Buk
How_to_Talk_to_Anyone_book.jpg

How to Talk to Anyone: 92 Little Tricks by Leil Lowndes

2.5/5, 2.5 from 13 reviews
Author:
Leil Lowndes
ISBN:
007141858X (ISBN13: 9780071418584)
ASIN:
Buy this Book
92 Little Tricks for Big Success in Relationships
How_to_Talk_to_Anyone_book.jpg

Recent Reviews

  1. Lester
    An okay book
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Sep 29, 2018
    Leil Lowndes’ How to Talk to Anyone is OK. There is nothing great or revolutionary about it. To all those are wondering what the book is about, well let me give you a brief outline:

    How to talk to anyone follows a distinct pattern: The author will tell a short story about friends or family or an anecdote about the “little trick” that she would give, gives a tip and then teaches on how to use that tip in any conversation. The abridged version has 62 “little tricks” in it, so if one what to listen to banal anecdotes, then this book is for them. Others can pass this book.
  2. Rick
    A plain boring read
    1/5, 1 out of 5, reviewed Sep 22, 2018
    At the outset, I must say that I am not blaming anything or anybody. I am just talking about what I am feeling after reading this book.

    How to talk to anyone by Leil Lowndes is a plain boring read. The stuff mentioned in this book can be easily searched on the net, and they would be much better. A few might find the book useful, but there is no scientific evidence and no understanding of the term communication, just shallow references.
  3. Ricardo
    Despite some gems, a cringe-worthy read
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Sep 19, 2018
    I have read Dale Carnegie's How to Win Friends and Influence People, and I have read Leil Lowndes’ How to Talk to Anyone. I must say that Leil’s book expands the points mentioned in Carnegie’s book. Some of the ideas can be considered as useful tips, but having said that, some of the points are pretty redundant and can be done away with. Though I started reading with full enthusiasm, after some time, I reached a point where I was skipping most of the anecdotes as the tips started becoming downright cringe-worthy.
  4. Shane
    Neat little book
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Sep 14, 2018
    Leil Lowndes’ How to talk to anyone is a neat little book containing some solid tips that can help in improving communication skills of a person and allow them to talk to anyone. I felt that compared to other books in the self-help genre, this book did not appear to be very preachy. It was not trying to redefine the word communication or bringing complicated stuff into the communication process. Overall, a nicely done book.
  5. Hector
    Book loses track
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Sep 10, 2018
    I heard the abridged audiobook version of “How to talk to anyone,” and I am thankful to God that I did so. The book was good in its initial stages where it gave some good advice, but as it went on, I felt the book got derailed from its stated premise and ended up dishing out stupid and cringe-worthy suggestions. Even in the abridged version, after it hit the 25 or 26th tip mark, the whole thing started sounding bad. One sincere advice to those who are hearing or reading the book: listen to or read the book till you hit the 30th tip mark, then stop.
  6. Glen
    Can hear this book if you are bored and have nothing to do
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Sep 5, 2018
    If you are bored to death and could not think of anything that could pep up your life then go ahead and listen to this book. Or you can do what I do - hear this book when I go for a jog. The tips or “little tricks” are helpful to only those people who need to start from the basics. These are not intended for people who can at least strike a conversation. Some tips were obvious, so these were just a reminder, and a majority of other did not make any sense to me.
  7. Clyde
    An average book that could have been a notch higher
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Sep 1, 2018
    How to talk to anyone by Leil Lowndes has some neat tricks sprinkled here and there. I can recall some but not sure if there is anymore. I heard this book when I was spring cleaning my house, so half of my concentration was on cleaning ( that tells you how much I liked the book).

    These neat tricks are, unfortunately, the only good thing that is present in the book. If one needs to be a better communicator, then they can easily do so by talking to people (friends, family, etc.). One need not spend money on buying the audiobooks.
  8. Roberto
    A good overall read
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Aug 25, 2018
    I agree with most of the readers who said that this book needs some serious downsizing. But that said, this book does contain some real gems that can help a person to become a better communicator. The author should have tried to limit some advice that she dishes out to certain people/situation. The book, on the whole, is a good read. An insightful book that is not only beneficial to the entire business community but also beneficial to every single person who wants to be a successful communicator in their life.
  9. Vernon
    Avoid reading this book
    1/5, 1 out of 5, reviewed Aug 17, 2018
    I always felt that 50 Shades of Grey was the worst book that I had read in my life. But I am sorry, this book has been left far behind by “How to Talk to Anyone” by Leil Lowndes. This book is a pain to read. One can count on fingertips the number of interesting points in the book. It is few and far between. Upon reading this book, I felt it was the manual on how to become shallow in life and how to treat everything selfishly and only help others if it is of any benefit to you. The author boasts about herself and how she benefitted from some poor person who helped reach her home from the airport.

    Last time I checked we were still a society that believed in helping people selflessly. As if these “little tricks” were not enough, she also reads them to us in the most annoying voice that I have heard in my life. Avoid reading this book if you want to improve your relationships.
  10. Maurice
    How to Talk to Anyone Sucks
    1/5, 1 out of 5, reviewed Aug 10, 2018
    How to Talk to Anyone sucks.

