Buk
wheat-belly-diet-book.jpg

Wheat Belly Diet Book by William Davis

3.2/5, 3.2 from 11 reviews
Author:
William Davis, MD
ISBN:
1609611543 (ISBN13: 9781609611545)
ASIN:
Buy this Book
wheat-belly-diet-book.jpg

Recent Reviews

  1. Jeff
    Read the book to know how wheat has changed over the years
    2.5/5, 2.5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 26, 2018
    The premise is good. Gluten is responsible for many of the diseases. To a certain extent, it is true. The book also talks about how the wheat has undergone changes and how Monsanto is controlling what we eat. I would have preferred a book that was serious in the way it talks about this thing. This book tries the humor route, but I believe it completely takes away the seriousness of the subject. The book is riddled with repetitive facts, and there is an overarching tone of saying that removing gluten, you will be trimmer, happier and healthier.
  2. Francis
    An average book
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Sep 18, 2018
    This is an average book. It talks about gluten and how it impacts our health and how much wheat has changed over the past several years. The author also advocates eliminating wheat from our diet. Good thing, but what do we take in its place. There is no clue. The author draws from his cardiology practice, but I do not think that one can say that gluten is the cause of all ailments of human health. At best, a one-time read.
  3. Tony
    Good Book
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 15, 2018
    This book completely changed my outlook towards weight loss efforts. Wheat Belly might look like another fad diet, but a closer look would reveal that this diet is essentially a high-protein diet, similar to Atkins but without the add-ons. I have got a new understanding of how food has changed over the last century and how it has impacted our health. I recommend this book to all those who want a fresh perspective on the way their diet works.
  4. Danny
    Interesting points in an otherwise dull book
    2.5/5, 2.5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 8, 2018
    Though I do not wholeheartedly support the premise of Dr. William Davis’ book that blames gluten for all the ills that are plaguing modern man, there can be some grain of truth in it. The author is so confident about this that he even tags along with his cardiology practice into it. Yes, there can be a correlation between eating more gluten and diseases, but that does not mean that we cut gluten out completely. The author does not even suggest any other substitute. This book would be useful for those who are worried about the increased presence of gluten in their diet and those suffering from diabetics and other dietary challenges.
  5. Edwin
    Another Diet Book
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Sep 1, 2018
    Bill Davis’s Wheat Belly book is another addition to the long list of diet books which promises many things but does very little. This is another in a long list of books which says weight loss would be super simple if they follow this particular diet. Well, hello boss, losing weight is not simple. That said, the premise of Bill’s book is exciting and something that can be looked in further detail by the scientific community. This book is good for those who are ready to gloss over numerous repetitive facts that say modern wheat is not good for human health.
  6. Don
    Excellent Book
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 26, 2018
    This book acts as a complement to The Omnivore’s Dilemma, Fast Food Nation and The South Beach Diet. If you are among those people who are convinced about a low-carb diet but want some sort of assurance, then this book is for you. This book does an excellent job of convincing people to leave all those products that contain wheat (including "whole grain" and "whole wheat") from the list of carbs one might take after completing the phase I of South Beach diet.

    I think it is a common knowledge that wheat which we know today is entirely different from what our parents and grandparents ate, forget about Paleolithic ancestors. Our body is not suited to handle it effectively. Besides celiac disease and diabetes, a host of other conditions can be alleviated by eliminating wheat (I would take this with a pinch of salt), and this book gives the scientific angle to it in case you are still wondering about it. More than a diet book, it should be considered as a scientific book replete with anecdotal evidence from Bill’s cardiology practice. Yes, there are still some doubts about a few things, but go for this book for the amount of advice given on how to lead a healthier life.
  7. Leroy
    Interesting Book
    3.5/5, 3.5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 19, 2018
    Wheat Belly is an interesting book. It talks about wheat, its history, the genetically modified version, impact of genetically modified wheat and its association with major health problems. I learned a lot from this book. I now know how DNA changed over the course of history and why it changed, the structure of gluten as well as how it affects the brain.

    The only problem with this book, is that it attains a tone of preachiness. The editing could have been taut. I have read many other books on these types of topics, and they were gripping in a sense. The book came across trying vainly to add a humor aspect which takes away the seriousness of the issue. This book would be useful to scores of people, but I am sure like me there would be thousands who might put down without completing it.
  8. Dale
    A good book for diabetic people, nothing for others
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Aug 12, 2018
    This book is good for those who have diabetics as well as other dietary challenges. I felt the correlation between wheat and diabetics was something that has never been discussed or thought about. But for other people, there is nothing much in it. For them, it is just a bunch of paper. If you have diabetes, definitely go for it, otherwise, avoid this.
  9. Joel
    Nothing new, avoid it
    1/5, 1 out of 5, reviewed Aug 6, 2018
    This book is a total waste. How do I know it----I read it. I went for this book through interlibrary loan, and I am happy that I did not spend my hard-money on this dud.

