Staff
Bikini-28-Day-Healthy-Eating-Lifestyle.jpg

The Bikini Body 28 Day Healthy Eating & Lifestyle Guide

3.3/5, 3.3 from 11 reviews
Author:
Kayla Itsines
ISBN:
1250121477 (ISBN13: 978-1250121479)
ASIN:
Buy from Amazon
200 Recipes and Weekly Menus to Kick Start Your Journey
Bikini-28-Day-Healthy-Eating-Lifestyle.jpg

Recent Reviews

  1. lynette
    a recipe book for people with deep pockets
    2.5/5, 2.5 out of 5, reviewed Oct 13, 2018
    First things first. I am a big fan of Kayla Itsines and follow her on Instagram. Coming to the book itself, the recipes look visually great and also taste very good. But here is the catch. I had to fork out nearly $150 for two meals a day. Secondly, it seems that Kayla forgets about the ingredients used in the recipes. One example: in one recipe, she talks about snacking on one half of an apple. Unfortunately, there is no mention about using the remaining half anywhere else. I ended up eating the other half also.

    Summing up, I still love Kayla and her session, but I feel this book is people with deep pockets.
  2. meredith
    Not my cup of tea
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Oct 4, 2018
    I am a big fan of Kayla and follow the BBG workouts religiously. When I heard that there is a paperback edition of some of the great recipes which have been penned by her, I thought WOW. This would be great. I went ahead and loaned the book from the library. The photos were great, but the recipes were bizarre. There were no different flavors. A big disappointment. Thank God that I got it from the library, otherwise would have ended up using this as a paperweight.
  3. mercedes
    An average book
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Sep 29, 2018
    I will break down the review into two parts.
    Pros:
    • The plan is full of calories and nutrients that are required by a woman
    • The plan includes vegetables, fruits, meat, and beans
    • Workout plan meets the criteria of a majority of health organizations.
    Cons
    • The author seems to have a fetish for yogurt. Nearly half of the recipes contain yogurt in one form or the other. If you have lactose intolerance or do not like yogurt, do not buy this book.
    • A single flavor profile. A majority of the recipes mentioned in the book has a similar flavor profile which is not something I had expected.
  4. freda
    A good cookbook
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Sep 24, 2018
    Kayla Itsines’ book is a good cookbook. It has some wonderful recipes, and each recipe has a photo which is very helpful. I have tried around 20 to 25 recipes, and all of them have turned out to be great. The only problem with this book is that it takes a lot of time to prepare food if one is to follow the recipes to the T.
  5. christie
    A good book that leaves a lot to be desired
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Sep 18, 2018
    Kayla Itsines’ The Bikini body…… is a good book, but leaves a lot to be desired. Accurate scientific data do not back the contents in the book, and only the basics are covered. This is an excellent book for beginners. Coming to the recipes section, I think there is a lot of confusion in the book. The recipes should have been ordered better…like recipes starting with A should have been clubbed under one group etc.

    With the present layout, I would have to sit with a book and note down recipes from various group to get one good meal. And unfortunately for a busybody like me, I do not have that much time to waste.
  6. betsy
    Loved this book
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Sep 10, 2018
    This book is the sort of book that one needs for having great bodies as well as good food. I had got this book as I was following Kayla’s Bikini Body Guide. The term "bikini body" in this context is more about gaining confidence about oneself and letting the person be who they are. Do not worry about looks, you are beautiful the way you are.

    The book is both enjoyable and educational at the same time. It has a lot of recipes, and even if I cook two recipes a day, then I’d prepare the same recipe after nearly three months. It will not bore a person out.

    The only problem with this book is the similar flavor profile between the recipes. I have gone through some recipes, both lunch and dinner, there was no variety. I feel this maybe be due to my picky nature. But it is the one flaw I felt in this otherwise wonderful book.

    This book is recommended to all those who want to change their lifestyle, get into great shape and lead a healthy and much happier lifestyle.
  7. janis
    A beautiful book
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 3, 2018
    The Bikini Body 28 day Healthy Eating & Lifestyle Guide by Kayla Itsines’ is a beautiful book. Like mentioned before, the pictures are amazing. The book has a visual appeal. I was amazed by the detailed content presented by Itsines. Each meal is outlined by a photo and then with recipes. This detailing helps a person to decide mentally whether to go ahead and prepare the food or not. It's awesome! I think it is a great investment. A must-have for every individual.
  8. ginger
    Can ignore this book
    1/5, 1 out of 5, reviewed Aug 30, 2018
    Let’s start with the positives of this book
    • Amazing photos of every single recipe present in the book.
    Now the negatives
    • Some unnecessary photos of Kayla
    • The recipes are high in carb and low in fat. In fact, the recommended servings are either one teaspoon of olive oil or 1/4th of an avocado.
    I have read some of the books by the author, but this book is fit for only those who are control freaks. Normal human beings can give it a miss.
  9. hope
    the book is a pleasant surprise
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Aug 24, 2018
    I have been following Itsines on Instagram and have gone through some of the books by her. I must say The Bikini Body 28 day Healthy Eating & Lifestyle Guide is a pleasant surprise. The book was thick and had around 200 recipes with some fantastic photos. On the face of it, the recipes look easy to replicate and would not be a tough ask. My only request to Itsines is to add some vegan/vegetarian food in the book.
  10. antonia
    Nothing new is offered
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Aug 16, 2018
    Kayla Itsines’ The Bikini Body 28 day Healthy Eating & Lifestyle Guide has some great photos and recipes. There is some useful information there, but it is few and far between. Other than this the book offers nothing new to the readers. Moreover, if one calculates the time spent to prepare food each day, then a person could end up spending nearly five to six hours just on cooking and eating food. Now that is criminal wastage of time. Loan it from your library, read it and give it back.
  11. SANTIAGO
    A well-researched book
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 12, 2018
    The Bikini Body 28 day Healthy Eating & Lifestyle Guide by Kayla Itsines is a very well-researched book. I had an e-book version and feeling the need to have a paperback version; I opted for it. I got the paperback version last week and was amazed to see the quality of photos in the paperback version. The e-book had some awkward photos and looked somewhat crude.

    Coming to the content of the book, this is a positive book. Itsines has such a huge following on Instagram, and it is no wonder that she can rub off some of her success in the print media also. This is on the back of proper research and some fantastic visual quality. The author offers a balanced approach to nutrition/fitness and asks us to listen to our body. With obesity reaching epidemic proportion, this book is a must-have in one’s library.

Book Summary

  1. The body transformation phenomenon and #1 Instagram sensation's first healthy eating and lifestyle book!

    Millions of women follow Kayla Itsines and her Bikini Body Guide 28-minute workouts: energetic, kinetic, high-intensity interval training sessions that help women achieve healthy, strong bodies. Fans not only follow Kayla on Instagram, they pack stadiums for workout sessions with her, they've made her Sweat with Kayla app hit the top of the Apple App Store's health and fitness charts, and they post amazing before and after progress shots. Kayla's audience is avid and growing, with over 10 million followers worldwide.

    The Bikini Body 28-Day Healthy Eating & Lifestyle Guide features:

    - 200 recipes such as fresh fruit breakfast platters, smoothie bowls, and salads
    - A 4-Week workout plan which includes Kayla's signature 28-Minute workouts
    - Full color food shots and photos featuring Kayla throughout

    Share Book

Loading...