Buk
Twelve_Steps_and_Twelve_Traditions.jpg

Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions book by Alcoholics Anonymous

3.3/5, 3.3 from 13 reviews
Author:
Alcoholics Anonymous
ISBN:
0916856291 (ISBN13: 978-0916856298)
ASIN:
Buy this Book
Twelve_Steps_and_Twelve_Traditions.jpg

Recent Reviews

  1. Wm
    a textbook guide
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Oct 5, 2018
    The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions is a sort of textbook guide to the rehab programs of AA. I have read it and must admit that it does have some beneficial information, but I never understood it. I never got it when I was in AA and did not get it when I became sober. Maybe it is something to do with having an open mind.

    It might be helpful to other but unfortunately has not been the same for me. I am sober now and intend to stay the same for the rest of my life, so I think, I can pass this book.
  2. Marco
    More of a personal memoir
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Sep 29, 2018
    The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions is not AA’s Big Book. 12 &12 does have some useful information, however, it does nothing but creates confusion in the minds of addicts. This is not a recovery guide but a collection of letters, article and Bill W.’s personal opinions.

    As far as I know, Dr. Bob was against publishing this book, and this book was published after Dr. Bob passed away.
  3. Archie
    A book that I was never able to understand
    1/5, 1 out of 5, reviewed Sep 25, 2018
    I have been sober for nearly five years now and am no longer a semi-regular AA. Truth be told, I never completed the Big Book. That said, I visited one AA group meeting out of sheer boredom and was shocked to see that people trying to figure what the hell The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions was all about. I somehow completed the session and then rushed out. I do not why AA is stuffing this stupid book down everybody’s throat. I never understood this book.

    This book complicates the already tough process of 12 steps. Avoid this book if you want to complete the rehab process.
  4. Alton
    Good book, but a little simplification would not harm
    3.5/5, 3.5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 21, 2018
    I last touched a glass of wine on 12-25-1995. I give the credit of remaining sober for so long to my lovely wife, AA and The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions. Surprised, but it is true. This book opened the doors to a happier life, a life without alcohol which was unthinkable a few decades back. The book explains every step clearly, but one grouse that I had then and have now is the somewhat over complication of the steps. A little simplification will enable the book to reach a wider audience.
  5. Preston
    great book
    4.5/5, 4.5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 15, 2018
    The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions is a great book. It has some good reminders about each tradition and what step is all about. I have seen this book do wonders for my friend, but my first attempt at reading this was futile. But I was not prepared for it, and now that I have decided to become sober, I can always fall back on this book.
  6. Rudy
    An excellent book
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 9, 2018
    As I headed into my third rehab, my fiancée gave me this wonderful book and asked me to have a go-through and stop reading if I felt bored or it made no sense. This act had a profound effect on me. Wanting to prove myself in her eyes, I decided to read it and was bowled over by it. I would recommend this book to all those who are determined to improve the relationship with their loved ones, people in general as well as having a healthier and happier life.

    One does not need to be alcoholic to read this book. You can still benefit from exercises as well as the ideas that are mentioned in this book.
  7. Kelvin
    A good intention but ends up complicating matters
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Sep 4, 2018
    If you have been to AA meetings, then you would have an idea of what this is all about. You can say it is an AA manual which explains every single tradition and steps of AA more clearly. However, I feel the good intentions seem to have gone astray somewhere as the book ends up complicating matters further. Avoid this book if you are new to rehab.
  8. Damon
    A Wonderful book
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 31, 2018
    AA’s The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions talks about 12 steps as well as traditions of AA. The book has to be discussed in a group. One would get lots of doubts, which is best answered in a group. The book reinforces the fact that you are sober now and shows you the way to stay that way which is the most important aspect in a rehab program.
  9. Rudolph
    Changed my life
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 24, 2018
    The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions and The Big Book have changed my life. Thanks to my rehab counselors, as well as these two wonderful books, I have been sober for more than a decade. It has been a tough ride, but I took it one day at a time and with the help of these two books, I have been able to survive this long.

    Though the book talks about essays that were written in 1953, it is still relevant even today. Go for this book if you want to become sober and stay sober.
  10. Malcolm
    The book sucks
    1/5, 1 out of 5, reviewed Aug 20, 2018
    Simply put, the Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions sucks. I am not sure why Bill W. would want to complicate the Twelve Step Process. No disrespect meant to Bill W. and may his soul rest in peace, but did he not hear about the term "Keep it simple, stupid?" If you have started rehab only recently, then please avoid this book, since there are high chances that you might get confused and wonder why the hell you got into this mess in the first place.
  11. Johnathan
    Worst book that was ever written
    1/5, 1 out of 5, reviewed Aug 14, 2018
    I feel that the Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions is one of the worst books that has ever been written. The book made no sense to me. More than helping, it has left me confused. I had to seek help from my friends to understand the stuff written in the book. Perhaps AA should have updated to include recent changes in the rehab world and made the language simpler.
  12. Cesar
    Worth Reading
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 11, 2018
    Alcoholics Anonymous’ The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions is worth reading. I am not saying that this book, on its own, would do wonders to your life. You need to put in the hard yards; there is no escaping from it. This book helps you to see your life much clearer. The only condition while reading this book is that one has to be open-minded and ready to learn and accept changes once you start reading this book.
  13. Andres
    A book that saves life
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 5, 2018
    The Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions has saved my life. I was an alcoholic and had got into rehab last year, wanting to get sober. At the rehab center, I was handed this book and asked to go through it. The book had a wonderful message. However, to get a better understanding of this book, I think it needs to be discussed in a group. I read it both alone and in a group and it made more sense when I discussed it in a group. A Big Shout Out to Bill for this wonderful book.

Book Summary

  1. Originally published in 1952, this classic book is used by A.A. members and groups around the world. Bill W.'s 24 essays on the Steps and the Traditions discuss the principles by which A.A. members recover and by which the fellowship functions. The basic text clarifies the Steps which constitute the A.A. way of life and the Traditions, by which A.A. maintains its unity.

    Share Book

Loading...