Staff
What-to-Expect-When-Youre-Expecting-book.jpg

What to Expect When You're Expecting by Heidi Murkoff

3.3/5, 3.3 from 17 reviews
Author:
Heidi Murkoff, Arlene Eisenberg, Sandee Hathaway
ISBN:
0761121323 (ISBN13: 9780761121329)
ASIN:
Buy from Amazon
What-to-Expect-When-Youre-Expecting-book.jpg

Recent Reviews

  1. NOAH
    A lifesaver during pregnancy
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Oct 3, 2018
    I have heard a lot of being talk bad about this book but for me it was my best companion that helped me throughout and get through the whole process of my pregnancy.

    It kept me informed of all the dos and don’ts and why and how much I should be concerned about a few thing’s for example baby’s movement when I am pregnant and it also reassured me in those times when I actually panicked there was something wrong my pregnancy.

    I would go on to say that I was quite well informed of what was happening inside me during my pregnancy and there was hardly times when I got freaked out because of this. It helped me to what exactly I had to look for and told me when is it that I should take a doctor’s help.

    My mom is not around to tell me how things would be and I was quite panicky in the beginning because this was my first pregnancy but this book is no less than a mother’s guidance.

    I would definitely recommend it to all women who are pregnant or are planning to have a family soon. It is a must have in my opinion.
  2. DEWEY
    A heart-warming book
    4.5/5, 4.5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 27, 2018
    I felt some kind of warmth around me whenever I read or went back to this book to refer something I was worried about. It not only gave me pieces of information but it also acted like a true companion to me.

    But I did sense that this book may not be everyone’s cup of tea. I have seen a few cases where this book made a person feel insecure and anxious about their pregnancy all the time.

    So, if you think that you are not an anxious person who could get easily carried away, then this book can definitely help you.
  3. CARROLL
    Found a true friend
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Sep 23, 2018
    I felt wonderful when I got to know things that I did not know before. I consider pregnancy to be a beautiful broadening of our family life and I don’t think it is necessary to reorganize and drastically change the life I already have just because I am gonna give birth to this new life.

    This book was a true friend who I could fall back on any hour of the day. All I had to do was open it and read.
  4. IRVING
    Freaks you out
    1/5, 1 out of 5, reviewed Sep 19, 2018
    I have no clue as to how I can give zero or negative stars; I know that may not even be an option but frankly speaking the book is titled so damn wrong. It should have been “When and what to freak out about when you are pregnant”.

    This book is totally covered with those things that could be a concern or that could go wrong while you are pregnant.

    I feel that they have had a positive take on pregnancy and written their book in an assuring manner than freaking them out by telling them what could go wrong. According to the book, each and every single thing is a cause of concern which is not so in reality.

    So, if you want to read something that alarms you in every single page, I must say this book could be your best pick.
  5. Angelo
    A must read for all expecting mothers
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 18, 2018
    I would say without any second thoughts that this book is a great read and I would recommend it to all expecting mothers I know. If not for this book, I do not know how I would have got through the first 2 months of my pregnancy without even having my mom around.

    I used this book every day for the first 2 months and it answered every single question I had in my mind.

    But I have seen this book getting mixed reactions but that totally depends in what you take from the book. I enjoyed reading the book and I saw the information written down as merely tips and not something that that ought to be done no matter what. So, what had to be done and what not was totally in my hands.

    The book was encouraging and it made me feel so happy and confident at all times because I felt I always had something to turn to. It does tell you what to watch out for, tips for buying toys and other things for the new born and it even tells you ways in which you and your husband can bond with the baby.

    I felt like I always had my mom, my doctor and also my pastor around me to tell me things whenever I referred this book. It is a complete package and if you have this one, you need not go in for any other book.
  6. Blake
    Stay away!!!
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Sep 15, 2018
    In my opinion a pregnant woman would be doing herself and her baby a big favour by staying away from this book. There are better books that do not get you scared and give you wonderful pregnancy tips than this one.

    This book can freak you out completely and tell you that you are doing it all wrong whereas in reality that might not be the case. I did not get a good feeling at all reading this book but I read it because I had a lot of free time and this book was the only one I had. But later in when I read other books, that’s when I could see the difference and realize that there are much better books on pregnancy out there.

    But I give it 2 stars only and only because I found the section “When to call a doctor” to be pretty useful and it will get you through perfectly when you have a situation while you are pregnant.
  7. Dana
    There are better books than this one
    1/5, 1 out of 5, reviewed Sep 12, 2018
    This book is okay but I think I have seen better ones because when I was pregnant, I literally read all the books I could find on pregnancy and I found this particular one to be really substandard and a few women even told me that the book got their blood pressure high.

    It helps someone who hates clearing their doubts from their doctor. But again, I think there are books that have done better in this area, in preparing and educating women to understand the change their bodies are going through and how t manage and stay healthy while they are pregnant.

    This book is literally nothing when compared to the actual good ones out there.
  8. Cameron
    Frustrating at times
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Sep 10, 2018
    I bought this book and many other pregnancy related books when I got pregnant with my first child. I was definitely looking for a friend and an assurer during my pregnancy and I picked up this one thinking that it could be one but to my dismay, all it did was frustrate me and overload me with so much information which I couldn’t even retain and there was a point when something little happened and my brain convinced me that my whole pregnancy had turned topsy-turvy.

    All thanks to this book!!! Every single thing I read, I felt convinced that I or my baby are definitely gonna have that. It was such a sad state of paranoia for me.

    But now after 3 healthy pregnancies, I have come to terms with it and my body knows when or not to freak out.

