Buk
Ten_Things_Every_Child_with_Autism_Wishes_You_Knew-book.jpg

Ten Things Every Child with Autism Wishes You Knew

4/5, 4 from 11 reviews
Author:
Ellen Notbohm
ISBN:
1935274651 (ISBN13: 978-1935274650)
ASIN:
Buy this Book
Ten_Things_Every_Child_with_Autism_Wishes_You_Knew-book.jpg

Recent Reviews

  1. Robert
    A must-have in every household
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Oct 29, 2018
    Notbohm’s book should be a must-have in every household. Though the book talks of autistic children, I feel some of the ideas can be implemented for all the children across age groups. An easy read, this book gives good insight into various challenges that an autistic child has to deal with and how we, through a little bit of understanding, can help them.

    With more and more children being diagnosed with ASD, I fear that a day is not far away when every American would either have a loved one with autism or know a person who will be suffering from autism. During those desperate times, this book can serve as a boon for them.
  2. Edwina
    Good concept, but the explanations are boring
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Oct 19, 2018
    Ellen Notbohm’s book is a good concept. However, I feel that some of the explanations were stretched way too far and bored me to death. These explanations, in fact, demotivated me, and I ended up longing for a non-expanded version of this book.
  3. susana
    A great handbook, but still something was missing
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Oct 15, 2018
    Ten Things Every Child with Autism Wishes You Knew is a great book that helps us deal with special children. I am a firm believer of the fact that those parents who deal with these special children are in fact, special parents. The book is insightful and talks about autism in general.

    That being said, I felt the book was missing something. I am not able to pin any particular point but got this feeling after I completed reading the book. Maybe it is only my feeling and others may not feel the same, but something was truly lacking in the book.
  4. jana
    A Good Book
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Oct 8, 2018
    This book should form the stepping stone of an independent and productive adulthood for an autistic child. The book shows the world how to deal with these special children and how love and recognition to their efforts can make their day and make them more confident.
  5. GILBERTO
    Good book, but the tone put me off
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Oct 2, 2018
    The book Ten Things Every Child with Autism Wishes You Knew had some wonderful information and helped me learn more about autism. What put me off was the way in which the author was self-promoting herself and making other parents with autistic child feel short with their child’s upbringing.
  6. Stanley
    Useful for everybody
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Sep 28, 2018
    I started reading this book to know autism better, and I felt that the book ticked all the boxes. Most of the stuff mentioned in the book can be applied to normal children also. Apart from the self-promoting tone, there is hardly any flaw in the book. It is a quick read and a must-have in every household that deals with autism in any form.
  7. Kiss me tenderly
    An excellent book
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 21, 2018
    Ellen Notbohm’s Ten Things Every Child with Autism Wishes You Knew is an excellent book. It gives us a general overview of autism and how to deal with an autistic child. My nephew has got autism spectrum disorder, and sometimes I find it difficult to connect with him. This book has made my task of gelling with him easier. I gifted it to my sister, and she gives a copy of this book to every new teacher in my nephew’s school, which has been helping everybody - Robin (my nephew), my sister and his teachers.

    I have to admit the book surely packs a punch when it comes to dealing with the challenges of autistic children.
  8. Natalia
    Claims are not backed up by facts
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Sep 15, 2018
    A short book of around 110 pages, Ten Things Every Child with Autism Wishes You Knew is valuable when it comes to learning about autism. Yes, it does not cover the disorder in detail, but it is a good beginning. The only flaw with this book is the fact that the book claims a few things, but these are not backed up by studies. When it comes to sensitive subjects like autism, giving off-the-cuff advice could be detrimental to the family.

    However, this book acts a stepping stone when it comes to dealing with children with autism since it has been written by a mother of an autistic child. The book offers the parents a different perspective (from the eyes of a parent) than its contemporaries. One can sense the love that the author has for her child throughout the book, and which again makes it different from other books that deal with autism. However, as mentioned earlier, lack of statistical evidence for the claims makes me give this book three stars.
  9. Marci
    Informative, but tone not helpful
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Sep 11, 2018
    Ten Things Every Child with Autism Wishes You Knew is useful and informative. My only beef is the tone of the author. I felt offended the way the author went on to describe herself as a perfect mother to her child. By her tone, it meant that only she knew how to raise an autistic child and other parents were dumb.

    That said, if you overlook this aspect, then the book is a gem. The title of the book would have been more convincing if an autistic person wrote it. But I am not sure if any book like that has been written; at least I have not come across any book.

    All in all, a book worth reading.
  10. X mysterious X
    An wonderful piece of work
    4.5/5, 4.5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 3, 2018
    Since my wife comes from a family where autism is a constant presence, this book felt like godsend to me. I was unable to comprehend how to deal with some of the family members due to my lack of knowledge about autism. This book, however, has helped me to mingle with them. What I liked the best about Ellen Notbohm was the fact that she never gave up on her son and believed in him, which I think is the important thing for an autistic child. The moment they realize that we believe in them, the way they start interacting undergoes a radical transformation. A must-read.
  11. Sheree
    An insightful book
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 26, 2018
    Wow! That is the first thing that came into my mind after reading Ten Things Every Child with Autism Wishes You Knew. My boyfriend’s youngest son is adorable but suffers from ASD (Autism Spectrum Disorder). I was searching for a book that would help me in understanding him better when I stumbled upon this book in my library. A nice easy read, the book was very insightful and helped me to learn a lot about autism. Thanks to the information gleaned from the book, I am now very close to Austin and spend hours playing with him. Thank you, Ellen, for such a wonderful book.

Book Summary

  1. Winner of an iParenting Media Award and Honorable Mention in the 2005 ForeWord Book of the Year Awards! Every parent, teacher, social worker, therapist, and physician should have this succinct and informative book in their back pocket. Framed with both humor and compassion, the book defines the top ten characteristics that illuminate the minds and hearts of children with autism.

    Ellen's personal experiences as a parent, an autism columnist, and a contributor to numerous parenting magazines coalesce to create a guide for all who come in contact with a child on the autism spectrum. Don't buy just one of this book- buy one for everyone who interacts with your child! Give the gift of understanding.

    Helpful chapters include:
    My sensory perceptions are disordered Distinguish between won’t and can’t I am a concrete thinker. I interpret language literally Be patient with my limited vocabulary Because language is so difficult for me, I am very visually oriented Focus and build on what I can do rather than what I can’t do Help me with social interactions Identify what triggers my meltdowns
    Tags:

    Share Book

Loading...