    The only way one could benefit from this book is if they have zero social skills and have grown up from an infant to an adult person without going through childhood or teenage years.

    Leil Lowndes’s 92 little tricks have three common traits - absurdly shallow, lacking in common sense or too simple to be true. The author's tricks are, in other words, crap. One does not need to spend money on reading a book filled with “tricks” that can be easily found on the internet. The beauty of content available on the internet is that one need not be stuck with useless, stale and banal anecdotes. I find it amazing that people can write crap and sell them and earn millions from it. And this book is a perfect example of what I was talking about. The author, I am sorry to say, does not have any real qualification to talk about improving a person’s communication and got plain lucky with her books.

    To be frank, these are things which should not matter much to me, but what got my goat was that most of the tricks told by the author are very manipulative and shallow. The tips do not have any depth. It does not answer any questions on ways to deepen a personal relationship or address any relationship problems. It just tells us to be plastic and go on with life as if nothing has happened. If one wants to build a better relationship, then there are numerous other books available online which are much better than this.
  11. Herman
    A good book compared to peers, but still needs massive downsizing
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Aug 6, 2018
    I always deprecated the manner in which most of the self-help books talked about ourselves. This book is somewhat better. However, this book could have been helped with a massive downsizing. I felt the book needn’t require 92 “little tricks.” It could have done with 40 or 50 “little tricks.” I have my doubts on whether this book offers any new “tricks” or any groundbreaking suggestions that could positively impact a person. I felt some of the “little tricks” were very obvious, but hey that’s me. Maybe others might feel it is potentially beneficial.
  12. Corey
    The best place for this book is in the trash bin
    1/5, 1 out of 5, reviewed Aug 3, 2018
    I hate most of the self-help books because these books try to transform us into someone whom we are not. This book adds to the long list of these types of useless book. I got this book from a friend, and I am happy that I did not spend money on getting this book. The tips mentioned in this book talks about climbing the social and corporate ladder not by your hard work and efforts, but by manipulating influential people. Some of the sections in the book like "tit for tat" was pathetic. I do not think it is good manners to think of helping people in hopes of getting repaid. This book has tried to kill the friendly and selfless nature of Americans. The best place for this book is in the trash bin.
  13. Zachary
    Highly impressed with this book
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jul 29, 2018
    Self-help books have rarely impressed me, and my hands never reached out to these types of books. But “How to Talk to Anyone” was different. This book kept on calling out to me and finally I could not resist the temptation and went ahead and got this book. I am happy that I bought this book. My interest in “How to Talk to Anyone” mainly stemmed from reading previous books of Leil Lowndes. I am into real estate, and I felt that the way I approached people was not bearing fruit and I was looking for some help in building an effective communication strategy. This has succeeded to some extent after reading the book, and I am now learning more tricks which would help me become a star in my field. A big shout out to Leil Lowndes for authoring this excellent book.

Book Summary

  1. How to Talk to Anyone Book Summary and Information

    "You'll not only break the ice, you'll melt it away with your new skills."
    -- Larry King

    "The lost art of verbal communication may be revitalized by Leil Lowndes." -- Harvey McKay, author of "How to Swim with the Sharks Without Being Eaten Alive"

    What is that magic quality makes some people instantly loved and respected? Everyone wants to be their friend (or, if single, their lover!) In business, they rise swiftly to the top of the corporate ladder. What is their "Midas touch?"

    What it boils down to is a more skillful way of dealing with people.

    The author has spent her career teaching people how to communicate for success. In her book How to Talk to Anyone (Contemporary Books, October 2003) Lowndes offers 92 easy and effective sure-fire success techniques-- she takes the reader from first meeting all the way up to sophisticated techniques used by the big winners in life. In this information-packed book you'll find:


    9 ways to make a dynamite first impression 14 ways to master small talk, "big talk," and body language 14 ways to walk and talk like a VIP or celebrity 6 ways to sound like an insider in any crowd 7 ways to establish deep subliminal rapport with anyone 9 ways to feed someone's ego (and know when NOT to!) 11 ways to make your phone a powerful communications tool 15 ways to work a party like a politician works a room 7 ways to talk with tigers and not get eaten alive.

    In her trademark entertaining and straight-shooting style, Leil gives the techniques catchy names so you'll remember them when you really need them, including: "Rubberneck the Room," "Be a Copyclass," "Come Hither Hands," "Bare Their Hot Button," "The Great Scorecard in the Sky," and "Play the Tombstone Game," for big success in your social life, romance, and business.

    How to Talk to Anyone, which is an update of her popular book, Talking the Winner's Way (see the 5-star reviews of the latter) is based on solid research about techniques that work!

    By the way, don't confuse How to Talk to Anyone with one of Leil's previous books, How to Talk to Anybody About Anything. This one is completely different!
    Buk · Jul 23, 2018 · Updated Oct 1, 2018

    Share Book

Loading...