Buk
Prevent_and_Reverse_Heart_Disease.jpg

Prevent & Reverse Heart Disease Diet Book by Caldwell Esselstyn

4.2/5, 4.2 from 13 reviews
Author:
Caldwell B. Esselstyn Jr
ISBN:
1583332723 (ISBN13: 9781583332726)
ASIN:
Buy this Book
The Revolutionary, Scientifically Proven, Nutrition-Based Cure
Prevent_and_Reverse_Heart_Disease.jpg

Recent Reviews

  1. Lucas
    Book highlights some inconvenient truths
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Oct 8, 2018
    I was happy when I got this book. I took this book from the library in the hope that I would gain some insight into the world of coronary artery disease, but after reading the book, I am shit scared. The book highlights how dairy, oil, and meat can play havoc with our body, heart in particular. After reading this book, I have cut down on meat, oils and have started to include a lot of vegetables in my diet. I hope it is not the case of too little too late.
  2. Earnest
    A book endorsed by none other than Bill Clinton
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Oct 4, 2018
    Esselstyn’s book is a must-read. With the nation caught in the cardiovascular disease epidemic, this book can be life-giver. I have always felt that heart diseases can be restricted and even eliminated if we follow a healthy diet. The book vindicates my stance.

    That the diet is hugely popular can be gauged by the fact even Bill Clinton follows the diet, and he is happy with it, so we all can follow it.
  3. Guillermo
    Minor flaws notwithstanding, the book is a good read
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Oct 1, 2018
    To be frank, the book is not great literature, but the author is very passionate about what he says. I am sold to the idea except the fact that he does not want us to use oils. That is daunting, to say the least. No meat, no issues – turned vegan long time back. No dairy, can handle it. But no oil, now that is a bit problematic.
  4. Colin
    Wonderful Book
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 25, 2018
    I read this book as a part of my thesis. It is a wonderful book and had lots of interesting information. I was impressed by some of the wonderful photos included in the book. I was amazed to see the kind of changes in the coronary arteries of people who followed this diet. The book also has some excellent recipes that are suitable for all dietary habits, dairy, no dairy, vegan, vegetarian; you name it, there is a recipe for you.
  5. Delbert
    an interesting read
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Sep 22, 2018
    Caldwell Esselstyn’s book makes for an interesting read. He advocates following a strict diet which comprises of no meat, not nuts, no oil, no dairy. No moderation is allowed in this diet. Now, this is something which caught my goat. If you remove that issue, the book is good and contains some wonderful information which can go a long way in helping us to lead a live a healthy life.
  6. Loren
    A good read
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Sep 15, 2018
    Caldwell Esselstyn, Jr., M.D. through his Prevent and Reverse Heart Disease offers a simple formula to have a healthy heart. The formula is straightforward – No dairy, no meat, fish or poultry, no oils, and no nuts. That is a good suggestion and something which can be replicated without any major issues. In a world where there are many claims and counterclaims, some which border ridiculousness, this book comes as a sort of fresh air. The only problem though is the claim by Esselstyn that “moderation kills.” Now that is stretching things a bit far.

    The book is divided into two parts. In part one, Esselstyn presents his case which surprisingly is very lucidly written. Technical stuff is also well written. Of particular interest are the various anecdotes and case studies (sometimes oversimplified). The only flaw in the book – repetitiveness. You could get the gist of the book by reading the first few chapters.

    Part Two of the book is more practical. One needs to read the introductory chapters which again details the dietary restrictions and offers means of following them. Rest of the book is filled with recipes ( too many of them, if you ask me).
  7. Robin
    A revolutionary book that is a repetitive
    3.5/5, 3.5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 10, 2018
    Caldwell B. Esselstyn Jr.’s book is innovative in its approach. One quote that comes to my mind whenever I think of this book is, "Why is changing someone's diet so radical when cutting someone open is considered conservative?" That is very true. Even before I started reading this book, I was living a sort of vegan diet (I avoid dairy products after a health scare, and I hate red meat since I was a child). That said, I think it seems impossible that my family would be too happy to give up their eggs and chicken.

