Buk
Radical-Taking-Faith-American-Dream-book.jpg

Radical: Taking Back Your Faith from the American Dream

3.4/5, 3.4 from 8 reviews
Author:
David Platt
ISBN:
978-1601422217
ASIN:
Buy this Book
Radical christian book.
Radical-Taking-Faith-American-Dream-book.jpg

Recent Reviews

  1. Crunchy Crunch
    One of the best books that I have come across
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Oct 28, 2018
    David Platt’s Radical: Taking back your faith from the American Dreams is one of the best books that I have come across in recent times. Though it was published way back in 2011, I was able to lay my hands on this beautiful book only recently.

    Platt has been able to present the Gospel in such a way that makes you cringe and ask yourself why and what took you so long to follow the path of Gospel. Reading the book made me uncomfortable, made me realize where I was going wrong in my life. Read this excellent book; you will become a changed person. A truly phenomenal and inspirational book.
  2. Block Beauty
    Theologically Misinformed
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Oct 15, 2018
    This book has some good points, but they are few and far between. My first impression after reading this book was how a person who has traveled across the world with church leaders could get it so wrong. I felt Platt was theologically misinformed, and pandered to American guilt which requires that any American who is privileged has to give up all their possessions and join the path of Christ. According to Platt, evangelism is and should be the only purpose of our life. Oh, also add to that list mission trips. We are not following gospel life if we are not going on these trips, especially to impoverished countries.

    I agree with the fact that American consumerism has gone out of control, but tarring everybody with the same brush is not proper. Yes, there could be black sheep among us who are not willing to give what they can give up but claiming that every American Christian is like that is entirely incorrect. Even though the intention was noble, I am not sure if I can recommend this book to others. All in all, a theologically misinformed and unbalanced book.
  3. Pureed
    My life got a new direction
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Oct 5, 2018
    Besides the Bible, this is one of the highly influential books of my life. My life was revolving around things that were not only materialistic but also ended up ruining my personal life. There were many ideas which I felt were true, but Platt through his book Radical went about destroying them one by one. After reading this book, I thought I was going in the wrong direction. Now I have decided to rededicate my life to Christ and follow his footsteps.
  4. Happy Saint
    An average book that delves on guilt
    3.5/5, 3.5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 29, 2018
    Every few years, some pastor or another Christian author would come out with a book that would ask American Christians to be more committed to following Christ. This book should be considered as one of them. David Platt tries to market his book with a greater emphasis on guilt. You should give up this, give up that, etc. He also favors shunning materialism. However, this book is an average read with only a few interesting sections. My three stars are for the way the book challenged my thinking.
  5. Hypnosis
    Laudable passion, but the power of Spirit hardly makes a presence in the book
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Sep 25, 2018
    One has to give it to David Platt. He follows his passion with a zeal. But the way he serves it up in the book leaves a bad taste. He uses the language of obligation and responsibility instead of thankfulness and grace. He believes in the ethics of guilt, not ethics of loving Christ and doing service in his name. Platt might think that one can transform heart through guilt, but it is not so. One can only change people through love. Sorry to say, David Platt’s Radical does not figure power of the Holy Spirit and love for Christ. One can pass this book.
  6. Knight
    Things are not so black and white
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Sep 15, 2018
    I agree with David Platt that a majority of American Christians are driven by consumerism, and it is high time that we trace back our path to Jesus. The only gripe I have with David Platt is that he seems to show that life is black and white. He emphasizes a lot on giving and nothing else. However, modern life is not that easy. There are grey areas also in a person’s life, and one has to understand that before trying to force them to give. A nuanced viewpoint that focuses on how giving can create jobs for people and how it would help to keep the families intact would have been better.
  7. Kitty
    Deeply disappointed with this book
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Sep 2, 2018
    I have read a few other books of David Platt and have been highly impressed with his hold over the theological matters. When I heard that Radical is up for grabs in my library, I made a dash for it. Feeling excited about having a copy, I eagerly started reading it, but by the time I reached the middle pages, I started getting bored. It will be an understatement if I say that I am deeply disappointed with this book.

    I want to start the review with some positives that I found in this book. The book does challenge me, and I enjoyed some sections of the book. The author offers criticism of American Christianity, which I found to be valid. As Platt said, we practice our religion with an undue emphasis on comfort and prosperity courtesy the famed American Dream. Some of his words indeed echoed what I always felt about the way we practiced our religion.

    However, as I went ahead with the book, I felt let down by the privilege and paternalism, which Platt seemed to have based his assertions on. Here are some of the key criticisms of Radical:

    • I felt that Platt has a myopic view of American Christians. His definition of an average American Christian is limited to people whom he interacts with in his megachurch – well-educated, wealthy, employed, and either married or getting ready to be married. While interacting with these people, Platt is ignoring the diversity that thrives within American Christianity. He also conveniently forgets those American Christians who are struggling with economic disparities.
    • While Platt accepts that he was not previously concerned with the poverty that was prevailing in the world, he tries to justify this by explaining that being rich is not a crime and it should not be considered wrong if a person is rich. According to Platt, trying to fulfill the material needs of a person should not be our main priority. Well, you are wrong Platt. It should be our top priority. If we can even reduce the material needs of the poor by half, the world would be a much better place to live, and I think even Jesus would love that.
    • It seems Platt has overestimated the power of conducting mission trips to highly impoverished areas. Though the missionaries do great work and I respect them for that, I will say it becomes a lot easier to make people who are under-educated and less privileged agree with your beliefs. This is easier because we tend to lure them with desperately-needed services and supplies.
    • I also hate placing too much emphasis on evangelism. My family nor I believe that God would hate all those who have not heard Good News or are born in different faiths.

    To sum up-, I am happy with the way the book challenged my thinking, but I was deeply disappointed with the kind of privileged and patronizing style of Platt’s book.
  8. Deirdre
    A truly awakening book
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 26, 2018
    Thank You, Lord, for this beautiful book.

    This is one book which should be in the houses of every devout American Christians. I know many would read this and many may not, and that is the major problem that we are facing. We are not ready to address our issues.

    The book also contains five specific suggestions, and I am sure that most of the readers might fulfill one or maximum two or three, but nobody would do all the five. This list would also include me. That said, this book has awakened me spiritually and brought me up from the moral cesspit that I had fallen into.

Book Summary

  1. WHAT IS JESUS WORTH TO YOU?

    It's easy for American Christians to forget how Jesus said his followers would actually live, what their new lifestyle would actually look like. They would, he said, leave behind security, money, convenience, even family for him. They would abandon everything for the gospel. They would take up their crosses daily...

    BUT WHO DO YOU KNOW WHO LIVES LIKE THAT? DO YOU?

    In Radical, David Platt challenges you to consider with an open heart how we have manipulated the gospel to fit our cultural preferences. He shows what Jesus actually said about being his disciple--then invites you to believe and obey what you have heard. And he tells the dramatic story of what is happening as a "successful" suburban church decides to get serious about the gospel according to Jesus.

    Finally, he urges you to join in The Radical Experiment -- a one-year journey in authentic discipleship that will transform how you live in a world that desperately needs the Good News Jesus came to bring.

    Share Book

Loading...