    So, I definitely don’t think it is a book for the first time mothers as it could terrorize you completely and make you think that everything is wrong.

    I would suggest going in for other pregnancy books and keep this one as a back up if you need more info in any area because this book contains a looooooooooooooottttttttt of information!
  9. Terrance
    A perfect pregnancy handbook
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Sep 7, 2018
    I don’t understand why people keep complaining about too much information given in a book. I consider that to be a good thing. If one doesn’t want to read them all, they can simply skip it but in times of need, you have something to refer to as well.

    What to expect when you are expecting was the only true friend I had when I was pregnant. It was not just my 3am but my round the clock companion to whom I could turn to at any point. And no matter what I had in my mind, the book is so well equipped that it had practical and reassuring answers to all my questions.

    There are very good guidelines in the book but I followed only those that I could and those that I needed. So, it is completely up to us what we need to take and what we need not.
  10. Tracy
    Impractical
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Aug 31, 2018
    I have seen many people gifting this book to expectant mothers on their baby showers and that is exactly how this book made its way into my life too. I would say that it is useless because it definitely does contain some very useful information.

    But when I read it, I found the approach of the author totally impractical. I definitely do not understand how to rear a child following the ways and methods written in the book.

    I think there are other books that are practical and sensitive to mothers and one should go in for those than buying this book.
  11. Perry
    Totally worth it
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Aug 29, 2018
    My husband got this book home when we were pregnant with our first born and I read it with all excitement and then it had become the pregnancy bible for us.

    The book is extensive and it covers every single thing related to pregnancy. The stages of pre-conception, pregnancy, childbirth and even the post-partum issues. Being from a medical background, we even found the book to have covered all the medical aspects accurately and it was well stated too apart from being tastefully presented.

    I wouldn’t call it a textbook because it offers things more than what you get by merely reading a textbook. There is a lot of care, concern and compassion for an expecting mother in those pages.

    I would definitely recommend it to any would be mother I know of.
  12. Julian
    Amazing book
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Aug 21, 2018
    I bought this book for my sister in law when she got pregnant and I have been following the whole book and helping her out with it because I live with her.

    If you ask me did I happen to read the entire book word to word; my answer would be a big NO. I had time only to read the month by month section, the ones on delivery and the post-partum ones too.

    But my sister in law seemed to have read each and every word and she kept on thanking me because I bought this for her. So, I guess it had really been very useful if you ask me from her perspective.

    The book is packed with good information that can not only be helpful to you as an expecting mother but also to others around you who might be going through the pregnancy as much as you are.
  13. Sidney
    Good piece
    3.5/5, 3.5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 16, 2018
    I am personally of the opinion that this book is a great place to start with when you know you are pregnant or even if you are planning to get pregnant.

    I do like the whole process of reading new information and because of that this book proved to be a gold mine for me. It is all that a pregnancy guide book needs to be, easy to read, user friendly, clearly written and to the point, accurate information and the most amazing tips.

    If you ask me if this was my favorite hand book to pregnancy, no it was not! But it definitely reassured me at all times with the amount of information it had.
  14. Casey
    You might find better ones than this book now
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Aug 11, 2018
    I read this book more than 10 years back when I was pregnant with my first one and in those times, this was the best book with good information that was available. I have read the other ones too from that time, so I do know what the other books were like when compared to this particular one.

    It had some very good solid advice but what I resented and did not follow at all were the strict diet tips; I felt they were not at all worth following.

    But these days, I feel there is a hell lot of good information available online and maybe there are better books too.
  15. Julio
    My friend philosopher and guide
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 6, 2018
    This book was my virtual mom when I was pregnant for the first time and now when we are planning for the second one, I am going back to reading this book again. I think I did not bother my mom with phone calls all the time, unlike my sister who did, because I had this book handy with me at all times.

    This book is the perfect manifesto for handling pregnancy as it covers all issues a woman might face while she is pregnant. Every single think I had questions about, the book was more than happy to answer me.

    That’s what I completely love about this book.
  16. Jessie
    Got me terrified
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Jul 28, 2018
    I am pregnant now and I bought this book thinking it would help me and encourage me during my entire pregnancy but I feel completely terrified after reading this book. And I asked a few of my friends who had read this book and they said it did the same to them as well.

    So, I think all mommies, especially the first timers must totally stay away from this book. I think the only ones you should trust are your doctor and your dear ones who already have some experience being a mother.

    A book is not something you rely on!
  17. Leslie
    The pregnancy bible indeed
    4.5/5, 4.5 out of 5, reviewed Jul 22, 2018
    I have seen mothers referring it to as the classic pregnancy bible and now I know why. It is aptly called so and I do not see any reason why it should not be the pregnancy bible.

    I am pregnant now and this book was gifted to me by one of relatives during my first month of pregnancy, very soon after I broke the news to everyone.

    I had mixed feeling of excitement and anxiety at that point in time because this being my first pregnancy, I did not want anything to go wrong.

    I read it every week about what it had to say, I followed the dos and don’ts like a good to be mother and the book was such an enjoyable read that I used to look forward to every week so that I could read about it.

    There is a lot of information that has been covered and one may not require all that but the index serves a very good purpose of what you will find in which page of the book.

    I did not find it to be completely perfect because there were times when some info scared me and made me anxious and I thought some particular parts were judgemental, but overall, the book is the perfect guide you can have while you are pregnant.

Book Summary

  1. Incorporating everything that's new in pregnancy, childbirth, and the lifestyles of parents-to-be, complete with a preconception plan, information on choosing a practitioner, birthing alternatives, second pregnancies, twins, making love while pregnant, and coping with common and not so common pregnancy symptoms.

    Share Book

Loading...