Living.jpg

How to Stop Worrying and Start Living by Dale Carnegie

3.7/5, 3.7 from 13 reviews
Author:
Dale Carnegie
ISBN:
0671035975 (ISBN13: 9780671035976)
ASIN:
Buy this Book
How-Stop-Worrying-Start-Living.jpg

Recent Reviews

  1. Sylvester
    Must have
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Oct 4, 2018
    I love this particular quote from the book – “Acceptance of what has happened is the first step to overcome the consequences of any misfortune.”

    Not only this book but I would say all books by Dale Carnegie can be totally life changing. The author has wonderfully explained how worries do not take away our troubles but what it does take away is our peace of mind. That is the most important message that the author conveys in the book.

    He has done his homework really well and explains to us the main causes of a person’s worries depending on the case studies. And the advice he gives is calming and more than enough to take all your worries away.

    People who are normal can definitely read it but I would definitely recommend it to those who are in any kind of trouble or depression and want to come out of it.
  2. WILBERT
    Not worth the money
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Sep 30, 2018
    I didn’t found the book to be really effective. I felt really good when I read it for the first time but its effects wore off too soon. And I think that could be because of the tone in which the book is written, it makes use of a persuasive voice and I find it to be not at all effective in the long run.

    The author has given umpteen examples in his books but what he has failed to mention is why it works for people. And as you go further into the book, you find his tone of writing to be all dominating and argumentative. You feel like you are doing things all wrong and that is the cause for your misery.

    So, because of all this, I think there are much better self help books out there that can actually calm you down and give you some encouragement and way better than this one.
  3. Cedric
    Strong solid book
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Sep 28, 2018
    The things he has written in his book are something we might have already heard but this book is different because all those advice are paired with good compelling stories from real life incidents. It talks about people who have taken worrying to a different level and turned their life upside down and also of those who dealt with their worries in a different manner which helped them keep it aside.

    The below advice are the ones that I will always remember and keep applying to the worrying situations in my real life:

    · Fatigues comes from being stressed and not from work

    · Becoming wise is a path. As you go on it, remember that compassionate considered responses help make life more manageable.

    · Contended life is a choice

    Whenever I am stressed out about anything, these pieces of advice are what I remember from his book and it helps me take my not so favorable situations and turn them into my favor.
  4. Jermaine
    Ok ok types
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Sep 24, 2018
    This book is alright. It did help me when I was feeling all low but only to a certain extent.

    The author claims to have worked as a salesman at one point in his life and that shows the way he speaks when trying to convince about something and the also in his style of writing. So, no matter how convincing he is trying to sound, his tone of writing it has spoilt the book royally.

    I also found him to be too proud of his abilities and I felt he relies more on these abilities of his rather than good sound information. And at a few places in the book, he sounds no better than a nagging mother.

    So, in my opinion the quality of this book is not at all up to the mark, it helped to a certain extent but was not completely effective in solving my issues. It doesn’t matter how many examples he has used or the nice language he has written it in but the book has miserably failed to cause a profound effect in me that could in turn have stirred a change in my way of thinking.

    And I think because of that there is a lot of effort I need to put in if I have to overcome the not so good situation of mine.
  5. Roosevelt
    A great read
    4.5/5, 4.5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 20, 2018
    At times, all that matters are a few words of encouragement and reassurance to get you through a rough day and make you feel better.

    The author has completely nailed it in totality. I picked this book when I was waiting at an airport. I was a total mess emotionally and would get teary even without any valid reason because of a few incidents that had happened in my life.

    So this awesome book was what helped me out during the tough times, made me stop worrying and got me moving on with my life.
  6. Pablo
    No good
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Sep 12, 2018
    I do not have a good opinion about this book at all. I have nothing against self help books, I read them all the time to keep myself motivated if I have no one around to say a few kind words to me. But this particular book is not something I enjoyed reading even a little bit.

    I bought this book because I had heard some very good things about it but all it did was make me nauseated. I simply couldn’t finish it.

    If you are looking out for self help books to get motivated, I must say this is not the apt one; there are much better pieces out there.
  7. Wilbur
    The perfect self motivation book
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 4, 2018
    I would like to call this book the “bible of self motivation”. When I bought it, I didn’t think it would turn out to be so great but I am actually happy that my mind played games with me to buy this book.

    It tremendously helped me overcome the anxiety and fear in my mind and dealt effectively with what was causing stress. I was amazed to see how the author has come up with solutions that help you overcome the state of being worried by providing solutions that are not only psychologically but also scientifically based.

    I would say everyone should grab a copy of this book and read it no matter what their state of mind is. I find it to be the best gift you can give it to your loved ones and whenever I get a chance, I gift it to whoever I can and spread the love.
  8. Omar
    Well organized
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Aug 27, 2018
    I love the way the author has organized the book. His way of writing is so clear and methodical.

