Buk
The_Vagina_Monologues.jpg

The Vagina Monologues by Eve Ensler

3.5/5, 3.5 from 11 reviews
The_Vagina_Monologues.jpg

Recent Reviews

  1. Tracy
    Mindblowing
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Sep 22, 2018
    My hearty congratulations to Eve Ensler for writing this book; the monologues. I am in awe of her for putting together such a wonderful piece. Mannn, she is one badassss female! I mean I seriously can’t imagine such a bold piece of writing to be written by a woman that too more than 20 years ago!

    So, this book to be precise is about vagina and the taboos surrounding it but at the same time, it is also a book about feminism and fighting for our rights. So, there is culture, there is a pen picture on how the women lived in those times and how they had to be ashamed of their sexuality every single day, how they put themselves in danger as a discussion revolving around this topic was not one of the most comfortable ones etc.

    The piece will definitely blow your mind and give you an insight on how women and their sexuality were treated in different cultures during different times.
  2. Julian
    A good read
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 5, 2018
    The book lets you know the real and ugly face of the society when it comes to women and their sexuality. There are a few hard hitting facts there, at times you might find it difficult to come in terms with what is written. But that’s alright!! Because you have some hilarious yet crazy stories, a few sad ones and some beautiful yet heart touching stories!

    It was a great read for me and I would highly recommend it to anyone I know, be it a man or a woman.
  3. Andy
    A must read especially for women
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Aug 30, 2018
    This book has been on my mind since long time and I have wanted to read it but it was recently I got a chance to do so. According to me, this book is a complete manifesto of feminism. After the mixed responses I saw, I thought this book might disappoint me but I am happy reading it and it is nowhere near any kind of disappointment.

    So, this piece throws light but from a different angle on womanhood, men, sexuality and everything in between too. This piece is a must read for all women out there! My son and daughter are definitely gonna read it when they reach an age to understand what’s written in the book.
  4. Lonnie
    Lacks gender fluidity
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Aug 24, 2018
    The book is a revelation on women sexuality and the issues around it. But what disappointed me about the book is that the author has somewhere failed to accept and provide a good space for gender fluidity. What about the Trans genders, their views, opinions and experiences???? So, the book is an utter failure if you look it from that angle.

    A disregard for their experiences is completely unacceptable in my opinion. The book has been quite unfair to them. I dunno how she kinda totally missed this out or was this topic touchy to her!
  5. Claude
    Live performance better than the book
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Aug 20, 2018
    I have read this book previously and I thought it deserved only 3 stars but after listening to an audio show on it, I think it totally deserves 4 stars. The book did not impress me much to be really honest but today I heard the author breathe her energy and give life to those monologues and I guess I have been mistaken all this while.

    It was now that I became completely aware of the emotional disconnect I had in my mind and I think that is extremely alarming. I also realized that when I read the book, I did not truly absorb each tone of the monologue and that is exactly where I didn’t get the book right!

    This live performance has been an eye opener to me.
  6. Kelly
    Not Impressive
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Aug 17, 2018
    I am a woman and on top of that I am feminist. So, you would expect me to give a 4 or 5 star ratings to the book. But I won’t because I somehow did not enjoy reading the whole piece. It was seriously disturbing and demoralizing in some parts, just for the sake of being so. I personally feel this book is overrated.

    And if you ask me as a woman, it totally failed to tell you how amazing vaginas actually are. The portions covered in this book are just contributing to a shock factor and I seriously don’t get why the author went on aiming for similar expressions continuously in the book without even a mention of a single pleasant experience.

    So, no million stars rating for a book like this, just 2 stars. I feel it would have got more stars from my end provided reading it had been an enjoyable experience for me.
  7. Jimmie
    Amazing book
    3.5/5, 3.5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 11, 2018
    I have read this piece before but it was today that I saw a live performance on it. And must say the live version is so much better; in fact it is the best. So, this book is a result of the author’s interaction with more than 200 different women belonging to various societies.

