Buk
Why-We-Get-Fat-Gary-Taubes-Book.jpg

Why We Get Fat And What to Do About It by Gary Taubes

3.2/5, 3.2 from 16 reviews
Author:
Gary Taubes
ISBN:
0307474259 (ISBN13: 978-0307474254)
ASIN:
Buy this Book
Why-We-Get-Fat-Gary-Taubes-Book.jpg

Recent Reviews

  1. christa
    A one-time read
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Oct 22, 2018
    Gary Taubes’s Why We Get Fat focuses on insulin. Most of us know that sugar increases the secretion of insulin and insulin holds on to the fat present in the body. The author presents this fact very lucidly.

    So what is the problem with the book? All these things could be written in a few pages, and there was no need for wasting so many pages. Secondly, though he goes about debunking some of the myths, he ends up devoting chapters and chapters on it which was not required.

    Read this book for gaining some insight into the functioning of sugar and carbs. You can also follow the diet if you want. I felt this was a one-time read.
  2. ebony
    A surprise package
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Oct 19, 2018
    Gary Taube’s Why We Get Fat is a surprise package. When I first started reading this book, I had a feeling that this would be like any other book, but have been pleasantly surprised. I enjoyed it more than any diet books by any author. The only problem with this book is the emphasis of carbs being completely bad for your health. Now that is something which I am not ready to accept.
  3. dena
    Only a few portions readable
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Oct 16, 2018
    I am a very kind hearted and a generous person and want to give Taubes’ book three stars.

    I have read the book entirely and felt that only 10-15% of the book was worth reading. Rest of the stuff is some mumbo-jumbo jargons which I am not interested in. What I liked in his book was the advocacy of low-carb lifestyle which I believe is a very healthy option.
  4. DOMINICK
    A good writer who has got his facts rights
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Oct 9, 2018
    I am a big fan of Gary Taubes ever since I read his Good Calories, Bad Calories and the Case against sugar. In my mind, he is an excellent writer who has got a pulse of what the people want to know. That said, I do not agree to everything that has been mentioned in the book, especially his hypothesis that one can use fat, but should completely avoid carbohydrates. I would give him four stars for some interesting tidbits in the book.
  5. Twinkle Twinkle
    Read this at your risk
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Oct 3, 2018
    I have read some of the blogs by Gary Taubes, and he is excellent in those blogs. Sorry to say, he is not able to carry that form into paperbacks. His book is worthless. He does not have any idea about fats and carbs and depends on various studies to prove what he says is right. Now if the same thing had been told by a government agency or even a reputed scientist then I would have readily agreed with it.

    I am kicking myself since the day I got this book. One big lesson learned. Never go by the author’s name and reputation. Even they can mess up things.
  6. mr. mister
    Ignore this book
    1/5, 1 out of 5, reviewed Sep 30, 2018
    Do you want to know how you get fat….you eat more than you burn fat. You overindulge and do not burn off more, so you start getting fat. If you have too much money with you and want to read the same thing in the form of a book, then go for this worthless book.

    My sincere suggestion, this is not even a one-time read also.
  7. Yoyo Guitarist
    felt more like an opinion than a nutrition book
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Sep 24, 2018
    If there were an award for the worst nutrition books on the planet, then this book would win it hands down. The book is a sheer waste of papers. It does not contain any facts, studies or reports that prove anything. It just goes on and on about how to avoid carbs and take leafy vegetables, proteins, etc. I felt as if he was promoting South Beach diet.

    One should follow this book at their own risk.
  8. Awesome Beauty
    Not worth the effort
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Sep 23, 2018
    The author through his book tries to take on diet books and centers. He does well too and cites many studies and examples and focuses mainly on out metabolism being a complex system rather than a simplistic “calories in, calories out" method. The author through his book wanted to show how dietitians take results of one study and extrapolate it on results they wanted to show for supporting their theories.

    So far so good. Now the bad stuff.. to show how different he is from other dietitians, Taubes ends up doing the same thing as they do. One prime example of this is when he says there is no need for exercising and carbohydrates should be avoided entirely. The emphasis was on proteins conveniently forgetting the pressure it would put on the liver and kidneys.

    If the author had not forced any particular food style in this book, then it would have been an excellent book. Sadly, this book is not worth the effort.
  9. Sugary pinaple cake
    Does not match Taubes’ previous book
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Sep 20, 2018
    I have read Gary Taubes’ Good Calories, Bad Calories and must say I enjoyed reading it. So when I heard Taubes had released a new book, I just went ahead and bought the book. A big mistake. The book has not been able to match Good Calories, Bad Calories. It is an honest attempt, but an attempt that falls flat. I feel the author does not have a good grip on fat metabolism and has ended up making a mess of the concept. One can take a pass with this book.
  10. DARRIN
    Good Calories, Bad Calories is a better option…
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Sep 11, 2018
    Taubes’ intention when he released this book was good. He wanted to present a better version of Good Calories, Bad Calories. Alas, though the information provided is useful, I did not feel that there was anything new that would have warranted releasing a new book. He could have just released an updated copy of Good Calories, Bad Calories.
  11. TIMMY
    Highly Recommend
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 9, 2018
    I highly recommend this wonderful book to everyone; not just people who want to lose fat, but to all those who want to know what is carb and how to deal with it. One suggestion to all the readers – Do not have any preconceived notions while reading this book. Read it, and think about it, and the book will make more sense to you.
  12. cara
    a great book
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 6, 2018
    I always wondered why we get fat. Yeah, I know we get fat because we can overeat, etc. but what are the real causes of a person becoming obese. Is it an actual physical process or a metabolic process or something to do with our mind?