    However, this book is not without its flaws. The book tends to be repetitive at many places, and it certainly could have benefitted from the services of a professional editor.
  8. Dominic
    A bit too revolutionary for my liking
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Sep 6, 2018
    Esselstyn’s book offers lots of excellent information, as well as statistics. The information, if implemented would do a world of good to your heart. However, I feel that his ideas are very extreme. Even though it might be wonderful to eat a diet only on plants, deriving all your dietary requirements of proteins, fat, etc. from plants is stretching it a little bit. The strict no-no for any oil is also very extreme. If you want to switch to this diet, then you have to get your entire family on this diet because preparing food based on this diet exclusively for a single person can make people go mad. But I must say that some of the recipes do look very tasty, and I am waiting to prepare them.
  9. Ed
    An updated book would have done a world of good
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Aug 29, 2018
    “Prevent and reverse heart disease” is an excellent book and a good read. I have a lot of respect for Dr. Esselstyn since I've watched many of his documentaries. The only issue with this book is that this book is very dated. If the doc had added recent changes in medicine, then I surely would have loved the book. The doctor also recommends using non-stick pans, which I find a bit worrisome since it can release toxins and that can harm us. Apart from that, the book is useful.
  10. Gerardo
    An exciting book
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Aug 23, 2018
    Esselstyn’s Prevent and Reverse Heart Disease is an exciting book. However, this book fails when compared to "How Not to Die." The book does have some wonderful photos of unblocked arteries. But that is it. The book has lots of useful information, but I cannot say the same about the recipes. I feel that things might turn out bland if we do not use any oil.
  11. Felipe
    Everyone should read this book
    3.5/5, 3.5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 19, 2018
    Prevent and Reverse Heart Disease by Caldwell Esselstyn should be read by all those who are concerned about their health, especially their heart. I borrowed this book from the library and was blown away by the sheer amount of content as well as recipes included. A person who has spent nearly 20 years in treating patients surely knows what he is talking.

    Dr. Esselstyn has extensively studied various populations such as Northern Mexico’s Tarahumara Indians, Papua New Guinea’s Highlanders, people from Central Africa, and rural China who follow a plant-based diet. This diet has ensured that the number of heart ailments in these people is next to zero.

    My only complaint against this book is the number of recipes present in the book. While having numerous recipes is good, but dedicating nearly half of the book on the recipes is somewhat excessive. All in all a good book, if you ignore the number of recipes.
  12. Jonathon
    a great book
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 11, 2018
    My doctor always says (jokingly, of course) that if you have serum cholesterol that is well below 150mg/dL, then you are immortal. This is not a random figure but one which was drawn from Framingham Heart Study, the foremost study when it comes to heart diseases. Dr. Esselstyn's book should be read in this context. The book contains a lot of important information. I was amazed by so many recipes that one could have, and if one uses the one recipe a day, then we would taste the same recipe after many days.

    Dr. Esselstyn’s book in a way complements many other studies. The book tells us that one does not need to undergo procedures or take many pills. One needs to change the diet to a plant-based and oil-free diet, completely avoiding or excluding meat and dairy consumption. This particular diet is beneficial in reversing not only heart ailments but diabetes also. This book is a must-have addition to one’s library.
  13. Geoffrey
    This book is WOW
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 6, 2018
    Prevent and Reverse Heart Disease by Caldwell Esselstyn is WOW! My wife and I have been following a vegan diet for quite a few months now but used olive oil liberally. After reading this book, we have cut back on its use. This diet has helped us to reduce weight, and when the labs returned, all our parameters are well within the reasonable limits. This book just validated our approach to a healthy diet. I’d say this book should be a must read for every individual.

Book Summary

  1. Prevent and Reverse Heart Disease challenges conventional cardiology by posing a compelling, revolutionary idea-that we can, in fact, abolish the heart disease epidemic in this country by changing our diets. Drawing on the groundbreaking results of his twenty-year nutritional study, Dr. Caldwell B. Esselstyn, Jr., a former surgeon, researcher, and clinician at the Cleveland Clinic, convincingly argues that a plant-based, oil-free diet can not only prevent and stop the progression of heart disease, but also reverse its effects.

    Furthermore, it can eliminate the need for expensive and invasive surgical interventions, such as bypass and stents, no matter how far the disease has progressed. Dr. Esselstyn began his research with a group of patients who joined his study after traditional medical procedures to treat their advanced heart disease had failed. Within months of following a plant-based, oil-free diet, their angina symptoms eased, their cholesterol levels dropped significantly, and they experienced a marked improvement in blood flow to the heart. Twenty years later, the majority of Dr. Esselstyn's patients continue to follow his program and remain heart-attack proof.

    Prevent and Reverse Heart Disease explains the science behind these dramatic results, and offers readers the same simple, nutrition-based plan that has changed the lives of his patients forever. In addition, Dr. Esselstyn provides more than 150 delicious recipes that he and his wife, Ann Crile Esselstyn, have enjoyed for years and used with their patients. Clearly written and backed by irrefutable scientific evidence, startling photos of angiograms, and inspiring personal stories, Prevent and Reverse Heart Disease will empower readers to take charge of their heart health. It is a powerful call for a paradigm shift in heart-disease therapy.

    Share Book

Loading...