    What first attracted me to this book was the fact that it was written by a medical professional. While I started reading the book, I was happy with some new facts, but when the claims started feeling to be exaggerated, I started checking for scientific evidence but was not able to find much.

    The whole premise of this book is that wheat is bad for you. I agree to a certain extent. It is true that the whole wheat gene has undergone massive transformation and the focus now is on increasing the yield and less on nutrition. According to me, it is not a bad thing since it would help in reducing starvation across the globe while our farmers would get better prices.

    What I do not like about this book is the fact that while the author preaches to eliminate wheat from the diet, he forgot to tell what we should take instead. Everybody knows that carbs are needed for a healthier and balanced diet. A low-carb diet is good and would help in reducing weight, but what should we eat instead of wheat?

    According to me, one can read this book if they are getting bored and do not know how to pass the time. If you go for this book looking for scientific stuff, then you would be disappointed as hell. I cannot understand how a well learned medical professional can write these type of books, which spreads useless fiction. Maybe it is their profession which gives them the credibility which in turn gives credibility of these books. As they say, it is all about money, honey.
  10. Bradley
    a good book
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Aug 3, 2018
    My first reaction after reading this book -- Mind blowing. I was born and raised in Kansas. My dad was a farmer who grew wheat. So when I first saw this book, I was outraged, and I felt this idiot did not know anything. I was prodded to read this book by my wife, and once I started reading this book, I changed my mind. This book has opened up a whole new world. I do not blame the farmers who are toiling very hard for providing food on our table. I blame the corporates who have genetically mutated the genes so that they get more yield. No wonder that the country is facing higher incidences of obesity, diabetes, and autoimmune diseases to name a few. I appreciate the efforts put in by Dr. William Davis to make us understand the negative impacts of gorging on wheat.
  11. Allen
    Worth buying
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jul 28, 2018
    I have a beer belly even when I am not drinking (hard to believe right, I am a teetotaler). I visited many doctors, and all of them told me it was because of alcoholic drinks. One of my friends then asked me to read “Wheat Belly” by Dr. William Davis and see if it can be of any help. I went to the library, got this book and started reading it. After reading this book, I realized that whatever was mentioned in it made sense (at least to me). My diet was loaded with wheat and other sugary stuff. Once I started concentrating on reducing this, I have noticed a definite change in my waistline.

    Another point that I wanted to make is that this is not a fad diet book. This book talks about how much impact wheat has on our health. For instance, I did not know that compared to common table sugar, the blood sugar can rise dramatically if one has a whole wheat bread. Also that the wheat which our forefathers ate has been sacrificed at the altar of corporate greed where yield is more important than nutrition. This is just the tip of the iceberg. Wheat Belly also talks about how wheat affects a person’s pH, bones, intestines, skin, heart, and even the brain.

    I have already got the book on my reader. Thank you, Sheila, for referring this book to me.

Book Details

  1. Renowned cardiologist, William Davis, MD explains how eliminating wheat from our diets can prevent fat storage, shrink unsightly bulges, and reverse myriad health problems.

    Every day, over 200 million Americans consume food products made of wheat. As a result, over 100 million of them experience some form of adverse health effect, ranging from minor rashes and high blood sugar to the unattractive stomach bulges that preventive cardiologist William Davis calls "wheat bellies." According to Davis, that excess fat has nothing to do with gluttony, sloth, or too much butter: It's due to the whole grain wraps we eat for lunch.

    After witnessing over 2,000 patients regain their health after giving up wheat, Davis reached the disturbing conclusion that wheat is the single largest contributor to the nationwide obesity epidemic—and its elimination is key to dramatic weight loss and optimal health. In Wheat Belly, Davis exposes the harmful effects of what is actually a product of genetic tinkering and agribusiness being sold to the American public as "wheat"—and provides readers with a user-friendly, step-by-step plan to navigate a new, wheat-free lifestyle.

    Informed by cutting-edge science and nutrition, along with case studies from men and women who have experienced life-changing transformations in their health after waving goodbye to wheat, WheatBelly is an illuminating look at what is truly making Americans sick and an action plan to clear our plates of this seemingly benign ingredient.
    Buk · Jul 19, 2018 · Updated Sep 26, 2018

    Share Book

Loading...