Buk
What-Expect-First-year-Heidi-Murkoff.jpg

What to Expect the First Year Book by Heidi Murkoff

3.2/5, 3.2 from 12 reviews
Author:
Heidi Murkoff, Sharon Mazel, Heidi Murkoff, Arlene Eisenberg, Sandee Hathaway, Mark D. Widome
ISBN:
978-0761181507
ASIN:
Buy this Book
3rd Edition
What-Expect-First-year-Heidi-Murkoff.jpg

Recent Reviews

  1. Lilly
    Great handbook
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Oct 2, 2018
    You have this new little life around you that is totally dependent on you for each and every single thing and not knowing what to do can create a havoc. There is absolutely no room for any screw up.

    There are many things that can be problematic to your little baby and it is always better to be prepared in order to avoid such situations. And for that it is always good to have a trustworthy source in the form of a book with you and what to expect the first year is that guide book I have always fell back on to get my answers.

    You must have this book if you have a new little one who has made its way into your life.
  2. Minerva
    Loved it in totality
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Sep 28, 2018
    When I was pregnant, I read What to Expect When You are Expecting and I loved it and that is the sole reason I bought What to Expect the First Year so that it could help me out whenever I was in doubt and I like this one more than what to expect when you are expecting.

    The chapters are really good and I have made notes in diary for quick references so there was absolutely no room for any kind of errors. I don’t want anything to go wrong when it comes to my baby and this book is the one that is helping me the most.

    Also, I found the chapters on baby sign language really interesting as it helped me communicate effectively with my baby. Initially I used to find communicating with her very frustrating because she would be trying to say one thing and I wouldn’t get it at all. But this book helped me in that area too.
  3. Ruthie
    Happy that I bought it
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Sep 18, 2018
    There is a lot of useful information in the book and I am happy that I decided to buy it and take its help as it is making my day to day life easier and I am able to spend more quality time with my husband and my baby because I have what I need to do on my fingertips in the form of this book.

    There is accurate information and correct tips on when and how to introduce a bottle, when to feed them, how to store breast milk without contaminating it, when to introduce solid foods and how to effectively make babies eat, about their sleeping schedule, their play time, about baby sign languages, medical care etc.

    I don’t think and I don’t know how I would have survived bringing up my baby especially during his first year.
  4. Greta
    Did not work
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Sep 13, 2018
    I read this book and tried applying it in my day to day life but unfortunately it did not work for me. I tried to follow as it was written in the book and I ended up upsetting my baby.

    So, now I do only what I feel is right for my baby and myself. I trusts my instincts and I have also learnt to trust my baby and I make it a point to listen to her paediatrician and nothing more than that.

    I think I have learnt that at the end of the day, real people are the ones who are gonna help and what they say will turn out to be the right thing to do. So, I no more depend on books and I suggest others also to do the same thing.
  5. Ila
    Wouldn't call it the best baby guide
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Sep 8, 2018
    The book is good and I think it is one of the most popular baby guide book that are available. But it did not seem that way to me. I just found it to be the most overrated book I have found on baby guidance.

    For instance, they have provided a list of food items in the book and according to them you are not supposed to feed them to your baby but at the end of everything, they also say that one need not be worried if you do not have a family history of allergies.

    So, I think you should spend your money on a better book or simply listen to what your mom has to say.
  6. Flossie
    No way!!!
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Aug 30, 2018
    I found the book to not really helpful and also lopsided. The author seems to have a lot of opinions about different things but I do not agree with her too much.

    Also, what I found to be really annoying was it was organized month wise instead of topic-wise. And the question answers they have at the end of each chapter is also kind of weird.

    Moreover, there is no useful information in the book that is actually helpful. I think one should refer online for the latest tips in parenting than this book.
  7. Bernadine
    Book with a different perspective
    4.5/5, 4.5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 21, 2018
    I used to think that babies are not cars and one should not have or make use of an instructional booklet or manual to bring them up.

    But when my wife insisted, I agreed to read this book and I found it to be a practical guide with accurate data, medical information and other advice.

