Staff
Strong-New-Skinny-Maximize-Power-Jennifer-Cohen.jpg

Strong Is the New Skinny

3.6/5, 3.6 from 14 reviews
Author:
Jennifer Cohen
ISBN:
978-0804140515
ASIN:
Buy from Amazon
How to Eat, Live, and Move to Maximize Your Power
Strong-New-Skinny-Maximize-Power-Jennifer-Cohen.jpg

Recent Reviews

  1. patrica
    Contradicting and not clear
    3.5/5, 3.5 out of 5, reviewed Oct 25, 2018
    My idea behind buying this book was I wanted to include weight training during my work out sessions, which were restricted to cardio and yoga. The fitness part of the book is amazing but at the same time I found the nutrition part to be quite restrictive and in my opinion beginners may find it really hard to follow the diet.

    Many a times I also found that the author was contradicting herself. In the beginning she emphasised a lot on the importance of having a healthy and a balanced diet and in the diet she prescribes, there are lot of restrictions and one can have only a handful of food items.

    At one place, she says that it is important to lose body weight slowly so that it doesn’t take a toll on your body but her restrictive diet can be called a fad diet which helps in rapid weight loss.

    Moreover, I also found the exercises in the book to be really confusing. There are photographs but still I felt it is not explained well enough for a beginner.
  2. esperanza
    Fierce diet; not for me
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Oct 15, 2018
    The book is great and a very interesting read. The exercises mentioned in the book are also amazing and totally solid. I think a person like me could have managed the exercise part. But what shook me back to senses when I thought I could follow this book was the strict diet the author wants her readers to follow.

    It is a very fierce diet with just 7 power foods and for a week a person has to survive on unlimited greens. I would really like to meet people who can do this. I definitely do not think it is for me. Since I know myself very well, I also know that I am not fierce enough for such a fierce diet.
  3. trudy
    Best lifestyle improvement book ever
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Oct 9, 2018
    I am fitness freak and I keep reading books that address fitness. So, from my experience of having read various books on fitness, I would like to say that this book, Strong is the new Skinny has tonnes of good information. The author has done her homework very well and has come up with this book that can help anyone achieve their fitness goal.

    The author stresses on the importance of eating right and talks about exercising and lifting weights. Plus there is also a self-assessment that helps you track your fitness goals so that you know where exactly you stand. Well, somewhere I did not like this self-assessment thing much because it always reminds me that I am lagging behind. But at the same time, it helped me not be complacent with what I have achieved and be honest with my efforts.

    So, it is a great book not only for those who want to lose weight but also for those who want to know about fitness so that it can be incorporated into their daily life. I have gifted this book to many of friends on different occasions and I definitely recommend it.
  4. nell
    My savior
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Oct 5, 2018
    I had tried everything under the sun that I was aware of to shed a few pounds but I had failed miserably even after trying so much. I spoke of my woes to a guy who I had befriended at the gym and he suggested that I buy this book and try following it as he had seen it working for many people he knew.

    I decided to heed to his advice and bought a copy of this book on my way back home and go onto it right away because I was tired of being overweight all the while.

    Let me share a sample menu from the book here:

    Breakfast: Greek yogurt smoothie with spinach leaves, berries, chia seeds and coconut water.

    Mid morning snack: A cup of black/green tea and a medium sized apple.

    Lunch: Salads with as many greens as possible with olive oil and lemon juice dressing.

    Post lunch snack: A bowl of yogurt and a fruit

    Dinner: Any lean meat baked or grilled cooked with minimal amount of oil

    This intense diet has to be followed for a month after which there is some amount of relaxation on the diet. The diet will continue to be healthy but since the detoxification process is over, it gets a lot more easier.

    Lunches start including some amount of complex carbs that are not empty calories but are filling for the stomach and healthy at the same time.

    Now, lets see the exercise part:

    There are different exercises mentioned in the book and one can choose what suits them the most. I preferred doing High Intensity Interval Training because it burns a lot of calories in less duration of time. 30 minutes of HIITS, I am all sweaty and done with the day’s workout.

    So, I think it is a very wholesome book with so many suggestions and one can definitely find what suits them the most and opt for it. And it is especially helpful for the beginners because the author has done a good detailing that gives you step by step process of what needs to be done.
  5. dina
    Not up to the mark, lot of scope for improvement
    1/5, 1 out of 5, reviewed Sep 28, 2018
    The book started off on a great note and I thoroughly enjoyed reading the beginning of the book. There are loads of information that can change the way you think and the way you look at health and how diet and exercise are an integral part of staying fit and healthy.

