Staff
Whole-Rethinking-Nutrition-Colin-Campbell-book.jpg

Whole: Rethinking the Science of Nutrition

3.3/5, 3.3 from 12 reviews
Author:
T. Colin Campbell, Howard Jacobson
ISBN:
9781939529848
ASIN:
Buy from Amazon
Whole-Rethinking-Nutrition-Colin-Campbell-book.jpg

Recent Reviews

  1. Queen Honey Blossom
    Simply awesome
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jul 24, 2019
    This book is simply awesome. Colin Campbell has done a wonderful job of exposing reductionist approach by monetary motivated scientific community which ultimately is used by other giants in dairy, meat and pharma industries. The footnotes presented to support the arguments also does a good convincing job. If you love your health, have questions regarding your diet and nutrition, or want to know how the scientific community is working to further its interests, then read this book.
  2. Chillipepper salt
    An average book
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Jun 13, 2019
    Dr. Colin Campbell through this book “Whole: Rethinking the Science of Nutrition” does provide some valuable insights. But these are few and far between. What disappointed me the most was Dr. Campbell did not give any actual nutritional information. I would agree that dairy is not good for health and eating animal protein is like kissing Satan. But did that stop you from writing a book that focuses on layman and instead of criticizing other scientists? If Dr. Campbell wanted to criticize, he could have used other platforms.
  3. Last Smile Lost
    Book provides a compelling argument against the current healthcare system
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jun 1, 2019
    Colin Campbell through his book “Whole: Rethinking the Science of Nutrition” has presented compelling arguments against the current healthcare system. The author also tells us as to why we need to adopt the whole foods plant-based diet. I fully agree with the critique of the reductionist technique that our current researchers follow. As with his other books, Colin Campbell inspires people to relook the way we see our food and why it is important to move away from protein acquired from animals. Grab your copy now.
  4. NotMeThenWho
    I love Whole-Foods Plant-Based diet, but this book is not my cup of tea
    1/5, 1 out of 5, reviewed May 9, 2019
    I am a supporter of a whole-foods plant-based diet and appreciate the research that Colin Campbell has done in this regard. However, this book does not add any value to what I already know. He was elaborating points mentioned at the starting of the book. The information which he provided also did not address the problems that he had flagged in his book. What a pity… He had a golden chance to tell the readers his solutions, but after reading this book, I am not sure if anybody would even read his book.
  5. Richness Ride
    A very good book
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Apr 3, 2019
    T. Colin Campbell’s “Whole: Rethinking the Science of Nutrition” should be read by everybody. I would say this book is just like his magnum opus 'The China Study.' The author puts out a persuasive argument for adopting the whole foods plant-based diet. If there are those who want to know what the book is all about, but lack time, I will give a sneak peek. Campbell’s Forks over Knives focuses on a whole food diet, what this book adds is a scathing critique of how the big pharma industry is running after profits only and not taking a holistic view when it comes to plants. According to Campbell, the profits coming from the products are pumped into funding scientific research that caters to their nefarious designs. I will not give out any more spoilers. Go ahead and grab your copy.
  6. Hay day pay day
    Repetitive stuff being paraded around
    1/5, 1 out of 5, reviewed Feb 24, 2019
    Colin Campbell has done some good work, and I loved his book “The China Study.” But if you read all his books and “Whole: Rethinking the Science of Nutrition,” you can easily discern that the author is repeating the stuff which is being mentioned elsewhere. Reading this book did not increase my knowledge either regarding industry giants or whole foods plant-based diets. I felt the author was ranting against everybody ranging from government, academia, food industry, and pharma. In this, his focus deviated from the main purpose why the book was written, and that was talking about whole foods plant-based diet.
  7. Youme Beer
    the author is misrepresenting nutritional research
    1/5, 1 out of 5, reviewed Feb 19, 2019
    I do not know what beef does Colin Campbell has against the pharma industry, as well as the current crop of researchers. His critique was not only way off the mark, but it was also in bad taste. The author ended up misrepresenting nutritional research just to sell his worthless piece of garbage. Reading this book was a waste of time! Avoid the books by this author if you want to retain your sanity.
  8. lolly
    A good start, but then the book loses track
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Feb 1, 2019
    Colin Campbell’s book starts off well. It talked about the chemistry of food, and how it is different from popping in a vitamin pill. The author then meanders into the absorption of minerals and vitamins, and the difference between taking a multivitamin and eating plant-based food. It then takes a turn, not sure which side, right or left. By the time I got to know which side the book had turned, it had gotten pretty boring. Even though the book did have some wonderful insights, the way the author tried to portray his message, it seemed crazy.
  9. Demon Dreams
    A book that contains impressive research studies
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jan 26, 2019
    At the outset, one must be warned that this is not your regular book on nutrition and why one should follow a particular diet. One has to read this book with an open mind. The scientific research that has been presented in this book is pretty impressive. One has to be ready for a roller-coaster ride of emotions if you read this book. I would call “Whole: Rethinking the Science of Nutrition” a courageous and inspiring read if one has the desire to reflect on the things we eat. I am sure that it would change your outlook and opinion regarding what you take. It has changed mine, and I am hopeful that it does to you also.
  10. Eversincenever
    A misleading title does not hide the trash masquerading as a book
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Jan 11, 2019
    The title of the book is so misleading. The book only contains the rants of an old man against nutrition science, and the grumpiness might be because his stocks are down. Campbell may have a point when he talks about how reductionist science is proving to be a big hindrance in research for finding the benefits of following a whole foods plant-based diet. I also agree that we tend to get brainwashed by the various researches going around and feel that popping a pill will get us rid of all the ailments. Most of these ailments can, however, be cured by following a whole food diet.

