Buk
Mayo_Clinic_Guide_to_a_Healthy_Pregnancy-book.jpg

Mayo Clinic Guide to a Healthy Pregnancy

3.4/5, 3.4 from 10 reviews
Author:
Roger Harms, Myra Wick
ISBN:
1893005607 (ISBN13: 978-1893005600)
ASIN:
Buy this Book
Mayo_Clinic_Guide_to_a_Healthy_Pregnancy-book.jpg

Recent Reviews

  1. Mai
    Some good information
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Nov 8, 2018
    One cannot completely trash Guide to Healthy Pregnancy. Yes, it does list out some rare complication that neither you nor any of your family member might encounter, but then why take a chance.

    The book does have a weekly guide to pregnancy as well as some monthly exercises. There is information about symptoms and problems that one can get. However, the book does not have a detailed explanation, and I found some of the advice mentioned to be too rigid and almost impossible to follow.
  2. Maura
    Avoid it to have peaceful childbirth
    1/5, 1 out of 5, reviewed Nov 2, 2018
    I was gifted this book during my baby shower and have to admit that I did not read the book at all. I had previously glanced over the book at one of my friend’s house and knew what the book contained. While the book had some good information, I could not understand why it had some of the rarest and some of the most unlikely complications that an expectant mother can have. Sincere advice to all the expectant mothers – PLEASE AVOID THIS BOOK. There are much better books that one can read.
  3. Queen
    Felt the book was too rigid
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Oct 27, 2018
    I went through the book. My initial reaction was the book is good. But as I started reading it in detail, I felt many of the advice written were too rigid. I found it a bit surprising when I read people feared “What to ………” I felt that expectant mothers should fear reading this book.

    I also found that the information given in the book was not research-based because the book does not offer any documentary evidence for many of the claims that are made in the book.
  4. Cherry
    repetitive, but very informative
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Oct 20, 2018
    Mayo Clinic’s Guide to Healthy Pregnancy is a good book for pregnant ladies. Though some of the content gets repeated, the book has some wonderful information when it comes to various pregnancy stages, answers to common questions, changes that happen to your body as well as your baby…..you name it, a section is present for that in the book.

    This book is a must-have for all future mothers!
  5. Karyn
    A good guide for pregnancy
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Oct 11, 2018
    When I heard that I was pregnant, I was thrilled and called up my husband, and during our talk, I told him I am both excited and worried. A week later, the doorbell rang, and there was a parcel in my name. When I tore the cover, I realized I was holding Guide to Healthy Pregnancy by Mayo Clinic. My husband sent it. I love you sweetie for it!!!

    Coming to the book, I agree it is dated, but it contains everything that a pregnant woman would ask for or worry about. The content is written in simple English and well organized. It does not fall into the traps that other books in the same genre fall. The book does not take sides or scares you.

    The symptoms guide was handy and helped me avoid numerous unnecessary trips to the hospital. A good guide for pregnancy.
  6. Katheryn
    A straightforward book that does not go deep
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Oct 4, 2018
    Guide to Healthy Pregnancy from the stables of Mayo Clinic is an easy-to-read and a straightforward book. It performs the role of a reference book for practically any problem that you might encounter during pregnancy. However, I felt the part which talks about pregnancy was informative but too dry. By dry, I mean there is not much detailed info in each section. That said, the book does not waste space on unnecessary things either.

    My only issue with this book is that in the present day and age and with technological advancements at least in the field of obstetrics, this book is not worth spending your money on. You can get much better information on babycenter.com.

    All in all, a book that I would not spend my time and money on.
  7. Millicent
    Complements “Your Pregnancy Week by Week”
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Sep 28, 2018
    All those who have read the Mayo Clinic’s Guide to Healthy Pregnancy would agree with me when I say that the book complements "Your Pregnancy Week by Week." While the latter talks about the nitty-gritty of physical growth happening in the mother’s womb, and possible complications and symptoms, Guide to Healthy Pregnancy takes a broader look over the entire period of pregnancy, yes you heard it right--- whole pregnancy period.

    Guide to Healthy Pregnancy has additional information such as what to expect when the child is brought home, information about bottle feeding and breastfeeding, etc.

    Almost forgot, the book also contains a chapter on various symptoms that a pregnant woman might have to face and how to address those issues on her own and when to seek medical help.
  8. Phoebe
    A good book with excellent diagrams
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 20, 2018
    This book has some excellent advice and information. The closest competitor that I can think of for this book is “What to Expect When You're Expecting.”

    My fav has to be diagrams. They are awesome. The guide has actual-sized diagrams that depict the development of a baby from week 6 to 12, which is superb. I do not think that even the Internet can match this. Might be wondering what after week 12? Well, the guide has monthly drawings which have notings about scale. The book also talks about pain relief, both natural and medical. I have to say that this is the best explanation that I have come across. Other books, in comparison to Mayo’s guide, only talks about narcotic pain relievers that are commonly available.

    PS: I did not go through every section, especially the C-Section since I was 100% sure on the way I would deliver my child.
  9. Beryl
    Easy to understand, suited for layman
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 13, 2018
    I have read Mayo’s Guide to Pregnancy during my pregnancies and thanks to it; I was able to deliver three healthy babies. The highlight of this guide is the language. It is written in plain English which makes it easier for women like us to understand what is written and implement those things that are useful to us.
  10. Katina
    A useful book on pregnancy
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 2, 2018
    Mayo Clinic’s Guide to Healthy Pregnancy is a comprehensive and helpful book …..or shall I say a reference manual for a healthy pregnancy. It is a must have for all those mothers who want a deliver a healthy child in the safest manner possible.

Book Summary

  1. This new Mayo Clinic book on pregnancy provides you with practical information and reassurance on pregnancy and childbirth. Compiled by Mayo Clinic experts in obstetrics, it offers a clear, thorough and reliable reference for this exciting and sometimes unpredictable journey.

    This comprehensive book includes: A month-by-month look at mom and baby, In-depth "Decision Guides" to help you make informed decisions on topics such as how to select a health care provider, prenatal testing options, pain relief for childbirth, and many others, an easy-to-use reference guide that covers topics such as morning sickness, heartburn, back pain, headaches and yeast infections, among others, information on pregnancy health concerns, including preterm labor, gestational diabetes and preeclampsia, along with an overview on being pregnant when you have pre-existing health conditions such as asthma, diabetes or hyperthyroidism.

    Share Book

Loading...