    But the book is not up to the mark in many places. Although the book talks about making significant changes in the way people eat, important information about the diet like the total amount of carbs, proteins and fat are completely missing.

    Also, there are a few workouts where the descriptions are quite confusing, especially for a beginner like me. And when I thought of taking the help of pictures to understand what is written, it was not good enough to explain everything.

    Plus, the exercise write up has no information about the muscle groups that are being worked upon. And detailed description about many exercises that are mentioned in the routine are not given described. I think it should have been else it becomes difficult for beginners like me.

    I am happy that I found this book in the library. If I had bought it, it would have been a big disappointment for me. I don’t think this book can actually help people out.
  6. dorothea
    High motivational
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Sep 21, 2018
    Strong is the new skinny is one of the most inspirational, motivational and experience based book which is the best guide I have ever read for women who are looking forward on leading a healthy lifestyle.

    I picked it up because of the compelling title and of course the picture of the strong female body on the cover of the book that impressed me in totality. When I started off with the book, I was only curious to know the contents of the book and was not keen on learning the exercises or following a healthy diet but as I read on I realized that I could actually follow many of the things written for a healthy body and a healthy mind.

    And the most important lesson I learnt from the book is that one’s focus should be on being strong and not being physically skinny because being strong is the new skinny.
  7. jillian
    Loved it
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Sep 10, 2018
    When I finished reading the book, I felt as if I have worked with a beautiful and fit lady fitness trainer for years and she knows me in and out and what exactly I am capable of. She is friendly with you but when it comes to fitness, she means business.

    I loved the way and I especially appreciate the manner in which the book has been structured. The author ensures that before you start off, you have the right mindset and helps you gather all that you need to be fit in an easy yet firm way.

    I think this book will be a lot more meaningful to those people who are in short of motivation to continue their fitness journey and keep up the good work they have been doing all this while.

    I most certainly recommend this book and it is definitely a comprehensive and a well made guide to shift your focus on achieving physical and mental strength and not just be skinny.

    If you are doing it, the author urges you to do it the healthy way.
  8. fay
    Good for both beginners and experienced
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Sep 2, 2018
    I bought this book when I decided to start off on a fitness journey and maintain a healthy lifestyle. So, I have a long time association with the book and I am still following it because it has a lot to offer not just for the beginners but also for the experienced.

    So, in short I would say this book is my fitness bible.

    The book simply does not focus on losing weight and getting you all thin and skinny but it makes you tread a path towards identifying your weaknesses and make them as a building block for your strengths.

    The book talks about eating right, maintaining a good and healthy lifestyle and keeping your body active so that you can make the most of what your body is capable of.
  9. jewell
    A must fitness read
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Aug 30, 2018
    I would like to talk about this book by dividing it into 2 halves; the first half of the book emphasizes on starting off on the right foot and gives you a generalized information about various aspects that help you have a healthy life.

    The second half of the book focuses on various exercises and gives you complete instructions for proper workouts. Apart from the instruction, there are amazing pictures of the workout and a good short write up about them that will make your job easier.

    And the book has a lot of other great things to offer which I do not remember correctly. I am gonna go through this book again and this time I am going to take notes and maintain a diary so that things become easier for me.
  10. polly
    Loved the author’s attitude
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Aug 21, 2018
    It was the title of the book that attracted me to it. It is not about losing weight and turning into a stick or about losing weight and attaining the right figure to attract men.

    The author has a very different attitude towards all this and has written this book with a fresh perspective and that’s what I liked the most about this book. I also feel great to see that it is a woman who has taken the initiative to write this book and push many women across the globe to do the right things to their body by bringing about changes in their diet and exercise.

    I love the information she has come up with respect to food and fitness and I would definitely recommend this book to every lady I know.
  11. cherie
    Focuses on overall health and not just weight loss
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Aug 15, 2018
    This piece on health and fitness spoils you for choice; there are tonnes of good information, out of the box workouts that are great along with photographs that work as a wonderful assist to beginners.

    The author has a healthy attitude towards losing weight and that reflects in this book that she has written. She focuses on overall health and strength of a person that just simply losing weight. I have read many weight loss books prior to reading this one and I must say it is practical, comprehensive and a great switch from those usual ones.

