Buk
End-of-Dieting-How-to-Live-Life-book-Joel-Fuhrman.jpg

The End of Dieting: How to Live for Life by Joel Fuhrman

2.8/5, 2.8 from 10 reviews
Author:
Joel Fuhrman M.D.
ISBN:
0062249339 (ISBN13: 978-0062249333)
ASIN:
Buy this Book
End-of-Dieting-How-to-Live-Life-book-Joel-Fuhrman.jpg

Recent Reviews

  1. Lauri
    fascinating book
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Oct 23, 2018
    This is a fascinating book. I am a big lover of a nutritarian diet and have witnessed its benefit on the human body at a personal level. I was happy to see the hard work that has been put up by the author by doing detailed research and giving some interesting recipes that are not only unusual but also tasty. I have tried quite a few of those, and it has turned out well.

    What I like about this book is the fact that the author through his book is trying to show his concern for the planet, our society, and individuals. He also talks about addressing the toxic hunger that Americans suffer from and how to reward those who try to address this issue.
  2. Silent Eyes
    Premise sounds interesting but not sure if it would be effective
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Oct 15, 2018
    Nobody can deny the fact that the country has been facing obesity epidemic since the 1980s and the main culprit is overeating with fewer exercises. So what is the solution, avoid processed food completely, shun meat and then take up the vegetarian diet in a big way. One has to avoid dairy products also.

    When people who are eating meat switch to veggies, there is a loss of nutrients such as long chain omega-3 fatty acids EPA and DHA and vitamin B12 for which there is no answer. The author also talks about supplementing lack of iodine with seaweed and vitamin D with sunlight.

    Sounds interesting but is not implementable.
  3. Lol Fool
    Trying to sell a utopian dream
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Oct 2, 2018
    This book is selling a utopian dream. Here is the gist of what Joel Fuhrman is saying in his book. Eat vegetables (whole plant food), beans, fruits and micronutrients in your diet. Avoid meat. Well those who are staying at home or eat home-made food, they do not have any issues with following this diet. The problem arises for those who are addicted to meat and processed sugar. Even though it is not impossible, it sure is a daunting task.
  4. Lover Dropper
    A Good Book
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Sep 23, 2018
    Though I think Dr. Fuhrman does sometimes go overboard with his ideas, he does have a point in this case. It is a known fact that those who eat good unadulterated food tend to live a longer and healthier life. I am pleasantly surprised with this book and have decided to go through the various recipes and give it a try and see how it tastes.

    All in all, a book worth rereading.
  5. Princess Fuzzie
    Avoid it
    1/5, 1 out of 5, reviewed Sep 18, 2018
    I think the author has lost it completely in this book. I have read his previous book, and it was interesting, to say the least. But this book is a mess. He advocates people to give up meat, and you should also be avoiding oil, pasta, dairy, and eat micronutrients and beans. No, wait you can eat a minute or shall I say a tiny portion of meat once a week.

    This is stretching ridiculousness. I have always held an opinion that books and authors who preach and give shitty lifestyle goals are waste and one should not shell out money on these idiots. Thanks to this book, my craving for a fresh chicken salad with bacon has increased, and I am going to dig into that tonight.
  6. Dumb Subject
    Cursing myself for reading this book
    1/5, 1 out of 5, reviewed Sep 9, 2018
    Holy mother, this guy is a #1 New York Times bestselling author.

    This prick comes across a person who hates the very sight of fat and animal products in general. I am not sure about his research also (tries to compare our digestive system with apes), and there is no evidence to prove that eating the diet prescribed by him would help us live longer. The recipes mentioned in this book also seems impractical.

    Yes, the diet might work for some people for some time, but I am not sure if this could turn out to be a healthier lifestyle. Those who eat meat will eat meat, and those who are vegetarians would continue to eat their veggies.

    Another interesting point I noticed in the book is the insistence of Fuhrman on avoiding supplements. Now if you are forcing a person to switch from meat to veggies, then they surely would need some supplements to make up for the loss of nutrients. If you do not allow that, you are harming the person in the long run.
  7. Patty
    More research is needed
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Sep 5, 2018
    I am a vegetarian who loves to eat an occasional egg as well as a vegan diet. I am also not a big fan of meat. So the type of diet mentioned in the book impressed me a lot. Even though Dr. Fuhrman provides a lot of data to back up his stuff, I think there is room for more research. However, I fully agree with Dr. Fuhrman that eating everything in moderation is the solution to diet problems. There are certain foods which we should not take and certain food which we should take on a larger scale. Some sinful foods might look appealing and taste delicious, but consuming it can also result in triggering of various health issues.

    Personally, I do not believe in moderation, and I try to avoid all the fried, and sugary stuff to the maximum possible extent.
  8. Bunny Rabbit
    Another food fad
    1/5, 1 out of 5, reviewed Aug 31, 2018
    Joel Fuhrman’s The End of Dieting: How to Live for Life is another food fad book similar to Atkins, Paleo, South Beach, etc.

    The basic concept by Dr. Fuhrman is good, but the recipes which he gives in the book is ridiculous. You cannot pass stuff made from frozen black beans as a dessert! I think the author is in love with beans and wants to promote it for everything.

    The book is all preachy and does not seem practical. And to atone my sin of reading this book, I am heading to the nearest McDonald’s joint to have a BigMac...!
  9. Colonial
    A breath of fresh air
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 25, 2018
    In the deluge of nutrition books, this book by Dr. Fuhrman comes has a breath of fresh air. The author has the uncanny ability to apply common sense to nutrition which is very rare nowadays. He does explain the science behind it, but does not go into too many details and does not try to impose his opinions on others. Unlike any other books, this book does not have any hidden agenda, except promoting a nutritarian diet which can help the person get a healthy life. I highly recommend this book to all those who want to break free from the vicious cycle of diet jumping, going from one type of diet to another, all of which invariably ends in a disaster.
  10. Sweet Weapon
    An intresting book
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Aug 17, 2018
    Joel Fuhrman’s The End of Dieting: How to Live for Life is an interesting book. The basic premise for this book as well as various studies cited by Dr. Fuhrman is excellent. The author, through this book, makes a passionate appeal to eat a healthier diet. My only issue with this book is some of the falsehood he tries to spread through the book. For example, Fuhrman says that paleo diets promote meals that are heavily loaded with meat. Well, he is not entirely incorrect, but tarring the whole diet with the same brush is something which is unacceptable to me. I believe a healthy diet is one which makes a perfect balance between vegetables, meat and dairy products from free range animals.

    Suffice to say, the lesser the number of processed foods in our diet, the healthier we will be.

Book Summary

  1. In The End of Dieting, Joel Fuhrman M.D., a board–certified family physician who specializes in preventing and reversing disease through nutritional and natural methods, and #1 New York Times bestselling author of Eat to Live, Super Immunity and The End of Diabetes, delivers a powerful paradigm-shifting book that shows us how and why we never need to diet again.

    Fuhrman writes, "By reading this book, you will understand the key principles of the science of health, nutrition and weight loss. It will give you a simple and effective strategy to achieve—and maintain—an optimal weight without dieting for the rest of your life. This new approach will free you forever from a merry-go-round of diets and endless, tedious discussions about dieting strategies. This is the end of dieting."

    Share Book

Loading...