Buk
zero-sugar-diet-book.jpg

Zero Sugar Diet Book by David Zinczenko

3.4/5, 3.4 from 14 reviews
Author:
David Zinczenko & Stephen Perrine
ISBN:
978-0345547989
ASIN:
Buy this Book
zero-sugar-diet-book.jpg

Recent Reviews

  1. Troy
    Best Book Ever
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 27, 2018
    If you still do not have a copy of the Zero Sugar Diet, then drop whatever you are doing and get one. This is a book which throws light on something which we all know but never dared to work on – Sugar. If you want to get healthy and stay healthy, make sure your kitchen cabinets are free of unnecessary added sugar. I have tried it and must tell you it has been very effective. It reinforces what I always felt---don’t diet just eat healthy.
  2. Bernard
    Another diet book
    2.5/5, 2.5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 25, 2018
    I heard a lot about this book, and as a person who has tried many different recipes and diets to cut down my weight to a more reasonable level, I was interested. I visited my library and took the book and read it. The book was a big disappointment. It was a perfect example of old wine in a new bottle. Another diet book filled with some average recipes.
  3. Alexander
    Repetitive stuff
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Sep 23, 2018
    The informative matter in this book is about the role of sugar and its impact on the human body. What drags down the book is the repetitive stuff. The author tries to say the same thing in many different ways which were not required. The book also had some contradictions. One example is the author says you can have cheat meals twice a week but in the same breath also says cheat meals are not a good habit. David Zinczenko has written some wonderful books, but this is not quite up there.
  4. Randall
    Good premise, but not convincing
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Sep 20, 2018
    The book is a good book. It tries a lot to convince people about avoiding sugar and eat a lot of healthy food adding a lot of vegetables and fruits to the diet. But what struck me was that these all could be found online. If one has the patience to search, then we can get all the “scientific matter” online. The thing I like about this book is the simple and easily implementable diet plan. Rest of the stuff can be skimmed through.
  5. Eddie
    Excellent stuff
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 14, 2018
    This book is simply great. I read it twice. The reason – it talks sense. It informs you about the need to reduce and slowly eliminate sugar from the diet. It also gives details on the role of sugar in a person’s body, the amount of sugar present in the food that we eat and the exciting science behind it. A must-have book in one’s library. Highly motivating!
  6. Ray
    one time read
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Sep 10, 2018
    I had a sugar addiction and was searching for ways and means of trying to kick this addiction. I was told about this book by a colleague, and he loaned it to me. The book had some informative information with regards to added sugars. But I expected in-depth information on diets and an easier format to present the information. The basic concept in this book is straightforward – eat healthily, eat lots of fruits and most importantly avoiding non-packaged items. The reference to other books was frankly irritating and not required. A footnote would have sufficed. A one-time read.
  7. Jesus
    Average Book
    2.5/5, 2.5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 5, 2018
    Zero Sugar Diet gets 2.5 stars from me. The diet makes sense, and I am sure it will work. If a person does not take added sugar and eats a balanced diet that includes plenty of fiber, they will have a healthy life. However, the book’s style felt like it is all a gimmick and to a large extent repetitive. There was also conflicting advice. I would not spend my money on buying this book. Go to a library and read it for free.
  8. Chad
    Zero Sugar Diet is a success story
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 1, 2018
    This book works!! I was told that I had to cut back on sugars but did not know how to do. This book showed the way. I would urge all the readers to read the complete book if you want to see the desired results. Once you take care of the monster called sugar, you can win the war against the bulge. I am in love with this book and the recipes mentioned in the book are awesome. A must-read for all those who want to fight the sugar addiction.
  9. Chad
    valuable information for diabetic and obese people
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Aug 28, 2018
    Zero Sugar Diet offers valuable information which is useful for those who are struggling with diabetes and obesity. However, I felt that the book should not have so long. The actual plan is of around two pages, the rest is all science, which I feel is not required.
  10. Leonard
    This book talks about sugar, nothing else
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Aug 17, 2018
    Zero Sugar Diet book has nothing new to offer. It talks about the same old stuff --- do not eat processed sugar, can take fruits because of fiber content, etc. The only interesting fact is the mention of sugar’s body function aspects like how sugar affects the body to process hormones and how it behaves in the body. This interesting aspect gave me the spark to start a diet and stick with it. A good book, but most of the content could be found on the internet also.
  11. Vincent
    simple premise
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Aug 10, 2018
    The book has a simple premise – for fourteen days eat food that has zero added sugar, drink lots of water and take a lot of protein. Once the diet period is over, add food with fiber. Now, this could have been condensed into a small booklet with few interesting facts thrown here and there. Beats me as to why would the author take an entire book to say this simple thing. The things that I liked about this book is the fact about fibroblast growth factor 21, as well as an approved grocery list, selection of recipes, as well as how to eat in a restaurant.