    The explanations for the exercises mentioned in the book are to the point and the photos that used are simply terrific. I had some difficulty in following the nutritional info but when I got a hang of it, I could see that part was covered too.

    Overall, the book is simple and easy to follow, practical but not boring at the same time. I am very thankful to God that I came across this book and it helped me out in many ways.
  12. debora
    Could get better
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Aug 7, 2018
    I felt the book to be good on the whole because of the magnificent information that it covers. But I don’t think it merits a 4 or a 5 star rating because of the below pointers:

    1) There is absolutely no mention of how the diet can be made adaptive for vegetarians and vegans. I think the author completely forgot about that aspect. A friend of mine, who is a vegan bought this book and disappointed with the diet plan because it did not talk about how and with what she could replace those non-veg food items to suit her needs without having to compromise on the nutritional value.

    2) The exercise instructions are also not up to the mark. There should have been more detailing and explanation in words and the photographs should have been more in number and demonstrate each step and they could have been of clearer resolution.

    Just because it lacked in these two areas, many people who I know, including me found it extremely difficult to make sense out of many things written in the book.
  13. rosetta
    Absolutely in love with the book
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jul 31, 2018
    There is nothing that I did not like about the book. It helped me unleash my inner potential and educated and empowered me to get healthy and fit. It was my source of motivation and inspiration when I felt low and bad about being overweight.

    After I read this book, losing weight became my second priority and being healthy became the first one. It is written in a very simple tone and easy to understand language and talks accurately about nutrition and making the right lifestyle choices.

    The simplicity of the book was something else that I really liked. It is totally honest and straightforward. The author has also included workout plans, pictures and assessments for the reader’s convenience.

    I loved the book and it not only helped me lose weight (still going on) but it was also an eye opener for me when it comes to healthy lifestyle choices.
  14. tamika
    Positive positive and positive
    4.5/5, 4.5 out of 5, reviewed Jul 26, 2018
    Let’s just talk about the positives because in my eyes the book is all positives and just one negative.

    The book contains diets that are real and caters to an individual’s nutritional needs. The lifestyle and fitness programs are also those that can be easily done by a common man without any level of complexity in them.

    The points below summarize the positives of the book:

    · The book helps you discover your true potential, your energy, vitality and power.

    · It conditions your brain and helps you develop mental strength and resilience that one would need at every point in their life.

    · It helps develop new and strong muscles, enhances your speed and flexibility.

    · Your back, core, legs, arms are strengthened

    · HIITs help you lose fat the smart way without having to spend hours and hours at the gym

    · Helps you start your fitness journey by introducing you to seven super foods for the seven days of a week.

    The only place where I felt the book lagged behind was in the clarity of workout pictures and the not so good enough explanation about each workout. It is completely alright for a person as me who is already into all this and is accustomed with the workouts but I felt for those who are beginners, it is not good enough. If this aspect would also have been out of the world like the rest, I would have given it a 5/5.

    Well, if your question is whether I would recommend it to a loved one, I definitely would because the book contains some priceless information and I wouldn’t want anyone to miss that.

Book Summary

  1. EANER, STRONGER, FITTER…FASTER
    Sick and tired of hearing what’s wrong with you and your body? You’re not alone. It’s time for a new conversation—and a new plan for treating, feeding, and moving your body in ways that build on your strengths inside and out. Strong is sexy. Strong is powerful. Strong is achievable.

    With STRONG IS THE NEW SKINNY you can say goodbye to body-bashing and physical faultfinding, and instead learn to embrace, not just how it looks, but what your body can do—from pushups to pull ups and box jumps to rope climbs, nothing is out of your reach. Strong Is the New Skinny offers a reality-based diet, lifestyle, and fitness program (the “SINS” plan, for short) so you can:

    • Maximize your potential, as well as your energy, vitality, and power.
    • Train your brain—develop resilience and mental fortitude in every area of your life.
    • Add muscle, increase speed, and enhance flexibility.
    • Strengthen your arms, back, core, and legs—and crank up the challenge when you’re ready for the next level.
    • Torch fat with Strong Moves: a series of heart-healthy H.I.I.T. workouts that take as little as 10 minutes.
    • Kick-start your Get-Fit, Get-Fierce plan with the Strong Seven—7 days of 7 power foods.

    Whether you’re just getting started or training for a challenging physical event, this book gives you all the tools you need to become leaner, fitter, and stronger: nutritionally, physically, psychologically, and emotionally. GO HARD OR GO HOME…

    Share Book

Loading...