Staff
4-hour-body-workout-program.jpg

The 4 Hour Body Diet & Workout by Tim Ferriss

3.3/5, 3.3 from 16 reviews
Author:
Timothy Ferriss
ISBN:
030746363X (ISBN13: 9780307463630)
ASIN:
Buy from Amazon
An Uncommon Guide to Rapid Fat-Loss, Incredible Sex, and Becoming Superhuman
4-hour-body-workout-program.jpg

Recent Reviews

  1. Marvin
    Definitely Helpful
    4.5/5, 4.5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 30, 2018
    I think 4 hour body diet is the best non-fictional book I have read this year. The book is definitely more than readable and the author has done a great job including a lot of good anecdotes and humour in order to keep it interesting for us readers.

    And you do not need a lot of convincing because every single thing he claims or says had a scientific back up for it.

    People may label him a fraud for all those claims he has made but in my opinion every single thing he has mentioned in the book makes sense to me. And there are some really gross experiments he has done like weighing his poop but since I am sure I am never gonna do that, I simply chose to brush it aside.

    So, take what you want and dismiss the rest!
  2. RANDAL
    Love this book
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Sep 24, 2018
    “Avoid all methods with a high failure rate” – Timothy Ferriss

    I initially bought the kindle version of this book as it simply popped up there and I think because I never thought one could get a perfect body in like 4 hours. But the title of the book intrigued me and the book’s popularity made me curious too.

    Turns out I had judged a book wrong by its cover. The guy has put down some very interesting methods of losing weight and gaining muscle in an entertaining manner.

    But most of this book is written from a man’s perspective and the whole aspect of sex focuses on a man satisfying his partner. But in my opinion his method of learning about women is controversial in some manner.

    The diet part of the book is good but I felt it is a lot similar to Atkins diet. Plus there should have been more info on the same and a variety of food choices. The guy has kept it really simple, nothing fancy at all. So all you get to eat are vegggies, meat and fish in any form you want while avoiding all kinds of white carbs, sugars and dairy.

    He talks a lot about supplements too but I think it is useful only to those who are keen on taking it and honestly I don’t believe in taking supplements.

    I feel the author could have included more slow carb recipes and put things in a less confusing manner. I say this because when you read it more than once you realize each chapter is written with a different goal in mind. For example, going vegan is encouraged for one particular reason and if you want to sleep properly you have to follow a different kind of a diet.
  3. Alton
    No good
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Sep 20, 2018
    It’s a good book. It helped me lose a lot of weight quickly. I have never seen a progress this good with me. I lost 5lbs in a week’s time and it was not difficult. I had this energy pumped up in me because of the change in my diet. It is right when people say, you are what you eat.
  4. Bennie
    Its true!
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Sep 19, 2018
    This book was recommended by one of my friends after she went on the diet mentioned in the book. I was sceptical about the 4 hour concept initially because I already had metabolic syndrome, was on statins for a very long time and felt it all had to with genetics; at least most of it.

    But still having bought the book, I thought of giving it a try. So, I went to store and got all the necessary stuff and followed the plan 6 days a week and the 7th day I ate like a pig and drank like a fish. This continued for 6 weeks post which I got my blood statins tested. The results were much better than what it used to be previously and generally I felt a lot better. I felt light and had this energy to go about with things.

    So, the author’s claims about the effects on cholesterol are completely true. I know it sounds crazy but it is true.
  5. Rudy
    Love the book
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Sep 15, 2018
    I love this book because it made my distant dream come true really fast. I followed the protocol and I was surprised to see I had lost significant amount of weight in a very less time.

    It improved my sex life too to a great extent and I gained muscles too. It also helped me recover from an injury.

    I would have given it 5 stars but I take one star away because the sleep manipulation did not work for me at all.
  6. Marco
    Cant thank the author enough
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Sep 9, 2018
    I weighed 250 pounds 2 and a half years back. I put my firm foot down and decided to do something drastic so that I could lose the excess weight I had put on because of careless eating. My sister already knew someone who was on a low carb diet and she had seen it work wonders on her.

    I bought this book, I read it and I asked myself if I could do it. I decided I could and there was no looking back since then. I lost 100 pounds in a year and in another 6 months, I lost 50 pounds.

    So, there is nothing special you need to buy, nothing that could burn a whole in your pockets. Everything listed, you can buy it very easily from the stores and you can take the supplements if you want to but I did not and that didn’t affect my results at all.

    I can’t thank Tim Ferris enough for writing this book and changing my life forever.
  7. Archie
    Nice read
    3.5/5, 3.5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 27, 2018
    The book is an absolutely enjoyable read. It is not just about facts and processes. It is in fact very inspiring and there are a lot of potential action items one can do. I wish I had read this years ago but better late than never.

    I would definitely recommend it and if you really follow it, then I bet this one book is more than enough to transform your life
  8. Randolph
    It does work
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Aug 22, 2018
    This works!

    I was all thinny munny till one point of my life but then as age caught up, I started gaining weight at a steady pace. I was happy initially but then the weight kept on adding up and I overgrew my clothes.

    Since then I have been trying all kinds of diets, most of which failed and fads. But this book did the trick. I lost weight and I maintain it too without feeling all food deprived. My overall well being has improved so very much.

