Buk
Superfoods-Medicine-Future-book-David-Wolfe.jpg

Superfoods: The Food and Medicine of the Future by David Wolfe

3.4/5, 3.4 from 10 reviews
Author:
David Wolfe
ISBN:
1556437765 (ISBN13: 978-1556437762)
ASIN:
Buy this Book
Superfoods-Medicine-Future-book-David-Wolfe.jpg

Recent Reviews

  1. georgeyves
    An okay book
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Nov 4, 2018
    David Wolfe’s Superfoods is an okay book, at best a one-time read. The thing that got my goat with David’s book is that foods that have less commercial value are relegated into the background. For instance, chlorella, spirulina, coconut oil, nutritional yeast can also be considered as a superfood. The focus is on cacao and maca since these have more commercial value.

    If you want unbiased information about superfoods, then please read Susan Smith Jones’ work on the same subject.
  2. Angel Lamb
    the book felt like promotional material
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Oct 31, 2018
    I have read David Wolfe’s works for more than a decade now, and I would be lying if I say that I did not like his works. However, I felt Superfoods came across more like promotional stuff interspersed with some historical anecdotes.

    Unlike his other books, Superfoods is cringeworthy. I had a hard time trying to understand and digest his book. Many chapters present in the book felt like it was promotional material for food that was being discussed. A reference to his company is also I believe, “purely coincidental.”

    Yes, the book does have a little bit of useful information, but if one wants to read about nutritious food, then try reading New Whole Foods Encyclopedia by Rebecca Wood's for content that does not have bias and has more detailed information.
  3. Engaged Guilty
    it is a book about self-promotion
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Oct 23, 2018
    Superfoods could have done away with the horrible self-promoting photo and self-promoting content. IMHO, there is nothing called a particular superfood. Every food is a superfood, and it is the way we take it that matters. That said, some of the stuff was interesting to read. One can pass this book since most of the content can be got from the internet for free.
  4. Crashtest
    interesting book bogged down by self-promotion
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Oct 14, 2018
    Superfoods by David Wolfe is an interesting book. The only thing that bogs down this book is the glamorous photo of David Wolfe, which according to me takes away the seriousness of the topic, and his self-promotion which is persistent. While many of Wolfe’s claims have been backed scientifically, but there are few “facts” that Wolfe talks about being supported by internet research (cross-referenced), so one has to take this with a grain…no pinch….no a ladle of salt.
  5. Patriot Next
    Repeated information, but still somewhat useful
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Oct 6, 2018
    The information present in Superfoods repeats itself, mostly avoidable (since a particular nutrient would perform the same role in whichever food it is present). While reading the information about the superfoods, I felt that I was reading information booklet of Sunfood (Wolfe’s company). That being said, the information presented is good and knowledgeable and offers a stepping stone to those who want to delve deep into the world of superfoods.
  6. Leather leader
    An educational book that is fun to read
    3.5/5, 3.5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 29, 2018
    I love those books which try to impart education in a way that does not tax your brain. Superfoods by David Wolfe falls under this category. It is an educational book that was fun to read. In my opinion, it takes a lot of guts to talk to and teach people about new foods and their nutritional power because people have some entrenched views when it comes to what they eat and unless scientific data backs these, people won’t budge from their belief.

    David Wolfe in Superfoods talks about foods which are highly nourishing and promotes good health. History of each superfood is given, as well as how much to buy and some recipes that include these superfoods. An excellent book that would have got five stars, if it wasn’t for the self-promoting photograph of David Wolfe.
  7. WarriorInPain
    A quick read, did not find anything worthwhile
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Sep 21, 2018
    I read this book four years ago, and the last read was around two weeks back. My review then and now remains the same - A quick read, but not able to find anything worthwhile.
  8. how tobe indie
    A few foods should not be given too much importance
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Sep 13, 2018
    Of late, there has been a big craze over superfoods and how it is going to change the world and how it would revolutionize the way we eat our food. I do not support that argument. In my humble opinion, superfoods has been given too much importance, and while it can provide increased health and vitality, it can never replace the fresh local produce and other things essential for living a holistic life.

    Coming to Superfoods, the book is a one-time read. I was not able to find anything useful in this book, but that may be because I already knew 80% of the content that is present in the book.
  9. Cool bubble
    Excellent Book
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 3, 2018
    I have read some of the books by David Wolfe, and Superfoods takes it a notch up. The guy is an entrepreneur, so some reference to his company is expected. But this one flaw does not take out the charm of this book. An easy read, Superfoods contains lots of information that are not easy to find. I have started including them in my daily life to become and remain healthy.
  10. Camille Grammer
    Good informational book
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 26, 2018
    Superfoods has a lot of excellent information, which can be included in our daily life without affecting our regular diet. In fact, superfoods help in enhancing our health and enables us to meet our nutritional requirement without taking in too much calories. Since reading this book, I have started adding some of the superfoods in my diet, and I have seen a lot of improvement in my health. That said, I have not included all the superfoods as recommended, because besides taste, cost also plays a significant role and some of the superfoods mentioned is well out of my reach.

Book Summary

  1. Superfoods are vibrant, nutritionally dense foods that have recently become widely available and which offer tremendous dietary and healing potential. In this lively, illustrated overview, well-known raw-foods guru David Wolfe profiles delicious and incredibly nutritious plant products such as goji berries, hempseed, cacao beans (raw chocolate), maca, spirulina, bee products, and a host of others.

    As powerful sources of clean protein, vitamins, minerals, enzymes, antioxidants, good fats and oils, essential fatty and amino acids, and other nutrients, they represent a uniquely promising piece of the nutritional puzzle. Each superfood is described in detail, accompanied by easy and delicious recipes. This accessible guide presents persuasive arguments, based on sound science, for the pivotal role of superfoods in promoting nutritional excellence, health and well-being, beauty enhancement, sustainable agriculture, and the transformation of diet, lifestyle, and planet.

    Share Book

Loading...