Buk
Turn_On_Tune_In_Drop_Out-book.jpg

Turn On, Tune In, Drop Out by Timothy Leary

3/5, 3 from 10 reviews
Author:
Timothy Leary
ISBN:
1579510094 (ISBN13: 9781579510091)
ASIN:
Buy this Book
Turn_On_Tune_In_Drop_Out-book.jpg

Recent Reviews

  1. Lewis
    No sense in talking about an era gone by
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Sep 30, 2018
    I had taken Timothy Leary’s Turn On, Tune In, Drop Out as an interlibrary loan, and I am pleased that I did so. The main purpose of taking this book was to impress my girlfriend who had read this book and was very moved by it. When she talked about it, I felt she was coming from a different planet and was speaking the language of aliens. Finally, to shut her up, I ended up taking this book. To be frank, I could not understand anything that was written in it.

    I am not able to understand why people are going back to talking and listening about an era that has gone by and will not come back at all. We all must live in the present and worry about the future and not about the past.

    Coming to my girlfriend, I confided to her that I tried reading the book but could not understand a word of it and have given back the book. She was happy with the fact that I, at least, made an effort to read it. So glad to say, our love is still on track.
  2. Dan
    A solid book
    3.5/5, 3.5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 25, 2018
    Turn On, Tune In, Drop Out by Tim Leary is a solid book that talks about an era which I have heard from my parents. I felt that some points mentioned in it are relevant even today if we can understand the import of it. I am sure many of Tim’s followers would not have understood most of the things mentioned since the ideas were groundbreaking for its time. I would have gone for a 5-star but for few ideas that are impractical to follow in modern times.
  3. Derrick
    Audiobook is too soothing for my comfort
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Sep 18, 2018
    I just heard the audiobook version of Turn On, Tune In, Drop Out. The voice in it was very soothing. In fact, I would say it was too soothing for my comfort. I could not finish the book as I fell asleep in between. This happened twice or thrice. So, I am now looking for a paperback version on loan to check if it was the content or the voice that made me fall asleep.
  4. Pedro
    the book did not make any sense
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Sep 10, 2018
    Frankly speaking, reading Turn On, Tune In, Drop Out made me feel like “Take It, Throw It Out, And Forget It.” The book did not make any sense to me. Maybe it would make some sense to those who want to relive that 1960-1970s era. That said, some of the ideas mentioned were way ahead of its time. A good read for people who wish to reminiscence the golden days. For others, do not even bother to get it.
  5. Dustin
    A book that will slowly catch up on you
    3.5/5, 3.5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 5, 2018
    When I first read Turn On, Tune In, Drop Out, I could not make any sense out of it. I kept it aside and started reading it after a few days. Felt it was started to make some sense. I finally completed this book nearly five months after buying it and after reading it for six to seven times. I have to say it takes time to understand it. A good book for those who have the patience to read it for a few time. For rest, a one-time read (try to get it on loan, do not spend your money on it).
  6. Jorge
    An interesting read in today’s world
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Aug 28, 2018
    I took Tim Leary’s Turn On, Tune In, Drop Out book as an interlibrary loan as I wanted to read something that was somewhat different than the books that are available today. This book made an interesting read. However, Tim’s social constructs of family or tribes are somewhat unrealistic in this modern day and age. One can read this book if they are looking for something different.
  7. Greg
    Writings of a tripping lunatic
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Aug 19, 2018
    Turn On, Tune In, Drop Out is an average book. It is a collection of essays, and I felt it was nothing but ramblings of a doctorate fellow who was tripping on drugs. Though I read it, I did not feel anything, either good or bad, which was rather strange. I can say this book is at best a one-time read.
  8. Dean
    Got me hooked
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Aug 12, 2018
    Timothy Leary’s “Turn on, Tune In, Drop out” is a good book. The book, set in the psychedelic era, is surprisingly clear on many things. This book got me hooked on from the page I, and I have read it twice or thrice. I am now on the lookout for some of his other books. Hope they turn out to be as good as this one.
  9. Gordon
    A good attempt
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Aug 6, 2018
    Timothy Leary's recipe for societal change included his favorite love. He, however, had a different way of thinking than most of the pompous asses present around that time. I have to admit the ideas were revolutionary and way ahead of its time when it was introduced. The book is a good attempt at collecting the thoughts and essays of a crazy creative genius. But I would not go the whole hog when reading this book. At some places, I just glanced over. Overall, a one-time read.
  10. Wesley
    A surprisingly impressive book
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Aug 1, 2018
    This book was remarkably impressive. I had an impression that Tim Leary (due to his followers; it is another fact that most of them could not understand what he meant by "drop out") was a quack. I am happy to be proven wrong. Once I started reading Turn On, Tune In, Drop Out, I realized that Tim’s thoughts on drugs were similar to mine – take what you can learn while on drug and then implement those in your life. I have done that and successfully kicked the habit also.

Book Summary

  1. Written in the psychedelic era, Turn On, Tune In, Drop Out is Timothy Leary at his best, beckoning with humor and irreverence, a vision of individual empowerment, personal responsibility, and spiritual awakening.
    Buk · Jul 25, 2018 · Updated Aug 1, 2018

    Share Book

Loading...