    Thank you Tim Ferries!
  9. Gerardo
    not for me
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Aug 16, 2018
    I would have given it one star or no star at all because sadly it did not work for me but I give 2 stars because I know people for who this worked quite well.

    Currently I have been on the diet for like 4 weeks along with a good workout regimen but I haven’t even lost 1% of my body fat. I made a strong analysis and there is nothing wrong I could find out in what I am doing.

    I have strictly adhered to it with absolutely no results and I am highly disappointed. I wish at least I could have my money back.
  10. Jonathon
    Amazing book
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Aug 12, 2018
    I am overweight; one of those extremely obese guys you get to see once in a while. I underwent surgical procedures and underwent routines to lose some amount of weight.

    But compared to all that, it is 4 hour body diet by tim ferriss that helped me go from fat to almost fit. If you think it is some kind of miracle cure, then you are wrong.

    The whole book is extremely motivating and if you are overweight like me, all you need to do is focus on your weight loss and body sculpting.

    Additionally, the kettlebell swing is a total killer. One should never miss doing it in my opinion.
  11. Jaime
    I am not sure
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Aug 7, 2018
    I am not completely sure if the whole process mentioned in the book with respect to diet and everything else would be accurate for everyone else out there. What suits and works for one need not necessarily work for another one in the same way.

    The whole book is based on the experiments the author has conducted on himself under a controlled methodical process. I read the book thoroughly and I have my own doubts if the same thing would apply to me because each one of our bodies have different needs.
  12. Isaac
    Could be better
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Jul 31, 2018
    This is one of the badly written books I have read in my life. I can’t believe I have to actually skim through the whole book to search for a topic that I want to read. There are many amazing topics that are covered in very interesting ways but its just that I felt it could have been written better.
  13. Sidney
    A fantastic book
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Jul 26, 2018
    It is a great book with a fantastic take. I was thoroughly impressed with the book and I immediately knew this was what I was looking for all this while.

    And that paid off! I lost 10% of my body weight in around 5 weeks and if not for my eating habits, I would have still stuck to it and lost more weight.

    I found the author to be totally dedicated and intellectual and his analyses are totally out of the world. It was totally helpful in my case.
  14. Ivan
    Terrible
    1/5, 1 out of 5, reviewed Jul 20, 2018
    I found this guy to be one of those who thinks quite high of himself and I could feel his superiority complex in every single page of his not so helpful long book.

    He think he has solutions for many of your problems but those so called solutions may only add up to your already existing problems. He says in one of his chapters that 2 hours of sleep a day is more than enough and it can actually help you perform better than how you would if you slept 8 hours a day.

    It might be okay in a controlled environment but people with real jobs cannot just do it.

    Moreover the supplements and the gadgets he makes a mention of is out of the way expensive and not every body would be able to afford that.

    So, this book is not practical from any angle and I am glad that I borrowed my friend’s copy instead of buying one for myself. I would never recommend this book to anyone I know.
  15. Alfredo
    Has its benefits
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Jul 18, 2018
    This book is brilliant and insane at the same time. I had heard quite a lot about this book and his 4 hour approach but I got a chance to read the book recently.

    This guy seemed to have experimented a lot with his life and to me he is the man of all experiments. There were many chapters I found boring but I chose to focus on losing fat, building muscle and prevent injuries and I benefitted quite a lot out of this book.
  16. Wallace
    worth a read
    3.5/5, 3.5 out of 5, reviewed Jul 13, 2018
    This book is definitely worth reading even though a lot of technical information given on it makes one loose their grip. So, ideally what one should do is, make the most of what you think you can apply to your life and just ignore the rest.

    I did that and things have been going great for me. Thanks to the book!

Book Summary

  1. The 4-Hour Body: An Uncommon Guide to Rapid Fat-Loss, Incredible Sex, and Becoming Superhuman

    The 4-Hour Body
    is the result of an obsessive quest, spanning more than a decade, to hack the human body. It contains the collective wisdom of hundreds of elite athletes, dozens of MDs, and thousands of hours of jaw-dropping personal experimentation. From Olympic training centers to black-market laboratories, from Silicon Valley to South Africa, Tim Ferriss, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The 4-Hour Workweek, fixated on one life-changing question:

    For all things physical, what are the tiniest changes that produce the biggest results?


    Thousands of tests later, this book contains the answers for both men and women.

    From the gym to the bedroom, it’s all here, and it all works.


    YOU WILL LEARN (in less than 30 minutes each):
    How to lose those last 5-10 pounds (or 100+ pounds) with odd combinations of food and safe chemical cocktails.

    * How to prevent fat gain while bingeing (X-mas, holidays, weekends)
    * How to increase fat-loss 300% with a few bags of ice
    * How Tim gained 34 pounds of muscle in 28 days, without steroids, and in four hours of total gym time
    * How to sleep 2 hours per day and feel fully rested
    * How to produce 15-minute female orgasms
    * How to triple testosterone and double sperm count
    * How to go from running 5 kilometers to 50 kilometers in 12 weeks
    * How to reverse “permanent” injuries
    * How to add 150+ pounds to your lifts in 6 months
    * How to pay for a beach vacation with one hospital visit

    And that's just the tip of the iceberg. There are more than 50 topics covered, all with real-world experiments, many including more than 200 test subjects.

    You don't need better genetics or more discipline. You need immediate results that compel you to continue.

    That’s exactly what The 4-Hour Body delivers.

    Share Book

Loading...