Buk
Lose-Your-Belly-Diet-Travis-Stork-book.jpg

The Lose Your Belly Diet by Travis Stork

2.8/5, 2.8 from 10 reviews
Author:
Travis Stork
ISBN:
1939457599 (ISBN13: 978-1939457592)
ASIN:
Buy this Book
Change Your Gut, Change Your Life!
Lose-Your-Belly-Diet-Travis-Stork-book.jpg

Recent Reviews

  1. Old Regret
    Not worth a read
    1/5, 1 out of 5, reviewed Oct 31, 2018
    Way back in 2016, I had read the first edition of this book and was highly impressed by it. But now when I read it, it comes across as a boring book. Some of the advice and suggestions given in the book are wrong and even bordering dangerous. The antibiotics part was good, but the fixation on Whole Grains was unbelievable. I think Stork loves Whole Wheat. I had read another book called The Doctor’s Diet by the same author, which also focused a lot on whole grains. I think somebody needs to tell the cute doctor that Whole Grains Suck.

    To sum up, a boring book that is not worth a read.
  2. Sallow
    Some good things, some flaws, makes an interesting read
    2.5/5, 2.5 out of 5, reviewed Oct 25, 2018
    Dr. Stork surely loves the gut. The way he explained it and why is it important to us was an eye-opener. He explains the working of the microbiomes in simple layman terms. I loved the way he was pushing organic stuff at your face. The information provided by Dr. Stork is thorough and very often repeated. But this is not a flaw, as repetition helps to remember it better.

    The flaws were no new recipes and the excess use of transition words as well as the word “little buddies.” It had reached to the extent of becoming an irritation.

    That said, an honest attempt by Dr. Travis Stork.
  3. NutsBrain
    the probiotic emphasis is good
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Oct 18, 2018
    If one can avoid the "little buddies," this book is a good read. I have been using probiotics in my diet for the last few years, and it does work wonders. Though I have come across different books that talk about probiotics, servings were too rigid and offered very little flexibility. I would have given five stars had he not used the word “little buddies” so many times.
  4. Fish
    No unique recipes
    1/5, 1 out of 5, reviewed Oct 12, 2018
    It seemed that Dr. Stork had a lot of affection with the word “Little Buddies.” I felt nearly three-fourth of the book contained those two words. It was as if I was reading about biomes in the gut rather than a diet book. Yes, the gut is important, but why spend reams of pages on explaining its value. If the doc’s audience is some medical students, then one can understand such an emphasis.

    Also, the recipes present in the book were nothing extraordinary. You can find similar recipes online. Don’t waste your money on this book. Spend it on something better.
  5. printer
    Not much different from other books
    1.5/5, 1.5 out of 5, reviewed Oct 2, 2018
    The Lose Your Belly diet is not much different from other books in this genre like Atkins, South Beach, Dr. Phil, etc. I, however, liked the detailed research on microbiomes present in the gut. I am a firm believer of the fact that if the gut is healthy, then we are healthy. If not, then we end up being sick. I also agree with Dr. Stork when he talks about taking proper care of our gut. IMO, the main reason for most of the sickness and obesity around us is the contamination of our food supply.

    Coming to the recipes part, some of them are worth trying. I want to try it out to see if it can strengthen my gut.

    A good read, but would stick to my previous statement – not much different from other diet books.
  6. Death
    Good recipes
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Sep 27, 2018
    Dr. Stork’s book has some wonderful recipes at the end, and I am planning to try them out. I am, however, unimpressed by the language used in the book, especially the use of “little buddies” as well as overusing transition words. It got annoying after some time. After I stopped reading, the words were still circling in my head. For these flaws, I am giving it three stars out of five.
  7. Shrink Sand
    A fresh perspective on healthy eating
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 18, 2018
    I have always enjoyed healthy eating and hate the word “dieting.” There is nothing called dieting; it is just starving your body of essential nutrients. Yes, you can lose some weight, and if you starve more, then you would lose more weight.