    How often we see that people are so damn uncomfortable using the word vagina. Do we not say hands and legs, then why a taboo using the V-word??? It is after all a part of our body. So, the author’s intention is, if you find the whole idea of women’s sexuality uncomfortable, then it is a challenge that must be accepted and one has to come in term with the idea.

    In a modern society like the United States, women are raped every 3 minutes. Does this ring any alarms??? So, coming to terms with the concept of vagina, accepting it, creating more respect, safety and love for the women of your community could be the only solution you have.
  8. Sidney
    Liberating eye opener
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Aug 7, 2018
    This book is one of the most powerful and liberating piece of work I have ever read in my entire life. It made me teary when I read a few parts. This book makes me feel that I have lost my feminine half to the prejudices prevailing in the society.

    In my opinion, women had immense power than compared to what they have today during the primitive ages. These days we ourselves seem to have taken us for granted.

    And this book made me realize that patriarchy came into existence and with its advent, we have lost so much, so much that we have even lost our power to be united and complete.

    So, let’s spare a few minutes and make ourselves complete again. Let us in reality accept and acknowledge our roots, the place we all came from – Vagina!
  9. Jessie
    Powerful
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Aug 2, 2018
    I think if someone cannot see the power that this play or performance piece has, they are a total idiot. I feel that in many a ways women’s sexuality even in a modern society is controlled and governed by men and that is the sole reason why this book makes so much sense to me.

    I don’t think that the facts and the monologues discussed in this book could be a thing of the past because it is not. It still prevails in our so called modern society and that is what makes this book all the more relevant.

    I have seen many people stereotyping women’s sexuality. If a women makes a bold move or a comment about her sexuality and embraces it, she is slut shamed and labelled easy to get even without any second thoughts but if a man does it, it is totally cool, he is a stud, a hero!! So, isn’t that double standard in the so called modern society of ours?

    So, this lady here, our author has just debated the whole idea of objectification revolving around women and their Vaginas and given the V word a new perspective.
  10. Cory
    Irrelevant in current times
    1/5, 1 out of 5, reviewed Jul 29, 2018
    I really do not get why people equate feminism to vagina. And that is exactly what has been done in this book. So, I think I have major issues with this book but since I started reading it, I finished it till the end and to be honest, this might be relevant somewhere in the 80s and 90s but not now, especially not in a modern society.

    And what I found to be really insulting towards women in the book were it kinda endorsed racial and cultural stereotypes surrounding this topic.

    So, either I didn’t get the book or I totally got the book and I did not like it.
  11. Angel
    Good book
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Jul 24, 2018
    After reading this book, I realized how worried I was about my own vagina. There was so much secrecy surrounding them and so many questions about them always on my mind. This book has been written for people like me.

    After reading this book and about the history that led to the culmination of this book, I got to know the book or rather the initial play became a mass political movement.

    In short, the author has written this book after her varied interactions with other women and opening up the topic of their “vaginas” to them. It takes me by surprise that women’s sexuality even in the most modernized countries were considered a taboo and women found it shameful to discuss about their own private parts.

    The author here, Eve Ensler has done a great ground-breaking job and unearthed this topic by boldly approaching women, making them comfortable and interviewing them and listening to the stories that they wanted to pour out to her.

    So personally, I feel through this book, women can claim or rather this book has made them able to reclaim the word Vagina. I felt exhilarated, empowered and liberated once I finished reading the whole book. I am even eagerly looking forward to see this book performed live, if I ever get a chance to.

Book Summary

  1. It's a book about the authors interaction with women discussing Vaginas. The book contains rather quirky interviews that eventually became monologues about all things vagina. The author alleges that women are shy but once they open up, they can be very open and expressive about their vagina. Makes for an exciting premise.
    Buk · Jul 15, 2018 · Updated Jul 24, 2018

    Share Book

Loading...