    All my questions were answered in this beautiful book. Taubes has done all the research before presenting facts in the book. This helps in removing any confusion in a reader’s mind. This book shows us the correct way to eat our food, and following the diet gave by him, I have not only lost fat but also gained a lot of vigor and vitality. Thanks, Gary for such a great book.
  13. adele
    nothing much in it
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Sep 3, 2018
    I am a sucker for cookbooks and books that talk about food in general. After reading some good reviews about Gary Taubes, went ahead and got Why we get Fat from my local library. As I started reading it, I felt I was looking at a no-carb manifesto. To be frank, I did not have any in-depth knowledge about carbs before reading this book, and I didn't feel the need to know more about it. That is only positive about this book.

    One can get far better knowledge and insight by reading books like In Defense of Food. You can avoid this book unless you want more detailed knowledge about carbs.
  14. rebekah
    A good read
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 29, 2018
    Gary Taubes’ stated intention was to write a book that people across the spectrum can read and follow. Well let’s say, he nailed it. The book is a good follow up on Good Calories and Bad Calories. Taubes’ Why We Get Fat is not only concise but also accessible to every individual. Taubes has been able to explain metabolism information as well as scientific experimentation in simple words. All in all, a good read.
  15. jewel
    A promising start but ends in a whimper
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Aug 25, 2018
    I had got this book after going through Taubes’ Good Calories/Bad Calories. To be frank, “Why we get fat,” made a somewhat promising start. The author states that a person does not become fat due to overeating, but tends to overeat because they are fat. Now that is a good concept and answers many questions.

    Apart from these sort of gems scattered across the book, “Why We Get Fat” does not inspire me. From what I could deduce after reading the book, Taubes wants us to follow a diet that has more meat, more leafy vegetables, and more fat. Any person can lose weight if they follow this diet, but the catch here is that one has to stay on this diet forever. Now that is an overreach. Taubes while proposing this diet tends to forget or does not want the readers to know the tremendous impact it would have on vital internal organs like kidneys and liver.

    I feel this regimen is good for a few days or maybe a few months, but more than that it can be dangerous for the body and that is a risk that I am not willing to take.
  16. SAUL
    changed the way I look at food
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 19, 2018
    Gary Taubes’ Why We Get Fat has been an eye-opener. After I finished reading this book, my outlook towards nutrition and food has changed. I followed the diet prescribed by Taubes to the T and it has worked wonders for me. I was able to drop that sticky fat, and the beer belly has gone down a lot. No, it is not flat, but it is now presentable than before. I also lost nearly four dress sizes and wore my favorite tux to the party and people were amazed to see my transformation.

    The process was not as smooth as it sounds. It was torturous at first since I had to let go of my favorite carbs and it was not until three months after I started following the diet that I began to notice a distinct change in my health and my waist. Throughout the 10 months that I followed the diet, I have lost nearly 20 kgs, and I feel great about it. I am fit as a fiddle, my brain is sharp, and I can easily compete with my children in their races, something which I was not able to do a year ago.

    Reading Taubes’ book helped me realize an important fact. The fat settles in our body over a period and to get it out, one has to have patience and follow the diet regimen strictly. So if you want to lose weight in a jiffy, then this book is not for you.

Book Summary

  1. An eye-opening, myth-shattering examination of what makes us fat, from acclaimed science writer Gary Taubes.

    In his New York Times best seller, Good Calories, Bad Calories, Taubes argued that our diet’s overemphasis on certain kinds of carbohydrates—not fats and not simply excess calories—has led directly to the obesity epidemic we face today. The result of thorough research, keen insight, and unassailable common sense, Good Calories, Bad Calories immediately stirred controversy and acclaim among academics, journalists, and writers alike. Michael Pollan heralded it as “a vitally important book, destined to change the way we think about food.”

    Building upon this critical work in Good Calories, Bad Calories and presenting fresh evidence for his claim, Taubes now revisits the urgent question of what’s making us fat—and how we can change—in this exciting new book. Persuasive, straightforward, and practical, Why We Get Fat makes Taubes’s crucial argument newly accessible to a wider audience.

    Taubes reveals the bad nutritional science of the last century, none more damaging or misguided than the “calories-in, calories-out” model of why we get fat, and the good science that has been ignored, especially regarding insulin’s regulation of our fat tissue. He also answers the most persistent questions: Why are some people thin and others fat? What roles do exercise and genetics play in our weight? What foods should we eat, and what foods should we avoid?

    Packed with essential information and concluding with an easy-to-follow diet, Why We Get Fat is an invaluable key in our understanding of an international epidemic and a guide to what each of us can do about it.

    Share Book

Loading...