    I realized that I was wrong in having that instruction booklet attitude towards this book because it is a good guide to what might happen and the possible ways to deal with it.
  8. Nola
    Can read and may help on a few days
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Aug 16, 2018
    It is a very useful guide in the overall sense. This book surely repeats itself a lot but it is complete in some sense but what I could not stand at all was the repetition.

    I do not refer to it all the time because I feel it is very unnecessary to do that but whenever I desperately need to do something or know about something, I turn to this book. Whether to take the advice from it or not, is totally up to me.
  9. Adela
    An amazing must have for a mom
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Aug 6, 2018
    I did not rush through this book and it took me an entire year to finish reading it. I took one step at a time and I was glad that it helped me out.

    I used to feel overwhelmed at times and this book helped me overcome those feelings of fear and anxiety.

    Whether you use it or not, I would suggest all parents to buy a copy and keep it with themselves in case of any emergencies.
  10. Haley
    Good book but not properly organized
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Jul 30, 2018
    It is a very good and useful book especially to those who have become parents for the first time. But I did not like it the way it was organized; it is highly improper.

    But if you ignore that fact, it had many other things that make it a good book. The best thing I liked about the book is there are many healthy recipes for making baby foods at home.

    But from experience what I found was as a parent, I don’t think there is anyone else who can understand your baby as well as you can. So, if something written in it, works for your baby, it is best that you follow it regardless of what people think.

    There are different ways to rear a child and things might work differently for different people.
  11. Rhoda
    Total crap! Do not ever read!
    1.5/5, 1.5 out of 5, reviewed Jul 23, 2018
    I got this book for free and I respect books and have never thrown any book into the trash but I started reading this one and I felt I should not even keep this piece in my collection and I do not want to give to anyone else for the fear they might try to do what is there in this book and end up doing terrible things.

    This book advocates putting your children on a low fat diet and that sounds crazy to me. A baby needs fat to survive and following the wrong advice written in this book can do terrible things.
  12. Bridgette
    Not sensible
    1.5/5, 1.5 out of 5, reviewed Jul 17, 2018
    I was alright when I started reading this book but I got really irritated when I read that babies cant pull off certain colors. I mean which sane person says that.

    I don’t understand what is wrong if we make our infant wear a certain color. I did not like the tone of the author and like the style in which the book was written and I am totally against it.

    I don’t believe the author at all and the book in my opinion is written just to mint money and nothing else.

    So, please stay away from this book as it is totally useless. If you really want to know which book can help, I think you should ask your doctor instead and go by what they suggest.

Book Summary

  1. What to Expect the First Year 3rd Edition

    Some things about babies, happily, will never change. They still arrive warm, cuddly, soft, and smelling impossibly sweet. But how moms and dads care for their brand-new bundles of baby joy has changed—and now, so has the new-baby bible.

    Announcing the completely revised third edition of What to Expect the First Year. With over 10.5 million copies in print, First Year is the world’s best-selling, best-loved guide to the instructions that babies don’t come with, but should. And now, it’s better than ever. Every parent’s must-have/go-to is completely updated.

    Keeping the trademark month-by-month format that allows parents to take the potentially overwhelming first year one step at a time, First Year is easier-to-read, faster-to-flip-through, and new-family-friendlier than ever—packed with even more practical tips, realistic advice, and relatable, accessible information than before. Illustrations are new, too.

    Among the changes: Baby care fundamentals—crib and sleep safety, feeding, vitamin supplements—are revised to reflect the most recent guidelines. Breastfeeding gets more coverage, too, from getting started to keeping it going. Hot-button topics and trends are tackled: attachment parenting, sleep training, early potty learning (elimination communication), baby-led weaning, and green parenting (from cloth diapers to non-toxic furniture). An all-new chapter on buying for baby helps parents navigate through today’s dizzying gamut of baby products, nursery items, and gear. Also new: tips on preparing homemade baby food, the latest recommendations on starting solids, research on the impact of screen time (TVs, tablets, apps, computers), and “For Parents” boxes that focus on mom’s and dad’s needs. Throughout, topics are organized more intuitively than ever, for the best user experience possible.
    Buk · Jul 12, 2018 · Updated Oct 4, 2018

    Share Book

Loading...