    He has divided the book into 8 different parts and covered everything related to worrying, how to stop it an start living a wholesome life.

    My favorite part out of all was the one in which he explained ways and methods to keep worrying at bay when you get criticized. I can totally associate to it because I feel really down even when I face the tiniest amount of criticism.

    This sentence instantly pulled me up – Do your work as good as possible and then open your umbrella so that the rain of criticisms don’t touch you. So, that is exactly what I aim to do these days, I know I have done my best and that provides me an insulation from all the negative criticism I get.

    For me, this book is reading centuries worth of wisdom in just one single book.
  9. Kerry
    Extraordinary
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Aug 22, 2018
    Before this book, I was someone who always focused on what I did not have and naturally that made me fret about my life every single day.

    My mother gifted this book to me and I can’t thank her enough for the same because it has completely transformed my way of thinking and changed my attitude towards things.

    What touched my heart in particular was an excerpt from this book which tells you the story of man who was extremely sad that he did not have nice shoes to wear till the day he met a man who did not have both his legs. That made him realize how lucky he was and how foolish too to have been focusing on something trivial that he did not have when he was blessed abundantly with many other good things in life.

    That story made me ponder if I was doing the same thing and I got my answer. That made me have a positive take on life. And trust me, the book contains so many real life examples and stories that will make you realize how blessed you are when compared to many others.
  10. Johnathan
    Taught me a lot
    3.5/5, 3.5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 18, 2018
    I have learnt a lot from this book. It has taught me that if I need to keep my worries at bay, I need to live one day at a time and not live in the future or the past. It also taught me that no matter what happens in life, there wouldn’t be any problem without any solution.

    I have also learnt how to accept the worst of the worst situations of my life so that I can be prepared mentally and with a peaceful mind see what I can do to solve the unpleasant situation.

    Not just this, the book is a perfect storehouse to the perfect solutions to almost all problems in your life.

    But I also felt that too many repetitions about the same concept could have been avoided.
  11. Cesar
    Helped me fight my fatigue
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Aug 10, 2018
    I get really fatigued out every day and I even consulted many doctors but nothing medical could help me. Doctors couldn’t find out why I was so worked up all the time and I could think of any reason too.

    That is when one of my friend’s suggested this book and I loved the chapter on 6 ways to prevent fatigue and worry and Keep your energy and Spirits High.

    Following those 6 tips have helped me prevent fatigue and there are other tips too that has been helpful in giving me positive energies at all times
  12. Ira
    A good read
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Jul 31, 2018
    The book is too good and I think one should read it not just once but many times in life and always keep this as a back up and turn to it when feeling bad.

    If you do not want to buy the hard copy, it is easily available online and can be downloaded free of cost.

    The book provides great insight on how to deal with different kinds of situations that you encounter in your day to day life instead of worrying about them.

    I have been able to combat my stressful situations and turn them to my favor because of this book and I firmly believe each one of you will be able to do the same with the help of this book.
  13. Rickey
    A great book for self motivation and self realization
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Jul 23, 2018
    We all know that it is not just our circumstances but also our attitude towards them that makes us happy or unhappy. But how many of us consciously realize this and apply the same in our day to day lives. That is exactly we need books like these because they help us understand things that we might already know.

    The same was the case with me too. I had to take the help of this book to take control of my circumstances and deal with them because the way I reacted to those circumstances was the determining factor of how I felt.

    This guy rocks and I think he has a wonderful way of influencing people with his words and making them feel better. The below is my major take away from this book:

    · What worry does- It is not good

    · Don’t argue with reality

    · Don’t cry over spilt milk

    · Decide and totally rock it

    · Live one day at a time

    I would say one should read this book at least once in their lifetime.

Book Summary

  1. Summary
    Learn how to break the worry habit -- Now and forever!
    With Dale Carnegie's timeless advice in hand, more than six million people have learned how to eliminate debilitating fear and worry from their lives and to embrace a worry-free future. In this classic work, How to Stop Worrying and Start Living, Carnegie offers a set of practical formulas that you can put to work today. It is a book packed with lessons that will last a lifetime and make that lifetime happier!
    DISCOVER HOW TO:
    • Eliminate fifty percent of business worries immediately
    • Reduce financial worries
    • Avoid fatigue -- and keep looking young
    • Add one hour a day to your waking life
    • Find yourself and be yourself -- remember there is no one else on earth like you!

    Fascinating to read and easy to apply, How to Stop Worrying and Start Living deals with fundamental emotions and life-changing ideas. There's no need to live with worry and anxiety that keep you from enjoying a full, active life!
    Buk · Jul 17, 2018 · Updated Oct 4, 2018

    Share Book

Loading...