Buk
the-china-study-book.jpg

The China Study by Dr T. Colin Campbell

3.4/5, 3.4 from 10 reviews
Author:
Dr T. Colin Campbell & Thomas M. Campbell II
ISBN:
1932100660 (ISBN13: 9781932100662)
ASIN:
Buy this Book
the-china-study-book.jpg

Recent Reviews

  1. Morris
    Magnum opus
    4.5/5, 4.5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 24, 2018
    I was intrigued by all the information in the opus. The diseases that the larger percentage of population has, has all to do with their diet. And the author has proved this fact with the proofs and backing he has provided.

    How many of us do know and even if we do know, accept the gravity of the situation that diabetes, cancer, heart disorders and other autoimmune disorders are all problems that crop up because of our wrong eating habits!

    This guy has come up with substantial evidences that all of the above mentioned diseases and even obesity can be easily prevented and even reversed if we make the right amends in our diet.

    So, if this is what you are interested in, you should buy the book and read it!
  2. Kent
    Amends your lifestyle
    3.5/5, 3.5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 20, 2018
    It was The China Study that made me realize the importance and the benefits of having a plant based diet. I was a big time meat lover but believe it or not, I have totally switched over to a diet that is totally plant based.

    It has been 2 months and I am at a loss of words to describe how I feel but I feel fresh and I feel so light from the inside and completely good about myself.
  3. Marshall
    Informative
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Sep 13, 2018
    I would highly recommend this book to anybody irrespective of the fact if they do or do not have problems with their body. If they do not have, they might either be young or may already be on the right path but if they do have, then they badly need this book. So, either ways, the book is gonna be really helpful.

    It contains some good grounded information about diet and nutrition and not just me, even the other members in my family have been greatly influenced by what is written which encouraged all of us to make some lifestyle changes.

    This particular book not only tells you why you need to make these changes but also gives you an array of interesting options on how to do them. For me, it was the biggest motivation of my life to eat healthy and lo what I wanted to do for years but had failed miserably started becoming a reality of my life with the magical information contained in the book.
  4. Austin
    Perfect guide to a healthy diet without compromising on taste
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Sep 6, 2018
    The book aims to give an insight on nutrition and overall health but one need to think it to be total turn off just because it asks you to transform your diet completely into a plant based one. You will be pleasantly surprised to see the yummy alternatives that this book provides to you.

    Seriously speaking, I had not thought of making healthy diet without compromising it’s taste before I read this book.

    It is a wholesome book in my opinion which efficiently covers long term health, nutrition, lifestyle diseases and its prevention and debunks a lot of nutritional myths that are widely prevalent in our society.
  5. Wendell
    Don't think its a great idea
    1/5, 1 out of 5, reviewed Aug 31, 2018
    I don’t support the whole idea of going vegan. You can do certain things but there are a few other things that you can’t even think of doing. All these years, you have lived your life in a particular way and just because you read a book, it doesn’t help you transform your life and daily diet in totality.

    I don’t think the author understands a simple basic fact as this.
  6. Dana
    An attitude changer
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Aug 27, 2018
    When I bought The China Study, I honestly had no clue that one book could change my attitude towards what I eat. And this is not the first time, I am reading a book on nutrition but this one helped me mend my eating habits into a healthier one.

    And just because of the book, these days whenever I am tempted to indulge on unhealthy junk food, the book starts replaying in my mind the whole time. See, its all about why people in developed countries are prone to more lifestyle diseases than people in not so developed countries. It is simply the diet that is making all the difference.
  7. Nick
    Not convincing
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Aug 17, 2018
    The book is about veganism and I found the first half of the book to be really interesting. It is true and I do agree that the lifestyle diseases we have in these times, especially cancer is due to the over consumption of animal protein.

    Fine, that is understood! But does that mean that it cannot be done even in moderation and what is the guarantee that a vegan diet doesn’t have a flip side to it? How can we be so sure that if we do follow a vegan diet, it will keep us clear of all these diseases?
  8. Trevor
    An enjoyable book
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Aug 13, 2018
    I totally enjoyed reading this book. People who are head over heels about meat might hate the book initially when they realize that it is based completely on a plant based diet. I was one among them, so I totally understand. It was a total turn off but my wife insisted that I read it.

    But I am glad that I did and I would have seriously regretted if I had missed out on this book. And now that I have started incorporating the ideas in the book into my real life, I honestly have no worries about my weight especially the protruding tummy that I previously had.
  9. Ernesto
    Crisp and to the point
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Aug 3, 2018
    The writing style is scholarly if you ask me with all that scientific facts and pieces of information involved but literally speaking, this book has helped me change my life; lifestyle to be more specific.

    I strongly recommend this book as it is crisp and to the point and answers all the questions you have in mind about the entire idea of veganism. This book explains in the best possible manner how to choose what you eat daily depending upon the nutrients.
  10. Shaun
    Comprehensive
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Jul 26, 2018
    I found the China Study to be the most comprehensive book ever written on the relationship between diet and the risk of developing diseases related to the diet. The author has embarked on a journey and the research he conducted opened his eyes to the dangers of consumption of different kinds of food and it also opened up a new perspective on the health benefits of consuming whole foods and having a plant based diet.

    I found the book to be one of the most important books which have been written about diet and health.

    So, he explains his concepts with evidences of a switching completely to a plant based diet and how people can benefit from them. So, this work is a key to long healthy life and how to achieve it.

Book Summary

  1. More than thirty years ago, nutrition researcher T. Colin Campbell and his team at Cornell, in partnership with teams in China and England, embarked upon the China Study, the most comprehensive study ever undertaken of the relationship between diet and the risk of developing disease. What they found when combined with findings in Colin's laboratory, opened their eyes to the dangers of a diet high in animal protein and the unparalleled health benefits of a whole foods, plant-based diet.

    In 2005, Colin and his son Tom, now a physician, shared those findings with the world in The China Study, hailed as one of the most important books about diet and health ever written.

    Featuring brand new content, this heavily expanded edition of Colin and Tom's groundbreaking book includes the latest undeniable evidence of the power of a plant-based diet, plus updated information about the changing medical system and how patients stand to benefit from a surging interest in plant-based nutrition.

    The China Study - Updated and Expanded Edition presents a clear and concise message of hope as it dispels a multitude of health myths and misinformation. The basic message is clear. The key to a long, healthy life lies in three things: breakfast, lunch and dinner
    Buk · Jul 16, 2018 · Updated Jul 21, 2018

    Share Book

Loading...