    I think a good attempt that has been messed up.
  12. Jeffery
    Nutrition book that looks like a novel
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Aug 5, 2018
    David Zinczenko’s style of writing resembles that of a fiction writer. The books resemble more of a novel than a diet book. Zinczenko makes a case of counting sugar in grams rather than the calories that it would add to the food. However, there are some interesting nuggets which talk about the importance of sugar in reducing weight.
  13. Norman
    New Ingredient, rest all the same
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Aug 2, 2018
    I took this book falling for the title. I had heard a lot about this book from my friends, and they were going gaga over how he wrote the book, the beautiful recipes blah blah blah. Hearing all these things, I got a book from my friend, and the only thing that was different from this book and other diet books was that the author was talking about sugar. Nothing else.
  14. Alfred
    this book works
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jul 27, 2018
    Last week, as part of my annual health checkup, I underwent a blood test, and thanks to it I heard the best news for quite a while. My results were normal, my cholesterol was under good control, and I had no diabetes. Might be wondering what this has got to do with a book review forum. Well, my results were all due to the weight loss program which I followed after following the menu and recommendations given in the book – Zero Sugar Diet by David Zinczenko.

    I will tell you what this book is about at a glance. This book follows a very simple diet plan:

    · Eat zero sugar carbs like vegetables, beans, whole grains, nuts, etc.
    · Limit the intake of fresh fruits to two or a maximum of three servings a day
    · Take power proteins such as fish, eggs, lean meat like chicken, turkey, roast pork, etc.
    · Drink healthy drinks like milk, water, wine, and tea in moderation. Do not take juices and NO BEER
    · Exercise

    Even after taking this diet for nearly four months, my wife and I still cannot stop gushing about this diet. The only thing that I would like to change is to replace the word “diet” with “lifestyle change.” Guys, this book works. I could have gone on about how sugar plays a role in increasing obesity and diabetes, but you can easily get that from the internet. This is my experience and has to admit the best one that I have ever had when it came to diets.

Book Summary

  1. With Zero Sugar Diet, #1 New York Times bestselling author David Zinczenko continues his twenty-year mission to help Americans live their happiest and healthiest lives, uncovering revolutionary new research that explains why you can’t lose weight—and shows that it’s not your fault! The true culprit is sugar—specifically added sugars—which food manufacturers sneak into almost everything we eat, from bread to cold cuts to yogurt, peanut butter, pizza, and even “health” foods.

    Until now, there’s been no way to tell how much added sugar you’re eating—or how to avoid it without sacrifice. But with the simple steps in Zero Sugar Diet, you’ll be able to eat all your favorite foods and strip away unnecessary sugars—losing weight at a rate of up to one pound per day, while still enjoying the sweeter things in life.

    By replacing empty calories with essential ones—swapping in whole foods and fiber and swapping out added sugars—you’ll conquer your cravings and prevent the blood sugar surge that leads to some of the worst health scourges in America today, including abdominal fat, diabetes, heart disease, cancer, liver disease, fatigue, and tooth decay.

    And all it takes is 14 days. You’ll be stunned by the reported results:

    Lisa Gardner, 49, lost 10 pounds
    Tara Anderson, 42, lost 10 pounds
    David Menkhaus, 62, lost 15 pounds
    Ricky Casados, 56, lost 12 pounds

    You, too, can melt away belly fat, boost your energy levels and metabolism, and take control of your health and your life, armed with a comprehensive grocery list of fresh produce, proteins, whole grains, and even prepared meals, accompanied by two weeks’ worth of fiber-rich breakfast, lunch, dinner, and snack recipes and real-life results from successful Zero Sugar dieters. The fat-burning formula for long-term weight loss and optimal health is at your fingertips. Join in the crusade and say goodbye to added sugars—and goodbye to your belly—with Zero Sugar Diet!

    Praise for Zero Sugar Diet

    “This plan is informative and entertaining (e.g., a chart converts common meals to their equivalent in donuts; ‘an open letter from your pancreas’) and will help readers rein in cravings and become savvy monitors of added sugar consumption.”Publishers Weekly


    “A user-friendly guide [that provides] a wealth of helpful information and tools for those wishing to limit added sugars in their diet.”Library Journal


    Zero Sugar Diet targets an easily identifiable enemy, comparing excess sugar in our diet to a deadly virus. . . . Well, that got my attention.” —The New York Times Book Review
    Buk · Jul 21, 2018 · Updated Jul 27, 2018

    Share Book

Loading...