    However, Campbell in his eagerness to show that he knows everything forgot one simple thing – evidence to back up his claims.
  11. I World
    A well-planned book
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Dec 30, 2018
    The message being imparted though Dr. Colin Campbell’s book is important. What I liked in the book was that the arguments were based on meticulous details of various scientific experimentation as well as other authoritative evidence. Now if that is not called persuasive, I do not know what it is.

    My only issue with the book is the writing style. I feel the author was trying to give too much importance to himself. If he changes his autobiographic style of writing, then the length of the book can be reduced considerably and would make it easier to read.

    Despite the flaws, I would say this book should be read by all those who want to know what is happening the American health industry. It will open your eyes.
  12. Princess_land
    An exceptional book
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Dec 19, 2018
    The book by Colin Campbell challenges the reductionist science practiced by the scientific community for manufacturing medicines which can either heal or improve a person's ailment. The book explains how whole foods plant-based diet helps in improving a person’s health. He also highlights the perils of nutrition research being conducted with funds from either drug companies or giants in the food and meat industry. Thanks to this book, I am inspired to read The China Study.

Book Summary

  1. Every apple contains thousands of antioxidants whose names, beyond a few like vitamin C, are unfamiliar to us, and each of these powerful chemicals has the potential to play an important role in supporting our health. They impact thousands upon thousands of metabolic reactions inside the human body. But calculating the specific influence of each of these chemicals isn’t nearly sufficient to explain the effect of the apple as a whole. Because almost every chemical can affect every other chemical, there is an almost infinite number of possible biological consequences.

    And that’s just from an apple.

    Nutritional science, long stuck in a reductionist mindset, is at the cusp of a revolution. The traditional “gold standard” of nutrition research has been to study one chemical at a time in an attempt to determine its particular impact on the human body. These sorts of studies are helpful to food companies trying to prove there is a chemical in milk or pre-packaged dinners that is “good” for us, but they provide little insight into the complexity of what actually happens in our bodies or how those chemicals contribute to our health.

    In The China Study, T. Colin Campbell (alongside his son, Thomas M. Campbell) revolutionized the way we think about our food with the evidence that a whole food, plant-based diet is the healthiest way to eat. Now, in Whole, he explains the science behind that evidence, the ways our current scientific paradigm ignores the fascinating complexity of the human body, and why, if we have such overwhelming evidence that everything we think we know about nutrition is wrong, our eating habits haven’t changed.

    Whole is an eye-opening, paradigm-changing journey through cutting-edge thinking on nutrition, a scientific tour de force with powerful implications for our health and for our world.

    Share Book

Loading...