Buk
Pop-Up-Book-Phobias-Gary-Greenberg.jpg

The Pop-Up Book of Phobias

4/5, 4 from 13 reviews
Pop-Up-Book-Phobias-Gary-Greenberg.jpg

Recent Reviews

  1. Geoffrey
    Great conversation piece
    3.5/5, 3.5 out of 5, reviewed Oct 25, 2018
    I bought this book thinking it would provide me with some good information on phobias. But it turned out to be something entirely different. I wouldn’t say it was bad but it didn’t have anything informative about phobias.

    On the other hand, it is a great conversation piece. Since, I was not looking for anything serious about phobias and bought this book just to make my travelling alone bearable, it enjoyed every bit of it. I would say it has some great entertainment value in it.

    I am satisfied with the buy but if you are looking something for information, then this is definitely not what you should buy.
  2. Randolph
    Super duper cool pop up
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Oct 17, 2018
    I would describe the book as super cool. I feel amazed to see the wonderful ideas that the author has come up with. Every page consists of a definition of a particular kind of phobia along with an artistic rendering in pop up and even if you don’t have any phobia, the book will make you experience it as if you actually have it.

    But at the same time, I felt sad to see that the authors have not included as many phobias as I expected them to do but whatever they have come up with, they have definitely done a fantastic job.

    It is something you should definitely pick up if you are looking for a fun read and nothing serious.
  3. Gerard
    Fun filled book
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Oct 12, 2018
    If you have read or bought the book already, you would already now that it is a great conversation starter and if you are a pop up fan, then it is a book that you are going to completely enjoy.

    I had loads of fun and it was a great experience reading the book. I felt it is a kind of dark humour and some people might get scared seeing the book, especially children but in my case that is what I liked about the book.
  4. Luke
    Screams out fun fun fun
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Oct 4, 2018
    Not just this one, I find every pop up book to be totally filled with fun and I love reading them.

    Coming back to this pop up book on phobias, it feels as if different kinds of phobias have come out in reality and made a leap at you in papers of a book.

    As a kid, such books used to scare me away as I found them to be spooky but now I have snapped out of all such fears and find reading such books to be total fun. I think if you have some time where you can sit idle and do nothing, you should be using that time to read this book.
  5. Lance
    Kind of Loved it
    3.5/5, 3.5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 30, 2018
    I would say the book was alright, nothing to be terrified about or there is nothing in it that most children would get scared about. I read this book with my 10 year old daughter and she seems to have thoroughly enjoyed this book, maybe even more than me.

    The book is divided into different sections and each section has a pop-up that depicts a particular phobia, for example one each for fear of spiders, heights, clowns etc. And it also includes the technical term that is used for a particular phobia and a summary about it.

    I got to know about many phobias that I didn’t even think existed in the first place. For examples, I was blissfully unaware of the phobia of clowns and spiders. I thought people are simply scared of it and I never thought it could be as serious as a phobia.

    Plus, it is a great gift to someone who would love being presented with something quirky on their birthday.
  6. Oliver
    Information in a fun filled way
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Sep 26, 2018
    It is the pop up architecture of the book that impressed me and drew me towards it as I was flipping through its pages. The content is equally fun and informative at the same time.

    It not only talks about phobia in an interesting manner but it also has information about what exactly a phobia is, its important aspects and also gives you a fair idea about what causes this phobia in you and how it can be treated.

    There was enough and more to read in the book but still I felt the author could have included more pieces of information about many other kinds of phobias too. I hope the authors soon come up with a Vol II of this book and if they do, I will be the happiest reader on earth.
  7. Max
    Great book
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Sep 13, 2018
    My husband bought this book and made it a part of our coffee table books collection. I thought it would be fun to read the book in bits and pieces, here and there whenever I wanted to instead of trying to finish it off in one go. I fear the fun might get over and then there will be nothing else left.

    So, every once in a while when I have some free time, the first thing that comes to my mind is to pick up this book and read of some phobia that I have not already read of.

    And I love the fact that the author and I share the same strange kind of sense of humor with me or has the ability to keep people indulged in what he says, just like me again. Either ways, I find it to be really nice as it keeps up a constant amusement level.