    I am thankful that this book offers a fresh perspective when it comes to eating healthy. I've been taking probiotics for the past ten years, and it has resulted in a tremendous change in my body. I am healthier and very rarely suffer from any bowel disease etc. This book ticks all the boxes. I also liked the mention of kefir and kimchee. It is an acquired taste, but once you get habituated to them, you might not be able to say no to it.
  8. Gone by by
    Good book, but…..
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Sep 9, 2018
    Dr. Travis Stork’s The Lose Your Belly Diet is a good diet book. The concept of the book is simple. Eat more veggies, fruits, fiber and be less dependent on animal-based food. A good thought, but animal protein is not a bad thing. While doc has based his theory on several research studies etc. there are many more studies that have shown that animal protein is good for the human body and taking it in moderation is helpful.

    I have to say, it is a matter of perception and to each his own. I was on a diet and used a lot of meat, yogurt, and milk from animals, and I am in perfect shape, and my gut is also happy, I think so since I have not had any bowel issues while following my particular diet.
  9. Lil Okie
    Awesome recipes, but the book was hard to read
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Sep 3, 2018
    I have a mixed feeling with “The Lose Your Belly Diet.” Doc was focused more on microbiomes in the gut, even calling them his buddies. I felt as if I was reading a medical journal and not a diet book. Most of the stuff mentioned in the book went way over my head. But, the book does have some useful information and the recipes mentioned are fantastic.
  10. OverKill
    A great book
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 28, 2018
    I am a fan of Dr. Stork and have read The Doctor’s Diet as well as The Lean Belly. I also like his show, The Doctors. So when I heard that my library had got a copy of Stork’s The Lose Your Belly Diet, I made a dash for it.

    The basic premise of the book is no different from other books – change the way you eat your food and focus on eating healthy food. Since Travis Stork is a doctor, he has first-hand experience in witnessing the damage that overeating can do to a human body. What made me his fan is the clarity of thinking and the way he approached the whole issue of losing weight. In this book, he focuses on the microbiomes present in the gut, which is not only crucial for maintaining a healthier bowel but also plays a role in boosting immunity and preventing several diseases. According to Dr. Stork, a healthier gut also helps to reduce the belly fat and helps maintain a leaner belly. The book also contains some wonderful recipes that not only is easy to prepare but is also delicious.

    To sum up, a great book that focuses on an area that is usually not taken into consideration when it comes fighting the war against the bulge.

Book Summary

  1. We want to be healthy. We want to be lean. And we want to lose that annoying fat around our bellies!

    We can achieve ALL of these goals with the Super-G Life. Based on exciting new research about the dramatic benefits of vibrant gut health and a diverse gut microbiome, the Super-G Life nurtures your gut while burning off excess weight and harmful belly fat.

    The Super-G Life is built around a very clear, research-based concept: Eating food that increases, feeds, and protects the microbes in your gut paves the way for weight loss, a slimmer middle, and better overall health.

    It s not just about weight loss. Having great gut health is linked to good health throughout your body. Scientists in this rapidly growing field are finding connections between the gut microbiome and a healthy immune system and gastrointestinal system, as well as autoimmune diseases (such as rheumatoid arthritis and inflammatory bowel disease), allergies and asthma, and even cancer. With every study that s published, scientists become more convinced that a healthy gut leads to a healthy body.

    We re accustomed to thinking of bacteria as bad and some are but most of the bacteria and microbes in our guts do amazing things, like working with our immune system to fight disease and helping our bodies digest food. Not only can t we live without them, but as their numbers and diversity increase, so too does our health. I like to think of the microbes in my gut as my little buddies who are helping me stay healthy every minute of the day. And I love the idea of feeding them the foods they need to flourish foods that you ll find in abundance in the Super-G Life.

    Research is uncovering ways to boost gut health and nurture the gut microbiome. In this book we ll look at all of the ways you can improve your own gut health. We ll start with diet. The Super-G daily eating plan, which picks up where The Doctor s Diet left off, provides gut-enhancing foods, meal plans, and recipes based on the latest research into gut health. Foods in the Super-G diet help increase, feed, and protect the microbes in the gut.

    But diet is just one factor in gut health. We ll also look at the many other steps you can take to support your gut microbiome, from avoiding unnecessary antibiotics to worrying a little less about dirt and germs. Even the choices you make about how you bring your children into the world can have an impact on your family s microbiomes.

    And here s another reason to take good care of your gut health: Every part of your body benefits, including your skin. That s right: When your gut is happy, your skin glows with health and you look and feel younger.

    In the Super-G Life, we ll cover all the bases, giving readers everything they need to make dramatic changes in their GI health, their weight, their belly fat, and their overall health.

    Share Book

Loading...