    Bonus here is the cover is so aesthetic and attractive that it looks perfect on my coffee table. Every time a guest comes home, this is the first book he or she would pick up just because of the beauty of its cover. Lol!
  8. Kurt
    A wonderful book
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Sep 7, 2018
    I have a full fledged collection of pop up books and my wide collection would not have been complete if not for this gem of a book.

    More than the information given in this book, I love the way the author has made efforts in illustrating it.

    The book includes phobias of many kinds like fear of spiders, clowns, dentists, heights and even death, to name some among many others listed out in the book.

    And I love those illustrations that have been carefully drawn out and I must say a lot of thinking would have gone into it, else one cannot come up with such good pieces of art for something that is abstract in many ways.

    I would definitely recommend it to those who love reading pop up books like me but I am not sure how much the ones who do not like reading such books would benefit from it.
  9. Carissa
    A lovely gift from my ex-team
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Aug 28, 2018
    I got this book as gift from my team members when I resigned my previous job. I would say it is a lovely and thoughtful gift for someone like me who enjoys reading such things.

    It is one hell of an interesting book loaded with good knowledge about phobias yet written in a very light and humorous manner. In fact I think I have not enjoyed reading any fiction as much as I have enjoyed reading this idiosyncratic book on phobias.

    You might be thinking there is something wrong with me but if you see the book, you will say the same thing too. And God!! I loved those pop-ups; creative, entertaining and excellently made.

    I am in awe of this book and I would like everybody to read this book at least once before they die.
  10. Outlaw
    Its alright
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Aug 19, 2018
    I don’t think this is the best pop up book on earth as I love Sabuda’s way more than I love this book. But I would say it is one clever book on the common phobias that we have and has some kind of detailing on it.

    But I didn’t find the crafting in this book to be as good as that in Sabuda’s book. But one can definitely read it as it is a good book though not an excellent one and get a new fun perspective on the common phobias that we have around us.
  11. Spinning Leaf
    The first one in my pop up collection
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Aug 13, 2018
    It was the first book in my pop up collection and it was just because of this book that I developed a totally different kind of love for pop up books and now if I see a pop-up book I definitely go ahead, buy it and add it to my cool pop-up collection.

    Coming to the finer details; I wouldn’t say has a lot of good information in it. There is a brief summary about each phobia and that’s it. So, if you rely on this book to get some information, I am afraid, it wouldn’t be able to provide you much.

    On the other hand, if your aim is to have a some kind of knowledge about each phobia and have some fun while getting some information inside your head, then this would be a perfect fit.
  12. Leton Lee
    Creepy 3-D
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Aug 5, 2018
    If you want to know and learn the art of delightfully depicting the creepy, then you should buy this book for sure and learn from it. You open one page and a dentist might pop at you whereas in another one a giant spider or a snake.

    I could feel my real life fears jumping out of the book and trying to scare me. They were successful to a certain extent in scaring the life out of me but since I knew it is a part of the book, I did not faint seeing it.

    Well, it was a fun experience. I learnt some new things, a few new phobias and their background and other relevant information through play way method like how the kids do these days.
  13. Showroom
    Class apart
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jul 27, 2018
    I am a book collector and I love to read and collect those book that are class apart and this particular book, I must say is one of them. If I ever get a chance to meet the creators, I would congratulate and commend them for their ability to produce phobias in 3-D form that coming jumping right out of the book.

    You wont be able to experience the things I am saying just by reading what I have written here. So, go out and grab your copy now for a fun filled read.

    The artists indeed deserve to be complimented really well and I would do it if I meet them ever.

Book Summary

  1. Fear of heights, fear of spiders, fear of flying, fear of death--everyone is afraid of something. And these pop-ups place you in the hot seat--whether it's the dentist's chair as the drill comes spinning toward you; looking over the edge of a skyscraper whose sheer face plummets thousands of feet to the sidewalk far below; or the window seat of a plane as the oxygen mask deploys, your drink spills, and the horizon line shifts to an angle that is suddenly, terribly wrong . . .

    Brought to life by outrageously macabre artwork and startlingly innovative pop-ups, The Pop-up Book of Phobias is an engineering marvel and cult classic in the making--an offbeat holiday treasure sure to become this season's most talked-about gift book.
    Buk · Jul 23, 2018 · Updated Oct 24, 2018

    Share Book

Loading...